Thanos is a BADASS!!! ...And So is This Incredible Store

in #life5 years ago

I've been a huge fan of anything "comic book" related for as long as I can remember. And the huge resurgence we've enjoyed because of the MCU doing their bit in terms of the fantastic movies they produced, really brought out my inner child. So, if more than pleases me to know that I'm also living close to a store that houses almost everything related to this genre of entertainment and bags more on top of it. Big up yourself, "Forbidden Planet"!

1.jpg

(All this cool memorabilia to gawk at. But can you spot "Queen @rea" too?)

The store is located on busy Shaftsbury Avenue, near Covent Garden. Although it has quite a few bracnhes scattered around the UK and even one in New York! It is literally the go-to central hub of anything comic, sci-fi or anime/manga related. I remember way back in the earlier 1990's when I came here to buy Batman - The Killing Joke and Batman - The Dark Knight. Such awesome memories and all accumulated within this place.

It is spread over two floors and includes everything from detailed models of famous characters to hardback novels pertaining to your favourite universe, be it Star Wars, Stark Trek or many more besides. The sheer selection of purchasable content is almost overwhelming and even if they happen to "not" have what you want (which is highly unlikely), you can choose to get in specially ordered in.

2.jpg

(Gotta love these intricate created scaled down Star Wars figurines.)

3.jpg

(I'm also a huge fan of Dragonball Z.)

4.jpg

Yesterday when I was checking out the place, it was chock full of nerdy fans who probably know more about the lore than the creators themselves! In other words, I was in good company. Because I honest don't think I've got more in common with any other store out there than this place. One cool new promotion they were running is for the Batman - Damned series, which I've yet to read. Loving it here.

All in all, "Forbidden Planet" is a cultural marvel is today's world. It's been about for a long time but has never held more relevance than now, what with almost every summer blockbuster being a comic book adaptation. Hopefully it won't be too long until I return once again. We love you, "Forbidden Planet". May you keep on giving to us half-crazed fans forevermore!


5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)

<hr

Sort:  

The memories this brings as I used to colllect comic books in the 90s as well. I am also excited to the Marvel universe as I remember the Infinity Gauntlet being my favorite series (competition with the Death of Superman and the first Batman vs Bane).

Posted using Partiko iOS

Seems like me and you are big fans of this industry. :)

Loving the 1/6 scale Star Wars characters, they are outstanding. Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

So cool, right? I've got to buy one of them at some point. :)

If it was one - and in the absence of Yoda - I would go for Boba Fett. It would make an interesting D-Poll @ezzy?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haven't been to Forbidden Planet in YEARS!
I preferred the old basement shop on New Oxford Street, but the (no longer) new one at least has some elbow room.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 9.15% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10