Have You Immigrated To Another Country?

in #life5 years ago

I'm in a coffee shop right now talking to a friend about his relatives moving to a different country and it occurred too me that many of my friends are already living abroad. Many are in the USA, UAE, notably Dubai, some in SE Asian countries such as Singapore and many others in EU (Germany mostly), UK, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

japan-2014618_1280.jpg

Source

Some moved for their studies and have settled down and others for better prospects. Couple of my friends have moved on permanent residency visa to Canada and one of them recently came back after spending a month there as he wasn't very happy with the employment opportunities and the general loneliness of living in a new country.

Life in India or anywhere else is just as as challenging however there are pros and cons to everything. If you have a good income you can live very comfortably in India as there's a lot you can do with your income and you can save a lot from it. But there's always some struggle as you have to deal with the madness of living in a populated country with a high degree of corruption.

I've never felt the need to move out as yet but I've been suggested many times that I should consider this an option as my friends feel my skills would be worth more or appreciated better in some western country. But life outside is not necessarily rosy and often the grass looks greener on the other side but it may very well not be that way.

I'm not convinced to take any steps in this regard just yet as I'm self-employed from many years even though I could probably find work in one or two of the nearly 2 dozen countries I've traveled so far already. I'm quite happy where I am right now but who knows about the future right?

But, I'd like to know if anyone here has moved out of their home country to another for better work or life. What made you make the move and are you happy there? :)


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Let's Watch This Fun Video From International Steem Meetup #1—Malaysia
  2. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  3. Building A List Of Users From India—Please Fill This Form ASAP!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Yes I did :) it'll be one year this may since I moved from New York to India. I found my love here and though India is a lot different than the u.s. I'm used to the crowds from living in New York. So all in all I'm happy and have someone here to keep me optimistic.

Cool, i did same from Belgium 15 years ago, still in India. You don't struggle with visa? i hear US gets 10 year visa but max 90 days stay.

Posted using Partiko Android

For us it's 180 days on tourist visa, but before it expired I got married to an Indian national and converted my tourist visa to an X visa or entry visa and registered. So now my entry visa expires next year and I'll renew until I can file for my OCI card in a year and a half :) where in India are you

Marrying, best solution :-) I have 2 children born in India, they get a beautiful extendible student visa while i am getting nothing more than a 3 month tourist visa, Indian embassy in Belgium (vfs) is absolutely not helping me. We lived in Kodaikanal, Tamil Nadu for 10 years, now my daughter is 15 and bored of sitting on a mountaintop, we moved to Aldona, Goa.
I really have one more question. Did you convert this tourist visa to X visa inside India?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah they changed it now so you can do it from either inside or outside the country. A month or so before it was expired I just went and brought proper paperwork and they changed it. Have you talked to frro here and see if they can help you?

Nope, I have never been to any country outside India. Even when I was confused and thinking about that, some of my friends told me that it will mostly be a one way ticket because the calm and pollution free environment will let you stay there.

But I don't really want to go out of the country because I've associated myself with many social and cultural activities here which I might miss if I go abroad. But I'm ready to do a short visit if at all there is an opportunity available but definitely not for a permanent stay.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @firepower

We did some easy stuff here in Europe. As Germans we moved to Belgium. Sounds easy but had as well many little things to watch, as every country is different in laws and behavior.

I have moved to Uk as some of my friends were moving.
As your mentioned everything has pros and cons. Needs to be happy Wherever we are.
I miss India sometimes but happy in the sense I don’t have to go through dirty tricks to earn in my profession as some people do.
Lekin abto mera status hogaya
Dhobi ka kuttha na ghar ka na ghat ka :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I want travel in newzland

Posted using Partiko Android

Travel is so beautiful apart from the wonderful experiences you get.

In the past I wanted to immigrate to Canada... But I couldn't. After that, I decided to stay in my country, Algeria, although I had several opportunities to migrate to Qatar and the Arab Emirates for teaching there, and I also had a chance to migrate to Sweden. But I didn't want to migrate... Even my son's disease could not be cured here so I decided to migrate to another country. But now immigrate become more difficult ...

No not yet....

Posted using Partiko Android

Huhuuu i have been im many countries. I was living and working in UK, USA, Greece, Cyprus, Malta etc....
Right now i am suffering to move back to Hungary even i dont want but will be better than in Philippines. So this week we are going to process a visa for my fiancee. My doughter she already get a half half citizenship so for her thanks Lord we dont need a visa anymore.

But i thing i know. If you choose to live in a another country you have to adopt the lifestyle. Where ever i went i always learn what the locals like and dislike. And that makes my life easy always.

I think it is much better to travel and live in other places because you can have more and more experience.

Actually we will come back to PH i think later but for the next few years for sure we stay in my country to earn😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17