Gone Camping! Rocky Mountain Style

in #life6 years ago

awesomesunsettrinidadlake.jpg

Time to Rough it


Summer break in Colorado is a wonderful time to get out and enjoy the outdoors. Since my break started, I've gotten two camping trips in already, and am planning more! The first trip was with my Rocky Mountain Steemit peeps, some of which was the first time we met! I would've never met these people if it wasn't for the platform, and it's an awesome thing how it has brought so different (yet similar) people together.


pyramidborderfalse.png
P1030586.JPG
The Rocky Mountain Steemit group rockin out at Green Mountain Reservoir
pyramidborderfalse.png


Not everyone from the group made it, but @intuitivejakob, @sunravelme, @torico, @rebele93, Joel (sun's husband), Karen (rebele's husband) and my daughter were in attendance. Most people camped for three nights, but my daughter and I were only able to come up the last night. I stayed back Friday night so I could host #vfmradio with @lpfaust and I also have a part time gig at a local brewery I had to work the following night after the show.


pyramidborderfalse.png
P1030650.JPG
View of the reservoir from our camp at sunset
pyramidborderfalse.png


P1030665.JPG
View towards the South along the reservoir


pyramidborderfalse.png

P1030655.JPG
Kiddo gazing at the amazing sight
pyramidborderfalse.png

P1030656.JPG


pyramidborderfalse.png

It's interesting how many different ecosystems Colorado has, even within eyesight! From the pictures above you see distant mountains covered in snow, a body of water and what appears to be a cold climate. Then Colorado gets all Colorado on you and does stuff like this in neighboring areas, right where we were actually camping.
pyramidborderfalse.png


P1030654.JPG
It's actually pretty dry right now. I hope we don't get too many fires. Already got one going on


pyramidborderfalse.png

P1030659.JPG
Only you can prevent forest fires


pyramidborderfalse.png


A couple weeks after this camping trip, I went on a second trip with my daughter again. Two for one price here, folks! To give you some reference, I decided to go to Google Maps and show a route from the first location (Green Mountain Reservoir) to the second location (Trinidad Lake State Park). The distance between these locations is 266 miles (428km for the rest of the world), and I live in the city of Colorado Springs, which is roughly halfway between these spots. One spot is near the northern-most region of Colorado, and the other is on the Southern end.


pyramidborderfalse.png
Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 4.53.37 PM.png
Some perspective of the state of Colorado

pyramidborderfalse.png


Panoramic Time!!!


P1030592.JPG


P1030585.JPG


P1030618.JPG


P1030619.JPG


P1030627.JPG


P1030628.JPG
First two pans are from Green Mountain Reservoir, the rest from Trinidad Lake


pyramidborderfalse.png

The Trinidad trip I was invited to by a friend who is a Cub Scout Den Leader. For those that don't know, the Cub Scouts are an outdoor/wilderness/bonding/training/leadership type organization for boys. They have an equivalent for girls called the Girl Scouts. This trip was for the family and friends of the Scouts, and I was excited to take the kid on another camping adventure so soon! She got along pretty well with the boys, and there were a couple other girls there as well. Our star gazing experience was like none we've ever experienced together. On the first trip, @rebele93 brought his telescope and we got to see the moon closer than we've ever, plus we also got to see Jupiter and three of her moons. On the second trip the sky was so clear that we had a wonderful view of the night sky lit up with twinkling far off suns. I don't have awesome enough lenses to capture the sky, but here are some other sweet shots I got.


pyramidborderfalse.png
P1030642.JPG
pyramidborderfalse.png


P1030644.JPG
My trusty tent. Had her for years and we've been through a lot, believe it or not
pyramidborderfalse.png


We got some awesome memories out of these trips, and on the second one I got to fish with my daughter (for an extremely short amount of time) and she got to get on a kayak for the first time as well. She enjoyed it so much she stayed on for an extended period.


pyramidborderfalse.png
P1030641.JPG
pyramidborderfalse.png


P1030637.JPG


pyramidborderfalse.png
P1030639.JPG
pyramidborderfalse.png
They went out there!


We had such a great time going on these trips, and this was actually the second and third time I've ever taken the kiddo camping. She's getting to that age where she is more adventurous and appreciates the epic locations. The next spot I want to camp at has a giant pool where you can cliff dive! I'm sure I'll take plenty of pictures of that excursion, as well as the others I intend to go on.


I hope you have enjoyed this lengthy blog and photos of the beautiful Rocky Mountains! I don't do these often as they are quite spendy on time, and to be completely blunt, not very rewarding for the effort. I appreciate all those that do support my efforts, and will continue to do blogs like this. I'm a man of math, and purely look at the cost to benefit ratio, as I'm sure everyone understands. Honestly I don't think I'm breaking any hearts blogging less and posting music/sounds more, but wanted to express why I have been.


pyramidborderfalse.png

Thanks for stopping by! Don't forget to support quality posts with not only your upvote, but also with thoughtful comments! I don't see those enough. I know I also need to keep up on visiting other blogs too. We can all do more to improve the ecosystem! Peace and love steemfam.
pyramidborderfalse.png


Did you know?!?!?!?!


VFMsingle.png

mspwaves.jpg


I co host a radio show on @msp-waves called Voices from the Mountains #vfmradio. Every Saturday, 3-5am UTC you can hear my beautiful voice along with my host mates @intuitivejakob and @lpfaust. We get pretty silly, and you're sure to be entertained between the satire/comedy, music and energy readings. We are working on building a team up and we have some other big plans in store for the future! So excited to actualize our vision.

pyramidborderfalse.png

About the Author: Falseyedols is a musician, producer, audiovisual artist, blogger, radio host and curator (thanks to Steemit). Through a diverse range of skills and modes of art, Falseyedols aims to unite everyone through a common appreciation of the arts. If humanity can find a common ground, it is easier to see our similarities and thus get along. We are all people, after all! Decentralization and the blockchain may be exactly what the world needs to achieve unity!

pyramidborderfalse.png

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

You just received a RockyMtnSteem Community dividend in the form of 0.01 SBD for being awesome! We suggest you spend this one by sending it to @steemitboardpool with the memo “worldcup2018” in order to get registered for the first Steemit World Cup Contest! These dividends were generated by selling @rockymtnsteem votes via smartsteem! If you like these community dividends, upvote this post to generate more which will be distributed evenly to the active community members!

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @for91days to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Great hanging out with you guys on this trip. Let's get another one planned!
cheers, @rebele93

Raising that girl up right! Love that she is growing up and enjoying the great outdoors ❤

😬 I'm a lucky dad

What cool shots, @falseyedols!

That one of your Smoky the Bear style pic really made me bust out with a laugh.

More camping!!

Haha it was such a blast man! Definitely gotta get some more in!!!!!

Looks like a pretty nice trip. So nice to she when Steemit members find each other in real life too. Nice pictures ;)

Thank you!!!! It's been awesome getting to know all my Steemit friends :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-13T07:07:51
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 60.40/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75