Leftover cooking - Making a healthy meal before traveling to London! Rice with lemon-garlic chicken with peppers and spinach.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

It's the day before Bianca and I travel to London to visit our friends @ezzy and @rea.

Normally I'm pretty anxious about traveling.

(I wrote about this before....I'm not the greatest at leaving)

But this time is different.

This time I don't have to go to the airport and struggle to get there on time.

I'm going by train!

All I have to do is get to Central Station Rotterdam 30 minutes before the train leaves and that's easy!

You can also bring all the food and drinks that you want on board.

Fantastic!

Tonight we decided to eat all the leftovers in the fridge.

I hate to waste food in general.

I managed to make a pretty decent meal with what I found.

Rice with lemon garlic chicken with peppers and spinach.


Snapseed 21.jpg


Ingredients: Red peppers, bell peppers, bacon, spring onions, 1 lime, rice, 2 chicken breasts, wok paste and a half a bag of Spinach. Not a bad leftover yield!


Snapseed.jpg


As usual prep all your stuff before you start cooking. Cut all the vegetables and the chicken.


Snapseed 2.jpg

Snapseed 3.jpg


Since Bianca ( @bkdbkd) thought me how to make rice the Brasilian way I don't make it any other way anymore. Put oil in a pan and fry some garlic then add the rice and fry for 2 minutes. Also, add salt.


Snapseed 6.jpg

Snapseed 7.jpg


Now add the water to just under and let it simmer. The rice will slowly absorb all the water add more if you need to.


Snapseed 8.jpg


Get a wok and heat it up then add oil.


Snapseed 4.jpg

Snapseed 5.jpg


Add the bacon and fry. When it's a bit crispy add the chicken. Fry until it has a nice color.


Snapseed 9.jpg

Snapseed 10.jpg

Snapseed 11.jpg


Time to add the vegetables. First all the peppers.


Snapseed 12.jpg


Then add the spinach. It will shrink in seconds.


Snapseed 14.jpg

Snapseed 15.jpg


Add the lime (just squeeze it by hand) and the wok paste.


Snapseed 16.jpg

Snapseed 17.jpg


Yes! It's starting look like something I would like to eat! I added the spring onions and stirred all for 2 minutes.


Snapseed 18.jpg


End Result! Great taste. Not bad at all for leftovers! I did also find some salad. Decided to eat that too. If last time London is anything to go on it won't be the most healthy experience :)


Snapseed 19.jpg



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

Everything is getting clearer.
Good trip and stay warm.
Stay safe as well and share with us a lot of pictures and cool souvenirs.
Keep on steemit.

Really it s a healthy food, it looks delicious..I am a lover of rice..Good appetite and nice trip.

Thank you. It's good to start the trip on a healthy note :)

Yes really a healthy and protein food
.

wish you a very safe journey, my favouright witness

Thank so much man!

you are welcome

Amazing!!! The food looks colorful and delicious, thanks @exyle for sharing the recipe with top quality pictures and have safe journey to London.

Thank you!

Have Safe Journey
and
use Youtube For Self Work Like Cooking Etc..

This seems delicous. Always wanted to make cooking videos, and i think i'll start doing it on DTube. I had no idea you were from The netherlands? Anyway, greetings from Denmark, hope you guys will have a nice trip :)

Thank you! You should. D.tube is a great place!

I just love traveling. I liked London a lot. I watched football game between my country Slovenia and England at Wembley. Going by train is best way to go. Enjoy.

I wonder what it will be like! Thank you.

wonderfull idea your journey on train it is a good and feel free journy on train and the best experience of life when we have some long travel on traine always best wishes for you and speciall in you journy

Mark, Nice that you find an alternative way to travel. And it is much more convenient for you, so a very good choice.
Mhhh I wish to have those ingredients in my fridge as well, doesn’t look as left overs at all.
Dish looks delicious and I trust you had a good dinner with Bianca.
Have a good trip, enjoy and take care!

I hope working out is going as well as your meals, that looks pretty healthy.
I'm curious what restaurants you will visit in London. Safe travels !

Not that great with the workouts atm. After London is my queue to start again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76