Blade steak from the green egg....Hitting that rare grill sweet spot!

in #life6 years ago

Sometimes blogging is hard and sometimes it's easy.

Today should be easy with mother's day and all...

....except...

When your mom is a blogger on Steemit as well..

"Mark! no way you are going to blog about my mothers day, that is my post".

And so it transpired..read all about her mother's day here :)

Recking my brain what I could possible write about I decided to comfort myself with a Steak.

I remembered I had a blade steak in the fridge.

And what happened today was pretty cool!

I hit the grill sweet spot.

Now, most pro's are good at something because they done it a million times.

They can be very consistent but sometimes it's even better than that.

Now, I'm far from being a pro.

But once in a while you hit perfection.

That spot were you cooked the steak at the right temperature for just long enough.

And the moment you cut into it you know it straight away.

If you ever hit a nail right on the head you know the feeling.

It's just different and you know it's going to be good.

O yes!


IMG_5195.jpg


This is a blade steak. There is membrane between the steak that your butcher can cut away. And you are left with two beautiful pieces of meat. I prepared one today. The marbling on this steak was fantastic.


IMG_5189.jpg


Waiting for the grill to warm up. Usually takes about 20 minutes. I put rock salt on the steak.


IMG_5196.jpg


There we go. I added some peppers on either side. It's probably my favourite vegetable to grill.


IMG_5198.jpg


I took the steak off the grill once the internal temp was 45-48C. I . know from experience it will continue to cook and raise in temp 9-10 degrees while resting.


IMG_5200.jpg


I took the vegetables of not much later and brought them to the table. This is the hardest part. You have to wait. Let the meat rest at least 5-10 minutes!


IMG_5201.jpg


The peppers:


IMG_5202.jpg


And the Steak:


IMG_5203.jpg


The moment of truth is always when you cut into it. Like butter. O yes!!


IMG_5205.jpg


End result! Super soft and tender steak. Served with some rice, beans, tomato salad and the grilled peppers.


IMG_5206.jpg



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Greetings, exyle

Excellent manly recipe. For me, any recipe that involves meat is very good hehehe. In addition, you put chili, which is a delight in any dish. I always recommend it. Using foil is good as it does not burn, and cooks faster, in addition to cooking the food equally. I do it here with meat, when I put it in the oven, I wrap it in the paper to cook faster.

Thanks for the tip of the BBQ man.
Good afternoon!

but aluminum leaches into your food when it is heated that is really bad for your health, you shouldn't do that, there are studies that show increase levels of aluminum can be link to dementia.

Wow, you cooked the steak to perfection. What thermometer do you have and how do you use it on the steak? I have to learn this myself. It is so hard to get it right without a thermometer, some times too little some times too long, few times perfect.

I have a digital one I stick in the the steak and it reads the temp within 2 seconds. Sort of looks like this

"Mark! no way you are going to blog about my mothers day, that is my post".
🤣
I subscribed to her account within 2 seconds!

Cool! lol. Say hi :)

It looks delicious. I can clearly see the juice of that steak. If blogging can be hard, then maybe cooking can be easy :)

Fish for lunch and steak for dinner; seems like a perfect day!

Could be worse :)

I think those who just cook meat, they are now more like to eat grilled meat like yours.I'm impressed with the style of your work, cooking. Grilled stake are looking so yammi and alluring.

Happy mother's day. Specially for attaching your mom's post. After reading your mother's post, I remembered my mother. Thanks to your mom (@cilo).

Thank You for Sharing with us Mark @exyle every time you do the Green Egg Thing it comes out a Mouth Watering Masterpiece. I also was able to see your Mom @clio and Sister Eva at lunch for Mothers Day and a very nice Fish Plate for you at Lunch........... This is a Great Way to Start off a New Week and I hope it is a good week for all............

hahaha your mother is a modern mother.... Worthy of the 21st century, it seems hahaha.

And the meat has fit you perfectly. O. I can imagine your feeling of glory when I cut it off and see it at its ideal point 😍.

I'll make some Shawarmas with my mother today.... They were perfect! I forgot to take a picture of them, otherwise I'd show you. It'll be next time, buddy.

Greetings @exyle

A fine steak, my friend and a great treat for the holiday! Your green egg is back in business and this marbled meat is simply grand, because its color is aspirational and the steak that you have turned out looks very juicy and appetizing, an excellent dish! Thank you Mark for a great recipe!

Nicely served.
You made it look so simple.
Indeed I am impressed.
The delivery is extravagant.
Keep on steemin'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10