Have You Ever Felt Like Leaving The City For The Hills?

in #life5 years ago

It doesn't necessarily mean leaving a busy corporate life and running to the mountains. But i'm sure many of us have thought about ditching the corporate life or a busy city life and moving to a quieter place?

I lived in New Delhi/NCR for a few years to start my career and eventually moved back home. At the time life was very different and I surely wanted to live in the mountains. Growing up all these years in a coastal city, the lure of the mountains was incredible.

man-1246233_1280.jpg

Source

For many years I wanted to do that but I couldn't figure out how to work as a digital nomad and live a quieter life. Eventually life kept moving forward and priorities changed and I moved back home to my city which compared to Delhi is a lot smaller, quieter and greener.

This isn't a substitute as I find myself asking the question over and over again as to where I would like to spend another 30-40 years of my life. I expect my city to get more chaotic in this time frame owing to population explosion and people moving in from other states and cities into this one.

Being self-employed and earning an income irrespective of your location makes it flexible to keep moving. But it's not possible to sustain this lifestyle 365 days a year. Because the cost of travel in the times we will is very steep and involving jumping through many hoops.

But it would've been amazing to live somewhere with a beautiful view of the mountain with peace, an abundance of clean air and water. Sounds almost mythical in today's environment but no harm in day dreaming.

I'm certain many of us here may have had similar thoughts living in a big city and wishing for a life that's richer not in terms of finances but perhaps in experiences or quality of life.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #73

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Growing up in the hustle of a metropolitan city, I always craved to live in the mountains and forest. There was some kind of inner calling since childhood. But, I could never leave the city life because of financial and family compulsions.

Then, five years ago, I realised that I was compromising with my life and went in depression for almost a year. I lost all of my energy and it was very difficult to think what to do. But, then, finally, a day came when I gathered enough courage to listen to my heart and not the fears; and I left everything behind.

Of course, I was also scared while doing it. But, when I reached where I wanted to go, many things started happening on its own. I got a life partner of my dreams (earlier I didn't even want to marry anybody) and also got financial stability, without me doing anything on my part.. Many other good and inconceivable things also happened. And, then I understood what Shah rukh means (in om shanti om) when he says - "Kehte hain agar kisi cheez ko dil se chaho, toh poori kainat use tumse milane ki koshish mein lag jaati hai" :D

!dramatoken
Awesome!

Posted using Partiko iOS

But it would've been amazing to live somewhere with a beautiful view of the mountain with peace, an abundance of clean air and water. Sounds almost mythical in today's environment but no harm in day dreaming.

🖕That line got to me @firepower. I’ll love to be that closer to nature.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm too from India and I too want to get away from my daily life and go to some silent where I can enjoy myself at least once in half an year.

I don´t feel that need, but I love when I'm on the Hills, that peace and healthy environment.

A lot of times

Posted using Partiko Android


Such drama, you've earned a DRAMA!

To view or trade DRAMA go to steem-engine.com.

I live in a city and on top of a hill, it's nice.
P_20190407_153726_HDR.jpg

All the time

Posted using Partiko iOS

At least twice every year for Maharashtra western ghats

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70