Is Mind Over Matter Easier Said Than Done?

in #life6 years ago

main-qimg-7232fb91d9d7a69dd73cd72075043d63-c.jpg

During the last month or so, I've been contemplating the very real struggle of sticking to a regimental diet and exercise plan. I live in a city of many culinary temptations. So much awesome food placed conveniently a few minutes drive away. Man, that makes things so tough. But then again, it's easy to blame variables in your life that contribute to your own shortcomings. It's not the damn restaurants fault for choosing to open up shop near me. In fact, it's quite a successful strategy on their part, given that I'm talking about it right now. So, what is the best technique I should employ to battles those inner demons whose hunger pangs know no boundaries?

Well, the way I see it, the answer lies in depression. A feeling of manifesting temporary low self worth or actualisation. If you're a free spirit, happy in tone and mind, I find these feeling to be easy extensions into other areas of implied joyful creation. In other words, tasty food. Running in stark contrast to when I'm down or forlorn and in consequence, have almost no appetite whatsoever. Now, of course starvation is not the right way either, but I'm fully aware of the "quantity" I eat being the main culprit to the underlying problem. So, the way I see it is it's basically all about mindset. Easier said than done, however.

But the mind is a complex tool, at the end of the day. Something that "can" be manipulated by oneself to view things from a different perspective. Definitive command over this tool in an environment such as a weight loss program or exercise routine, is the perfect match. So I've decided to give that a try. Not only as a way to achieve the desired outcome, but also as a personal challenge to myself. I ain't been pushed in a while now so it's time to step up to the mark again. It's so scary just how easy is it to slot yourself into a "comfort cycle" and remain there, blissfully ignorant of your surroundings. I do think it best to stay sharp and do all you can to prevent yourself from succumbing from that.

Yeah, been having a lot of reflections in my life, as you can see. And inspirations too. Carrying them out is the obligatory next step.

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

I do believe that our greatest enemy is ourselves. Lately, I've begin to wonder if I'm getting weaker or older. My mind is beginning to define things in new perspective that gives me instant impulse to do things I'm against. Like you said, I think I have to employ more techniques to battles those demons.

It all begins within ourselves, buddy. That's my feeling too. :)

Two years ago, I lost 10 KG in 8 months, going down from 80 KG to 70 KG. Being a foodie, that was no mean feat. Let me share the secret of how I did it.

Well, my mother and two elder sisters decided to motivate me by making a bet with me.

They offered me a reward of 1500 Singapore dollars and an air ticket to Bangkok if I achieve the target of losing 10 KG in 8 months.

However, if I fail to do so, I will need to treat them to a dinner worth 500 Singapore dollars.

I jumped on the bet as the odds favoured me, and I WON!

Morale of the story?

Maybe making a bet with your family members or friends is a good idea. The potential reward is enough to motivate you!

Exactly!! We need either a gratifying reward or a substantial penalty, in return for our success or not. Nice job with the weight loss, bro. :)

The body is weak and the mind is strong friend @ ezzy, I understand you I have days like this I feel exhausted, weak but I tell myself that we have to keep clear that I can not take over the devil, so there is to get up and follow my best wishes for you and if you can my great friend successes and blessings

Wise words indeed! I'm hoping my own personal devil doesn't have as much power as I first thought. :)

I like @investprosper 's idea.

Specifically, I recommend you challenge @exyle to a true steemfat battle royale!!! The winner gets the losers favourite gaming system for 3 months. (Body weight % lost over a given period of time)

Make the reward worth the effort.

Steemfat_Battle_Royale.png

I'm liking that idea. Let's see what the stakes (not steaks) should be. :)

Let's see what the stakes (not steaks) should be

Au contraire mon ami,

I'm sure that the stakes could be steaks ... at the end of the challenge.

How hard would you try for a perfectly cooked rib steak with all the fixings and a nice glass of wine ... while the loser of the challenge had to sit across from you eating a plain salad with a glass of water. Waiting until you were finished to pay for your meal.

Especially if the loser of the challenge was the one who cooked your steak on his BGE?

Hypothetically speaking ... of course.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Very good posts, hopefully a successful brother is always in the esteem business

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Sometimes depression makes people eat too. I think that we just have to fight the impulses as hard as we can

No, it's easier if you don't mind because if you don't mind, it doesn't matter. :-)

The way i motivate myself, keeping my mind focused is just one, think about a girl I like... I look at the cake and think "Can't eat this, it's not part of the meal plan, i'll get fat if i do... and if i get fat i won't like myself, how can i hope for someone to like me if not even i like myself!

Oh, and if I need a pick me up to go to the gym i just get some pre workout, it's full of caffeine and makes me full of jitters, i get full on focus with a pre workout!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70