Arcade Centres Still Exist... If You Search in the Right Places

in #life6 years ago

Arcades... What an integral and sorely missed part of my childhood. Throwing bucketfuls of quarters into the machine, stacking up on game credits, getting your peers (and other rival gaming kids) to gather around and see how "badass" your skills really were. Sadly, those times are now nothing but fond memories as days of the arcade machine are a shadow of what they used to be. Sure, you have a few centres that cater for this most entertaining form of retro pastimes however the advent of hyper-powered consoles and online gaming killed off the scene for the most part.

One of the old centres that somehow still managed to stay around near me is in an area called Park Royal. Otherwise, they are all but non-existent. I happened to be near that very same vicinity earlier this morning so decided to pay a visit and take a few snaps of what was essentially a huge portion of my "yesteryear". Although, with me being an adult now, taking seemingly random photographs around kids don't look too good, lol. Anyways, I got what I got, so check it out.

A little look into how I spent thousands of hours during my teenage years:


20180810_113313.jpg

20180810_113339.jpg

20180810_113352.jpg

20180810_113406.jpg

20180810_113424.jpg

As you're probably aware, @exyle came over to visit me last week so I thought, given our passion for everything "game", why not show him this cool place. I did just that and was glad to see him relate to exactly how I felt about these centres back in the day. Sorry, but we couldn't help having a few cheeky games too. GRID was a pretty decent driving game (featured in the second image down from the top), which we raced each other at. After that, some air hockey and then a short battle of a hammer-based "test your strength" machine.

Lots of fun and nice to recapture some of that same enjoyment and enthusiam from the good old days...

Sort:  

This article really evoked fond memories and a vivid sense of nostalgia for my school days.

Back in 1992, when I was a 16 year old student in secondary school, I used to hang out at the nearby arcade with my group of friends after school.

In order to buy more tokens for our favourite games, we will skip lunch and spend the entire afternoon playing our favourite games.


PHOTO SOURCE: STREETFIGHTER.WIKIA.COM

'Street Fighter' was my favourite, and I simply loved Ryu!

Thank you for stirring my memories of a carefree life as a teenager! Back then, the arcade was the surrogate for today's iphone, ipad and gaming rig.

Nothing beats "Street Fighter". The matches and fun I had with that title are out of this world, buddy. You couldn't have chosen a better game to mention. :)

Yes bro. I vividly recall the "ar you gen!!!"

Wow you're so lucky! All the arcade centers in my city are closed. And I miss them! The driving games were my favorite and also the "Dance Revolution", even if I was bad, it was very fun!

I'm count myself lucky, no doubt. :)

I spent hours and hours and quarters and quarters at the arcade near my highschool with a buddy (I was {cough, cough} sick) playing double dragon.

By the end, we could finish it for one quarter each, start to finish. I believe that was in 1990 or 1991.


Source

Man, that's one classic and incredible game! I love the whole "Double Dragon" series. :)

@ezzy Here in Corrientes-Argentina there are many places with these games, there is much concurrence despite all the games in lines.
Good thing they have had a lot of fun with our friend @exyle
These images brought me many memories, thank you very much for publishing them
I wish you a wonderful weekend

Looks like I need to go Argentina then, lol. Have a great one too, bud. :)

I still remember playing those games that had guns and you had to shot people with the gun... TIME CRISIS! yeah, that was the name of the game! Damn, those games were awesome!! Where did the magic of those games go! I spent a small fortune playing time crisis on arcades! Me and my family had teams of 2, the team that was able to go longer on Time Crisis had to pay for dinner hehehe... Good old days :(

I had Time Crisis on the PS1 but sadly never played it in the arcades. Missed out. :(

I also had time crisis for ps1! And for PS2! After remembering the name i actually went around to see if someone was selling them for a cheap price... it's in my "to buy list" sooner or later i need to get time crisis again and play!

And now i just remember... i think we can't play it anymore on the new flat screen tvs... need to research this topic, i so want to play it now!

I really like your post @ezzy. thank you for sharing the story in this post

Posted using Partiko Android

what a beautiful place! Friend I feel envious but of good! hahahaha

I really like your post @ezzy. thank you for sharing the story in this post

Posted using Partiko Android

I really like your post @ezzy. thank you for sharing the story in this post

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful post i appreciate your beautiful creativity and I really like this post
Thanks for sharing your beautiful blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75