My Take on the "Anthony Joshus vs. Andy Ruis Jr" Fight

in #life5 years ago

I was bleary eyed and felt hung over from sleep deprivation. However, due to my love of watching big-budget heavyweight title fights, I stayed awake last night for the "Anthony Joshua vs. Andy Ruis Jr." square-off. Suffice to say, my internal fears had been answered. Joshua lost is spectacular fashion, leaving the British crowds reeling with confusion. As if that wasn't possible or something. Here's what I mean by that...

1152909499.jpg.0.jpg

You see, since beating the Ukrainian mega-champ that was Wladimir Klitschko back in 2017, Joshua has been revered here in the UK as some sort of boxing deity and idol of worship. Now, that's fine and all, but I refused to get caught up in the public hype. Remember that the big defeat against Klitschko was at the tail end of his career. He simply wasn't the man he was in his heyday and it showed. No, I wanted to see a little more from Joshua before he earned my respect. British fighters have been known for having stamina issues and a "glass jaw", such as Amir Khan, so we needed to see a real test fall his way.

Boxing is such that there are now only a small handful of big heavy hitters at the top. Therefore, I feel Joshua never really got tested properly again after his big career-defining win. The Tyson Fury match-up kept on getting delayed but I feel, was only a matter of time until it came to pass. So last night's brawl was almost a "given" win for Joshua before his next possible big fight with Fury, from what I read in the tabloids here. Perhaps this was due to the Mexican fighter and his slightly off physical attributes, in comparison to Joshua. Well, apparently it didn't matter on the night. Andy Ruiz Jr. absolutely owned and thoroughly deserved the victory. Joshua proved that his stamina and jaw, just can't take the heat when turned up to max settings.

Throughout the duration of the match, Ruiz kept the attack consistent and measured. What was really worrying early on was when Joshua would unloaded with a flurry of punches, that were simply shrugged off, with Ruiz's counters instead doing the serious damage. And this just got more and more pronounced as the match continued. By the fourth round, I was just waiting for the wrap-up. The Mexican fighter dominated all the way and TKO'ed Joshua numerous times until the referee had no choice but to stop it in the seventh.

The problem here is that this blemish will remain with Joshua for the rest of his career in boxing. Sure, he may try to comeback from this, but it will be extremely difficult. Other fighters now know he can, fairly easily it seems, be broken down and has defined chinks in his armour. The real British legends of our time, such as Lennox Lewis or Prince Naseem, are now but a distance memory. If this is the best we have to offer, the words "stock" and "laughing" spring to mind. Where Joshua goes from here, is anyone's guess.

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

Wow!!! Truly disappointing from Joshua. I expected more from him.

This defeat will hunt him for a longtime.

Most definitely! He made a statement afterwards saying this was a "minor setback". I beg to differ...

Yah, I doubt that too. A true champ cannot afford this minor setback.

Yah, I doubt that too.
A true champ cannot afford
This minor setback.

                 - yaanivapeji


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Let’s get one of them sponsored by the Steem Blockchain 🤣 I think Litecoin did this at one point in time!!

Lol... One day, my friend. :)

I'm not a boxing fan; but, I could hear from the other room that things weren't going well for the 'favorite'...Things like "What are you doing man?"...Lol...I said to myself, 'makin' that money'...

Truth is boxing is a money sport, as most professional sports are. I can never trust when a boxer 'fakes' a fall, knowing he's still gonna' make millions.

For most, it's a short-lived career...make the money when and how you can. I think of Connor McGregor and the 40-something Floyd Mayweather who still hops in the ring and has proven his skills, being one of the longest boxers in history.

Anyhoo, I looked at pics of Joshua and Ruiz, and proved what I've always believed....muscles can only take you so far. Having, as you call it 'a glass jaw' has downed many a gym-workout buff.

Great post.

Peace.

muscles can only take you so far. Having, as you call it 'a glass jaw' has downed many a gym-workout buff.

Very well put, buddy. The bigger picture can tell a much different story, as it did yesterday.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 9.15% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi, @ezzy!

You just got a 0.81% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28