Gully Boy: Influence Of Hip-Hop Growing Up In The 90s In India

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I still get goosebumps listening to Loose Yourself by Eminem sometimes. It was the first to win an oscar and had me hooked to the lyrics growing up as a teenager.

2791721c50f538da44d17d4ea52765fb.jpg

Cable TV was relatively new so was MTV. However, music exposed us to a world outside of small town things. Things went on hyperdrive with penetration of Internet cafes, personal computers and dial-up internet connection at home.

In the late 90s some of us kids were busy meddling with computers, taking it apart, coding, hacking shit up even as our peers were busy figuring out the difference between "enter" on the keyboard from "escape" button with their nose deep in books rest of the time.

Using a 56.6 kbps dial-up internet line we downloaded music from Napster, Kazaa, Limewire and listened to in the quiet of the night on cheap Chinese headphones. The world was out there and a couple of my friends and I discovered a part of it through music.

Music is subjective and everyone likes different artists and track. One could debate on which is the best rap song ever, but for me it is my favourite from a whole list of tracks from that era. A bunch of us teens would try our hand at rapping during our school breaks and I can karaoke this track even to this day verbatim.

Funny as it may seem now, my buddy and I even wrote some rhymes back in the day. But there's isn't enough time to get into the details!

In the past few years Desi hip-hop or Indian hip-hop rap scene has grown tremendously. I listen to a few artists on a regular basis in my leisure time even as I listen to practically every major genre out there.

Today as I watched the Gully Boy trailer I couldn't help but feel nostalgic about my growing up years and how this genre of music positively influenced me as an individual.

20 years later, I continue listening to hip-hop and rap music at regular intervals. The lyrics of many hip-hop artists gave me hope and inspiration apart from being so much fun to listen to. Especially back in the day when hip-hop and rap were great not like some of the trash we hear today in the name of hip-hop.

If you've watched 8-mile and you are likely draw parallels after watching the Gully Boy trailer, setting a rather high expectation for the movie. You will notice similarities.

Let's face it, life in Detroit is different to the life in Mumbai and yet they are very very similar. The struggle you face following your dreams, when your convictions are tested beyond limits is all the same, no matter where you are born. Success finds you when you push your boundaries and never give up.

Nearly 17 years after it was released, anytime I need to pump up my self-motivation and feel inspired, I put on Loose Yourself on loop and magically I always find the solutions I need to go forward in my life.

Today, Ranveer Singh has proven himself as a versatile actor and I say this because rarely do I find myself writing about movies let alone discussing Bollywood movies anywhere in-depth. But I can't wait to watch this movie, which is supposedly inspired by the lives of Indian rappers Divine and Naezy. Perhaps it's their conviction and perseverance I identify with.

You better lose yourself in the music, the moment
You own it, you better never let it go
You only get one shot, do not miss your chance to blow
This opportunity comes once in a lifetime you better
You can do anything you set your mind to, man - Eminem


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #60

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Great movie indeed and Ranveer Singh's performance is outstanding as always ....

Posted Using - Supersteemian Android Application

Quite relateble that 56kbps downloading even i have faced that some times...

Posted using Partiko Android

Is the internet speed the only thing relatable out of this post?

Hehehe obviously not as a kid even i have grown up listening to the rap singers and even now i love hearing them, and above all i use to just get the lyrics online of the song which no one has heard and i use to sing that to create a impression and later take the credit this was a bit childish behaviour, which i did when i use to be small.... .😁😁😁

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I liked this one....

Earlier I didn't like rape music,but my younger son is one of the madly fan of divine, so I had heard about his journey in the gully of Mumbai.Now I am also a fan of the gully boy Divine and the great raper Eminem.Thanks for the great share.

Glad to hear about your son and it was wonderful meeting them in Tezpur. :) Btw, It's rap not 'rape' music. Small error in the comment changed the whole thing haha!

Awesome rewinding sir, one such memory was when we had aircel providing Rs.5 internet pack for a day and unlimited 128kbps downloads at night.. hungry torrents pulling all it could 😁😁
And the best memory of 90s was snow Informer , decrypting the lyrics..

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @firepower! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 34000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@firepower, In my opinion "Rap Songs" and "Rhymings" touching their heights specially in India, and if we observe fourth quarter of 2018 then for sure YouTube is filled with "Indian Rappers". Good to see that you've came up with this Interesting topic. Stay blessed. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

OMG, What an energetic song it is! Literally, it makes me dance whenever I play. However, I'm listening to this song for the first time in my life. Thanks for introducing this great music to me.

As a 90's kid, my childhood was different from yours in so many ways it seems. The main entertainment we had in the early and mid-2000s was listening to All India Radio. Also, we used to impatiently wait for an entire week just to watch Junior-G on DD National every Saturday( Exactly on 12.30 AN).We didn't have TV in our home. So had to go to neighbour's home. And this montage of Doordarshan gives me not only goosebumps but often makes me cry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97