I have been eating Sushi like a barbarian...

in #life6 years ago (edited)

f653a259-1b05-46a6-a883-58fa980c0d8f.jpeg


Only recently I learned I have been eating sushi like a barbarian.

As you might know sushi is served with a small plate of ginger and a plate of wasabi. (I'm not sure if this is the authentic way of doing this but this is how it's done in Holland).

I always thought that the point of the ginger was to put it on top of the sushi (with the wasabi) before eating it and I have been doing that for a long time.

O big no no...as it appears...

I don't remember who pointed it out to me but the point of the ginger is to cleanse your pallet between different sushis.

And worse....pilling it on top of the sushi is actually an insult to the chef...you are basically saying..."yeah...this sushi needs some flavouring m8".

I'm glad I was taught this because I don't like to be insulting (even unknowingly).

And in some way I can relate.

It's like someone putting pepper and salt on a steak I just served before tasting it....

It's not horrible thing to do but you always feel that slight hurt feeling...like your seasoning is not good enough :)

The sushi I had with Bianca tonight was nice.

But it's one of my dreams to one day eat 'real' sushi.

Preferably in Japan itself.

Just to try it once.

But I better learn all the rules first.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Hmmm...I also wonder who pointed that out to you...somewhere in January...🤔

O, OF COURSE! WHO ELSE! sorry m8!

🙋🏻‍♂️🤣

First time I encounter wasabi I went to aall you can eat buffet.
I did not know it was wasabi.
It looks like guacamole from a distance.
I mean the color can fool you.
Thanks for the heads up
about the rules with sushi.
Keep on steemin'

If you took a big bite you must have gotten a nice kick from it!

I have never been successful at making sushi at home but I love to enjoy it outside with my friends and family.

Dammit! I do the same. I thought it made it really tasty piling the ginger on with a splob of Wasabi! oops!

Seems like some certain person could teach the bith if you some foreign table manners concerning food eating

I thought I knew!!! I thought I was being all sophisticated!!!

it only applies to food from a real sushi chef and not at an all you can eat sushi restaurant. That would be the same, as eating with table manners at mc donalds. Like eat a hamburger with knife and fork....I guess you are sophisticated enough😉

Phew, exonerated. kind of :OD

True, eating sushi is fun, particularly if you go out for sushi rather than make it at home.

trust me the sushi you eat with western taste is far better from REAL SUSHI!
I mean the california roll, the shrimp tempura etc...

ofcourse you may have a strong acquiring taste, which is a completely different issue then. let us know if you tried some traditional sushi :D

Mark @exyle I don't know any of the Rules at All for eating Sushi. I have maybe had Sushi 5 or 6 times in my Life so I guess once you eat it more Often then of Course you get to know the ropes............... Bianca @bkdbkd looks Very Happy and I am willing to bet she knows about the Rules of Properly Eating Sushi..............

I not had no idea as I follow no rules lol

You are also not supposed to let the rice in the sushi touch the soy sauce :-P, again its another insult to the chef, you are basically telling him that the flavors are not balanced and you need to drip it in soy sauce. The proper way to use the soy sauce is on the outer area and not in the center where the rice is.

Noted! Do you know the rules when it comes to rolls?

Most of the rules for sushi apply to rolls too... but you are not supposed to cut the rolls, you have to eat them whole, and if they don't fit into your mouth you have to ask the chef to cut it for you, don't use the chopsticks to cut them! then there's also the soy sauce thing, don't drench your roll's rice on soy sauce and never mix soy sauce and wasabi!

I think you have most of it covered in the post :-P

Write a post about sushi
That would be great.

Wait... Never mix the soy sauce and wasabi??? I love doing that. So what are you supposed to do with the wasabi?

It appears you are a sushi barbarian too, lol.

I'm cool with that label...

671579.jpg

I also become a Viking when I eat sushi. And shout loudly like a barbarian. Because I like to pile ginger on top of it! It just tastes better... I can't help it... :(

We love sushi! It's just a shame there's so many establishments serving low quality ones out there. You have to pay a reasonable amount to get the quality. Which, we're now willing to do after experiencing poor quality sushi.

Don't worry, you're not the only one that did that mistake. Just loved the pickled ginger on the sushi, but now we can only do that at home, so no judging eyes can see 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00