Welcome to the World of Steem... The Uncensored and "Free" Blockchain?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

You register. You join. You login and start posting, commenting and voting. Simple, right? Well, it just got a little more complicated than that. With the introduction of RC's after HF20, a new dynamic on the steem blockchain was born. And with it, a whole slew of new features and even more damn politics. Nobody ever said this was gonna be an easy ride...

justice-678x381.jpg

So, it came to my attention this morning that there has been a potentially problematic issue raised concerning RC's. Most of us are aware by now that a welcome result of implementing this new feature is the absolute dissipation of spam. A problem that has plagued Steemit for many months now. But on the flip side, because RC's are founded on "bandwidth" usage, newer users to the platform may find themselves limited in terms of their posting and commenting abilities. I heard it to be around 3 comments a day with a brand new account (and without the 15 SP delegation stemming from signing up under Steem Inc. themselves) but please feel free to correct me if this is wrong. Anyways, this gave rise to contention for some. And the main crux of the arguement is this: People should, and deserve to be, treated fairly as a user of the Steem blockchain. But what constitutes as "fair" in this particular context and paradigm?

Well, to answer this, it'd be easier to relay my own personal experiences and understanding whilst here on Steemit. And it goes something like this. From almost the get-go, I learnt to view the Steem blockchain as primarily an "investment" model of growth. In that, I soon realised that to increase my influence and grow my voting power, I'd not only have to write original content that I assumed held some relevance to garner upvotes but also perhaps throw some of my own skin in the game. I quickly ticked off both those boxes. As I've mentioned before, never once have I powered down because I always envisioned Steem as a PoS (proof of stake) based blockchain. Power equals stake. So, I never at any point tried to change the system to fit my own requirements but rather attempted to adapt within the infrastructure at hand. Hence, here I am today.

The message "I" get from all this, and have always seen, is stake matters. Is that a bad thing? No, not really. I simply accepted that this is how the blockchains in general work, bound by their own uniquely programmed digital laws. Which brings us back to RC's and the "fairness" factor. Now, I'm not saying that I think new users should start throwing their life savings in to further there progression here, but if a mild outlay allows them be more freely interact with all the various Dapps on the Steem blockchain, then so be it. Remember, those Steem tokens are not "spent". You will always have the option to cash them out via powerdown if you so feel the need. In those early stages of newcomers using the platform, Steem is something that should be seen as a tool to gain exposure on the blockchain as well as in the community at large. It must be seen as a desirable commodity. It cannot be stressed enough that each user who ever joined the blockchain with nothing, had the onus placed upon themselves to build their brand up and account value. Be it by buying Steem or blogging alone. And in turn, where you stand today is basically a sum of all those parts put together. This train of thought will be compatible with some but maybe not for others. The choice lies with that individual as one forces anybody to remain here.

So, where does this leave people starting out and their constraints due to RC's? Well, I'd say some responsibility must lie with us, the end user. Guided by the knowledge of how the mechanics of the platform work. If it does not suit their requirements, then go elsewhere. The Steem blockchain is simply not for everybody and will happily continue to perpetuate and serve others as long as it stays functional. That's just the blatant truth of the matter. Either we mould ourselves to fit around the Steem model or not. Simple as, I reckon...

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

With a total of 17 SP, I'm now able to create around 20 comments every five days. I think this is sufficient for a new user. I can upvote a lot of posts, write a few comments, do a few transactions, all without worrying about my RC usage. When you only have 3 SP, it becomes a lot harder to interact with the blockchain, but not impossible.

If you write good, original content, you don't need more than a few posts a week to get some upvotes. You can do this with any SP, even if you just joined the platform. Before HF20, I wouldn't ever run out of bandwidth and I could post hundreds of comments per day. That doesn't improve the quality of those posts.

I think that the new RC system will encourage newcomers to write fewer posts of higher quality, which will increase the average quality of the posts on Steem substantially. That will hopefully cause a significant increase in the popularity of the Steem blockchain, which in turn causes that the number of new posts per day remains stable. The only difference will be in the quality of each post.

Thanks for the reply. And yes, limited postings should allow for better and more well thought out content than before. Interesting point of view there. :)

Just because I happened to see this comment and like the attitude. :)

Great post. It helps me as I am really very ignorant of blockchains, and all that goes with it. I enjoy the platform as I have made many contacts, and I find many posts so interesting. Whether it will every be financially rewarding to me, only time will tell, but I am having fun.

Steem should be a fun journey, the operative word being "fun". :)

I think that options will be built for those that do not have the resources to buy portion to increase their RC. I read this morning that RC delegation could be a thing so imagine the opportunities that will bring for users at both ends of the spectrum. I comments and engage quite a lot and have not seen my RC bar below 97% since things have stabilized. I would be happy to delegate some RCs to those that want to be more active in communities I engage with and that could be an option in the future to attend this latest discussion point. The reality is that value is being created here and we cannot believe that it is resource free to get a portion of it...

Yes, buddy. RC delegation will eventually be a real thing so that should take some of the pressure away in the near future. Getting rid of the spam needed to be done and RC helped immensely with that. Therefore certain variables had to be tweaked but overall I believe it will be for the greater good. :)

Steem is still awesome.its real money.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes! It's actually... real!

Absolutely.... I have exchanged Steem for Bitcoin and Litecoin and bought actual real Silver and Gold on SilverGoldBull.com

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey @ezzy Your Post is Amazing .

We Resteem Your Post on @resteem.booster

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

A community having lovely people like ezzy 😍

hi @ezzy

I didn't hear from you in a while so I decided to check your blog to see if you're still active or taking a break.

Im glad to see tht you're still around. Obviously upvoted :)

ps. I wanted to ask you a question. You mind telling me what's your view on latest HF20 introduced on steemit? Did it affect you in any way?

Obviously upvoted.
Yours, Piotr

Lol, thanks for stopping by and glad you found my new post concerning HF20. :)

hi again @ezzy

I just noticed that you've created separated post related to HF20. Going to read it now :)

Cheers,
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71