Vlog #108: Steemit earning 2016-2017 calculated by a witness + Account security.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My sister sent me a bunch of texts yesterday! Listen to the Radio...listen tot the radio! They are talking about Steemit!!

(Even though she does not use the platform yet, she reads my stories sometimes, She knows how much I care for it, I loved her enthusiasm.)

It was true. Roeland was invited to a Dutch Radio Station called BNR to talk about Steemit and Steemfest. Pretty cool right!

Slowly going mainstream :)



Steemit earnings


Trying to figure out what you earned on Steemit with blogging and commenting can be challenging. After a tip from user @englishtchrivy I asked a witness to run a query to find out.

I joined in July 2016, that year I earned $679 with blogging and commenting.

It's really handy to be able to get these overviews for taxes and other purposes in this way because it would have taken me a lot of time to calculate everything myself.


2131321312.png


Account security


I see more and more phishing attempts on Steemit. Just remember that you should never log in or give your master password or owner key to anyone.

It's possible to login to Steemit with passwords that give your account 'lower' permissions.

If these get hacked it's no problem because you can always change these 'lower permission passwords' with your 'highest permission password'.

On Steemit the password that gives you the lowest permission is called the 'posting' password. Also, know as the 'Private posting key'. With this password, you can only post, comment and upvote. Nothing else.

This is the password I recommend you log in with on a daily basis.

You can find it here:



Exyle logo final _ RGB-04.png


Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888

Sort:  

Really great information on the tax front. Having a witness run an inquiry report would save a ton of time. I presently keep a spreadsheet of daily earnings for Steem and my other income producing investments and it can become quite tedious at time. Much appreciated.

Also, really good information in regards to your keys and the importance of being smart with them and keeping them safe. This is very good information as Steem is the introduction for many into the crypto space and they're not familiar with the protocol regarding passwords. With all the funny business going on regarding phishing attempts, this is extremely important. Resteemed.

Great vlog brother and have a great Sunday!

Thanks for the information, i never know about this posting password.

the more i think about it the more i agree the postingkey should be much safer to use when no need to make transactions.

It will really get exciting again if STEEM passes $2.50 USD because that will mean we are growing at a clip where the main stream will want to join STEEMIT.... @exyle nice tip on the earnings calculation for tax purposes.....

#Hope-never-dies :D LEts hope for steem to reach 2.5 and above :D

@hassanabid I am right with you on that $2.50 or even much more for the price of STEEM..............

Steemit being featured on the radio is a great step in the right direction. Hopefully more small steps will follow in the future.
600+ in your first year is quite a good achievement. Sometimes all it takes is one (or multiple) trending post(s).

ah it's good, really steemit deserves to be broadcast on radio because its success is progressing over time

Tnx for sharing. Did not know, that I can find out how much I earned on Steemit. If I do my own research it will take forever. Your earnings in 2016 was probably a joke comparing to 2017 :). Congrats on huge progress.

It's strange that you pay taxes on steem without converting it to fiat. I mean is it technically income or an asset ?

My accountants or still busy with it. I consider it more an asset than an income.

But that asset can have massive value fluctuation. At what point do you evaluate it? I think your accountants don't like you a whole lot :))

It depends on where you live. It would be foolish to just assume "they tax can't me because I don't want them to."

In America for example, the IRS has already laid out basic regulation on how to handle cryptocurrency income - and you do need to pay taxes, or you are committing tax fraud... Not saying I agree with the system, but that is how it stands today.

I meant it is difficult to tax something that can be worth 100.000 today and maybe 50.000 tomorrow. Also what's the point of privacy then, if you have to declare that you have x amount of a certain coin. I just question the practicality of it

fantastic post @exyle, it's nice to hear that you get your steem earning spread sheet from one of the witness to calculate your taxes that's great it's rather easy to pay yearly tax then pay for 5 years collectively, you also talk about phishing attempts on steemit i think all steemians are standing strongly together and they know that this is just an attempt to try and develop a negative image of steemit, i am sure the hackers are failed to do so and steemit is growing thick and fast, you tell us another great tip to try and use steemit with posting key in this way we are much more safe from being hacked or trapped, thanks you very much my friend for sharing your knowledge with us, stay happy and awesome and enjoy your weekend ahead.

Excellent tips i login in with my master password good that i saw your post.... Many thanks buddy and God bless :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73