The Mystery of the Deserted Chinese Pagoda

in #life6 years ago

cb60725f-02d1-4201-867e-b0ffb84194f7.jpeg


Whilst out and about today, I thought I'd snap this rather elegant albeit familiar anomaly. Why anomaly? Well, for the one defining reason outlined below.

Surely, the structure that stands out in the image would be that sizeable replica of a Chinese pagoda taking centre stage. When actually the diminutive building directly to it's left is the main reason why people visit this place. It's called "Wing Yip" and is a popular wholesalers / supermarket catering mostly for many varieties of Chinese food and ingredients, as well as some home ware and crockery. It's always been very busy, with cars literally fighting with one another to get a parking spot. Especially on weekends.

However, the thing that I always found very peculiar was the pagoda. It's been a sort of showpiece attraction for passersby for many years now. Looking as impressive as it does though, it's always remained empty! I've never seen any activity either inside or outside. I imagined it's commanding presence should demand more "people" attention. I'd have thought it would have served a better function focusing on more of a customer based purpose, even based on marvellous aesthetics alone, but no.

As my wife is Chinese by origin, I've frequented this place more times than I care to count. And almost every time I do so, I can't help but give that building a fleeting glance so see if anything had changed. Alas, it never did and probably never will. Long will it remain a primarily abandoned structure, built only for it's oriental allure...


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

It baffles me when I see magnificiant structures like this looking all abandoned with no activity. What could have possibly gone wrong . Could it be government issues?

No idea, mate. It's perplexed me for years! :)

There might be some scary ghostly story behind it. Dare you take a closer look, lol?

We have a building like that in my village, it's only open to certain individuals of the royal family. I never knew why until a few years ago, when a fire nearly took it.

Turns out it contained the pictures and paintings of past kings and other royal paraphernalia and artifacts. And here I was thinking it was a portal to another dimension.
Silly me.

Lol! I'm seeing where this is going! Have a made that bad of an impression of you guys? :)

good, I like your post

wow .. it's incredible comrades, want to feel its visiting. where is it?

Not too far from me, in fact. It's near a place called "Staples Corner".

yes fella, if i holiday to china, surely i look for that place :)

Unique House, i like the chines style! Where is this house standing, i think not in china? ;-)
You have a nice Gallery, my follow you have :-)
Apropos Unique, thats coincidantally my Name, if you have a look in my Gallery it would be very nice...

Great to see this structure and definitely it's throwing the ancient essence and yes, this structure have the welcoming essence and it's really great in appearance, so in my opinion people will definitely like to visit here. Thanks for sharing and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

I agree. The appearance is quite the eye-catcher.

I always assumed the pagoda was a Chinese Restaurant @ezzy. I never noticed it was empty.

It's on the main road I would travel on going from Brighton to Ikea isn't it? Or have I got the wrong Pagoda? 😁

I'm sure you're referring to the right one. And yes, the amount of times I've been there, it's always looked fashionably derelict, lol. :)

Some things is better its own way, you know. These structure has their own tradition and belief.
I liked these types of tructure. This one, is also playing marketing attraction tool.
And, Wow. your wife is chainese origin. Never knew.

Yeah, hence why I'm so familiar with the place itself. :)

Ahhh...I see. Give us your couple pic sometime. Wanna see you guys. Stay Happy.

Now, this is a mistery worth investigating!

... Even though, I am pretty sure I read a horror story that started kinda this way some years ago... Was it "The horror of the cannibal spirit"... or... "The man who knew too much and was sucked into hell"...?

Well, I am sure it was nothing! You go and let me know! ;)

The place and the snap was just awesome Sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05