The dreaded 3 peeps and a humming sound coming from the kitchen...

in #life6 years ago

I heard it the moment I got downstairs.

The dreaded 3 peeps and a humming sound coming from the kitchen.....

I went to the kitchen to confirm.

Yes, the dishwasher wasn't happy.

It was pumping non stop even when I turned it off.


IMG_8504.jpg


When I was a kid I onces stood on the door of the dishwasher while emptying it to put some cups away on the high shelves.

Of course the door broke off...sending my dad in a tirade.

I spend the rest of the week washing the dishes by hand which as a kid is awful because it took away valuable Nintendo 8 bit time.

Anyway, since then I have mad respect for dishwashers and I know I shouldn't mess with them.

I did turn of the water to the dishwasher and unplugged it to prevent it from humming.

I went to google and found a local guy.

I give him a call and not much later he arrived.

He located the problem pretty fast.

He unscrewed the door and some other panels and found water under the dishwasher. (in the leakage tray?)

He said the safety mechanism had kicked in and that's why it kept pumping.

After checking all the parts and finding no sign of leakage he turned to my washing powder.

Bianca and I recently changed to Liquid taps (amazing premium brand).

He said that's your problem.

On your type of dishwasher those things create to much soap and that makes the machine add more water.

To much water and it overflows....

He drained the water from the leakage tray and turned on the machine.

It worked straight away.

He told me to use powder soap (the blocks) from now on and I should be fine.

What a pro!



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

I'm glad that everything is in order now, my friend and I also did not think what kind of detergent to use in the dishwasher and as you can see there is a difference and your message made me think about this, too. Now we will use everything according to the instructions! Thanks Mark

Hello dear friend, it is good that this problem does not happen to a greater one, and that you already have your dishwasher ready, because cleaning the dishes by hand is not pleasant, greetings, dear friend.

"I spend the rest of the week washing the dishes by hand which as a kid is awful because it took away valuable Nintendo 8 bit time."

Lol!
If your dad ever reads this comment: this is slavery!

Glad you got it taken care of. It is always nice to find a honest knowledgeable expert to help out with that kind of stuff. I have had our dish washer flood the kitchen in the past myself and it is no fun. I wouldn't trade it for anything though because in our last house we didn't have one, so I had to wash dishes by hand for 7 years!

That's awesome, thanks goodness a pro came to rescue you on time, I'm sure you know the issue now and would try to avoid something like that happening anytime soon.

Blimey! That's a bit surprising @exyle. That your dishwasher soap can make so much difference to it's operation. Glad you got it sorted. You're very efficient in such matters. 😂

At least it hopefully took your mind off the price of Steem for a few moments.

Have a fun day! 😊

Hahaha 'At least it hopefully took your mind off the price of Steem for a few moments.' ---- that i bet it did!! 😂

He told me to use powder soap (the blocks) from now on and I should be fine.

Great info!
About the beeping. My washing dryer beeps, and basically every machine. I wish that I could lower the volume. I am way to sensitive. :)

I came to call such actions as breaking the dishwasher door ... ‘kid rot’. Children frequently do damage in unexpected ways. You may think about this in your coming trip to Brazil. The long flight and wedding will allow reflections on your life plans.

Kid rot! lol, sounds appropriate.

Glad it was a simple fix and not you need to replace the machine!

I spend the rest of the week washing the dishes by hand which as a kid is awful because it took away valuable Nintendo 8 bit time.
Hahaha we have no dishwashers in my country, at least I think there wasn't a massive adoption, maybe some richs people have them. I remember when I was a kid, my mother offered to pay me for washing the dishes for one week. I bought a donatello action figure to complete the four turtles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87