Life in the Gender Neutral Zone - affirming nights, cool people, and potential dates

in #life6 years ago

Happy Tuesday, Steemers!

IMG_20180708_032334_017.jpg

You will have to forgive me for sitting on this post for so long. I started writing it over the weekend. That is worth mentioning, as I did something rather out of character : I went out clubbing.

Winnipeg is, by no means, a super huge city, but it's sufficiently progressive to have 2 dedicated gay bars.

One of them, Club 200, seems to be more trans friendly, but I know some of the staff have been less than friendly towards yours truly. And since voting with your dollar seems to be the only way to go, they get none of mine.

The place in question I decided to actually try to act like a normal person at was Fame; classy, underground, playing a range going from Abba to. ... who even knows? But, its high-profile and classy enough to have a dedicated gender neutral bathroom attendant, and they stock Bombay Sapphire gin. Who am I to complain?

Now, personal history time: I'm not much of a night out to paint the town red kinda girl. My history has been that of staying in and working. When I was a week younger, I maintained "When I was old enough for that shit, I was already too old for it."

But maybe I felt the need for human interaction, maybe I had hoped to bring someone prettier than me home. Maybe I merely needed a drink.

So, I got out and get a cute new top and proceed. But not before replacing 3 of my cigarettes with joints, because I'm Lawful Evil like that.

So, I get there shortly after midnight, so it's technically Sunday. Its kind of dead, so I decide to go smoke a joint and smile. And while I'm doing so, this beautiful lesbian comes up and asks for a light. I do so, in the classic movie style of flicking my lighter and holding it out.

She tells me later "Everything about that was pure class."

The rest of the night is blurry as hell. Tequila, gin, all manner of good and bad music, but we all still kept dancing. My newfound friends, the gorgeous Filipino trans girl and all her friends - all of whom could get SUPER LOW - and the other two j's. All conjoined together in a blurry, rapturous whole.

And then, I wind up back home like this hours later

IMG_20180708_032334_020.jpg

Maybe it's the near decade of working and sufferring. Maybe it was the validation of being treated like a real girl. Maybe its all the super cool women I danced and laughed and drank with. But maybe there really IS something to the whole outside world.

Also, no hangover next day! So that's a plus.

But, that's my story so far.

<3 - Roxy

IMG_20180708_114615_566.jpg

Sort:  



This post has been voted by the lgbt-party group and curation trail. The point of this group is to bring real community to steem, and to fight for our rights and recognition. This includes rewarding the typical blog-style posts, questions, and helpful comments.

Come join us on discord! : https://discord.gg/RWemhCv

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89