"It's Coming Home"... Well, The Team Are, Yeah!

in #life6 years ago

180707204231-gareth-southgate-super-tease.jpg

Euphoria turns to harsh reality as England are dramatically knocked out of the World Cup. I urge to you to refer to the final few lines of this post a little while back. How's that for a prediction, eh?

It wasn't a difficult one to call. Quite simple actually. England had a very easy draw and the wins started getting to their heads. I mean, UK television was still imagining they had won the World Cup just several short hours ago! What in the hell were they thinking? Even the commentators were already planning for their France match-up instead of concentrating on a huge obstacle in their way, in the form of Croatia. I know I live here and all, but I have no choice but to apologise on our behalf for the absolute arrogance that can come from this nation. It's almost embarrassing to watch.

But, in all fairness, the game itself was closer than I initially expected. Croatia played a very poor game in the first half and were literally giving the game away. And "that" was the only way England stood a chance of winning. If the opposing team were to hand them the win. I just couldn't understand it. The same team which such drive and spirit against Russia, had seemed to have lost almost everything and pretty much given up. Up until the 70th minute, that is. A small change in tactical formation opened up glaring holes in England's defence, which they capitalized on beautifully. Believe me, very few people I spoke to agreed with me that England would lose against Croatia. But as I've been banging on about since the start, they're lucky draw in this World Cup is the reason they did so well thus far and, in effect, their "real" campaign began today. And, well, the end result tell the rest of the story now, doesn't it?

So, yeah. On to the final. France vs. Croatia. This has the makings of being an epic match. Even though I'd give the edge to France for the win, I wouldn't be sorry if Croatia won. I love their heart and passion when they play. What a class team they've proved themselves to be. Their nation's people should be deservedly proud of their extraordinary efforts on the pitch. Well done on getting to the final, lads!

And yes, I'll be tuning in to watch it as will millions around the world that night. Who do you think will be crowned the 2018 World Cup Champions? :)

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

@ezzy I was thoroughly disappointed in the outcome, but there is no doubt the English got farther than expected. Southgate made some tough decisiona, and for the most part, they worked out well. Sterling got the "yips". That didn't help. I really wanted to see a Belgium vs England finals. But I guess we'll have to settle for seeing the French take it home. There is no way Croatia can pull off another upset after three straight matches that went to extra time. Nice write-up!

England actually played quite well in my opinion but luck was more on the Croatia side. You guys went further then I expected and I thought you could go all the way after beating Sweden.

I knew it was curtains time when we played Croatia. But thanks for giving us your vote of confidence, buddy. :)

Sigh.... $10 + $38 all in

I share your opinion dear friend @ ezzy, England wasted the first few minutes, could have spread the difference while the Croats were asleep, not to leave them out, for me a surprise, I thought England would play the final against France.
Everything indicates that France would be the world champion, he will do so while he plays with respect to the croats, they have a lot of heart and this can help them come out champion
Excellent comments as always dear friend.
From Argentina an affectionate greeting

Thank for stopping by, bro. I wish Argentina got further, love that team! :)

The Argentines had high hopes that this would happen, but you know the national team was not up to the circumstances, individualized as Messi did not appear in the juice, the national team is one of the few teams that has many celebrities and even so they did not make a good presentation
I wish you a great day

Bud, it is always like that people always felt they are making progress drastically just with little success on the way, that is the case with England tonight, without the final whistle in football nothing is decided, home call for England players.

The final, ah, well, I tip France to win initially bit now with tonight results, anything can actually happened. I could say luck is on Croatia side and at the same time, their performance wasn't bad in all the games they have played. It will be epic, battlefield, hell on earth, all sort of names. Hahahahaha.

Defo, bud. The final looks like it could be awesome. But yeah, euphoria sometimes leads to hysteria, which is what we were experiencing in England. Every time with this nation, the same damn thing...

It's a game of two halves @Ezzy - never more perfectly illustrated than tonight!

I'm still plumping for France to win it....with the lightening bolt Mbappe to score...

Mbappe is the star of the tournament. I agree 100% with you. :)

This is a funny title. The English team were just being playful. I think in the 51 minute, a player was trying to waste time, imagine that! Well, Ofcourse France's got this game but I'm beginning to think Croatia is a threat. Lol, they're coming home.

Absolutely, buddy. Though England were simply not on par with Croatia. They are a formidable team, let's make no mistake about it. :)

Croatia played well and they badly wanted to win... I do hope they play the same on Sunday!

Let's hope they do well. I really do like the team.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Today's game was exciting both played to win, won Croatia that did it better and deserved it. now comes the good France and Croatia will be fun but I think France has more to bind than win

Today was a game, both teams gave everything but one had to be victorious
to prepare because he is going to play with France which is a team that is very complete in everything will not make it easy to beat him

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01