Looking Back on Wistful Past Adventures That Never Were

in #life6 years ago (edited)

dd02b0ac-d1f1-41fd-bd36-25545faf4b2f.jpeg

17d86c6a-5552-4e5d-96e1-bd3137512fe6.jpeg

a9681c53-c253-4cac-af9a-979ad63e32ff.jpeg


The missus and I took an evening walk yesterday. And it was needed as I think I may never pray for sunshine in London again. This heatwave is beyond a joke and I don't know how much more I can take.

So, whilst strolling a few streets down, I saw this "blast from the past" and to be honest, it brought a tear to my eye. You see, a good friend of mine had bought an almost identical camper van, back when I was a teenager. Joe was his name and I tell you, the plans we made out on the open road were something all of us friends looked forward to. It was gonna be a true adventure, in every sense of the word.

Alas, shortly after, he was diagnosed with cancer and passed away six months later. That broke me for many years as he was easily one of my best and closest friends. So, seeing this brought those sweet memories flooding back.

So, my bro up in heaven. Myself, as well as the whole crew, will never forgot you. The little reminders will always be there to keep his spirit alive.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I'm sorry about your friend! The older I get the more I cherish these kinds of memories. It's sometimes difficult to comprehend why some people are here for only a short time.

Seeing his rapid deterioration was something I'll never forget. As you say, it puts into perspective the short time we all have in front of us. Make the most of every second...

Amen, my friend.

I guess in a way Joe got his wish. I am sure he is still with you as you journey forth. Nice post for him. 🐓🐓

I truly hope so. Very sweet words and much appreciated.

oh this is such a cool van 😊😊 and yes memories will live forever, really touching text you wrote.. GREETINGS TO YOU!

It's a very old bus
It was a very big affair
But now no one looks at him

I hope you find your next adventure soon. 🌠

Oops so sorry with the lost but his gone now but what you're able to get on his behalf will makes him in a cool mind in heaven, he as fought a good fight, we are left alone to it now.

Those pleasant memories are never forgotten and more than a super special person, I'm sorry about your friend force @ ezzy

Great post

I'm not sure why, but the rear of the car looks way more modern than the front. Maybe I'm just used to seeing that small centrally placed VW badge on newer Volkswagens.

we don't have these type of vehicles in our country..

love them but can't buy 😞

What a gorgoeus piece of automotive history and what a sad story in the end.

That must have been harsh for him, his futile fight with the deadly cancer, being concious that he was dying, seeing that his loved ones suffer along.

I can't decide if the story is purely sad or has hope in it, as he is still remembered...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21