Let's Talk—How Did You First Step Out of Your Comfort Zone?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

When I was in my 3rd grade I enjoyed cycling to my core! As an 8 year old kid in a small city in India, there wasn’t a lot to do during my summer vacations. Many of my friends would go on a holiday to their native villages away from the city. My grandparents lived nearby, and therefore the travel times were an hour at best.


Source

Indian parents of the previous generation weren’t really an open minded lot. Most parents of kids who grew up in the late 80s and 90s did not encourage curiosity. They were cautious and prevented us from taking the slightest of risks. Just keep your nose in the books was the rule 24/7/365. Scoring high in our studies was the only expectation of us and nothing else!

Suffice to say, I was a bit of a rebel but surrounded myself with a good circle of friends, and fortunately few of them were just as adventurous as I.

It was the summer of '98 and my school was on a summer break. I would often cycle around exploring the neighbourhood I lived in. My mom @geetharao wasn’t always particularly pleased with this but there wasn’t a lot she could do other than scold me when I came back home late. My dad would be equally pissed!

But, we lived on the eastern side of the national highway that now divides the city in two. But, back in the day my part of town (which is less than 4kms or 5 minutes drive today from the heart of the city), was the outskirts of the city and seemed a different world altogether to Indian parents.

My friends wouldn’t visit me there as it was supposedly far away. Just a little too far for the mindset of small town parents. This forced me to venture out in order to avoid boredom. I would often ride around town on my bicycle and sometimes to my friends’ houses who were all spread around the city.

In 3rd grade I found a lifelong friend, who was a new addition to our class at the time. Anirudh had moved in from Mumbai and we had similar interests: computers, gaming and two-wheelers of the same type.

During the following summer holidays I would often ride to his house and eventually one day we decided to ride out of the city. We knew we couldn’t tell our parents, as they would confiscate our bicycles if they came to know we cycled a little further away from our home.

That barely stopped us! We were both given a tiny sum of 5 INR (USD 8 cents) as pocket money sometimes. It was enough to purchase a cold-drink or two. We’d do our long rides on hot summer days and explore the coastline and beaches nearby. It would be a few hours of cycling, and when we began we had basic non-geared cycles.

On our way back into the city we’d stop at this particular shop that sold juices made out of Mango pulp. A local company made it and it was our favorite throughout our days together in school. It wasn’t until one day that my friend wasn’t able to join me on a ride that I decided to do it on my own.

I ended up cycling nearly 30-35kms out of town which at the time was like taking a major roadtrip for me. I was maybe 10-11 years old at the time. I was nervous and a little scared of the consequences but did it anyway. I felt it would be worth the effort and I might discover something new.

What I found was that the experience felt liberating! I didn’t know what that meant until much later. It felt great to be independent and out there. Remember, these were simpler times without any mobile connectivity. I didn’t even have a watch to keep time, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience of being on my own. Later, this curious nature and the need to get out there helped me a lot as I crunched thousands of miles across the length and breadth of my country, travelling on my motorcycle.

Suffice to say, my mother was a little surprised but not completely shocked when I told her we’d do these during our summer vacations.

This year my friend and I have decided that in the future when my hand recovers completely from the nerve damage from my accident last year, we’ll pick up two good motorcycles and travel around the country for a little bit. I hope we get to do it soon!

Over the years we've also ventured out in terms of our professional lives. We both quit our formal employment and worked hard to become self-employed. Today, he runs a factory while I’m a digital nomad-something that we both wanted to do in our lives!


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Steemit.Chat Contest #13 + Contest #12 Winners Announcement!
  2. 4 Tips For Steemit Account Recovery & Wallet Security!
  3. Let's Talk—Why Are You Not Buying and Powering Up Steem?

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Love this. Making yourself vulnerable is the process of maturing. It's nice to go back in time with a story like this and place yourself as a kid. Thank you for the memory. Have a nice weekend

Hahahahaha, so funny but actually freedom is the best thing that can happen to a mans life but sometimes man need to be careful,
Lol... You really stress your parent

Well done ..
You should know that life will not be easy .. Yes for a while
One must develop himself by exploiting all opportunities to overcome the difficulties of this life‏..

I didn't know you still had lingering nerve damage! Wow. And you're still here with us <3

I've always, as long as I can remember, just lived from the guts out, never really settling in a comfort zone..well.. comfortably. I've never felt there was another way for me--born artist? I am constantly moving out of my comfort zone, constantly trying to grow and become and share and conquer.

It sounds romantic, but the thing people forget is that it's actually really taxing. There is a lot of reward, but there is also a big reason why people stay comfortable. The unknown often gets you hurt and beaten up.

But.. it's still worth it, at least so far. I know I've lived a much richer life for taking risks, but I've also borne a lot more grief, pain, and disappointment. But it really is our only one life, and I do think I'd rather not have the regrets of shying away from the challenges that invite.

My goal is to learn even more to live unafraid - maybe that will mean taking more concrete chances.. like bungee jumping or something? lol

Well said Kay! I hope to continue exploring more of this world as I continue achieving more of my goals. There's so much to discover.

I didn't know you still had lingering nerve damage! Wow. And you're still here with us <3

It's getting better as the months go by. I hope to get back to teaching myself to play the electric guitar that I picked up couple of weeks before the accident. :D

Great to see you stop by my post. Cheers!

Jordan Peterson has just releases a new book called the 12 rules of life chimes in with image imagethis

I'm... a superfan.

Interesting! I'll look into this. thanks. :)

Ah love it! Yes bikes can certainly get certainly get you out of your comfort zone. Similarly for me riding my bike took me to new places and new sights... let me overcome fears and learn a lot by being in close contact with my environment. Great post and great question!

so sad for me ...at 36 I still don't know how to ride a bike...
I think it's too late for me to try..huhu

Oh I don’t think it’s ever too late ;)

Wish your hand get well soon so that you can explore as much as u want to. Most of the Asian parents are typical. For them, good study result equals to success in the future. It is unbelievable that you able to explore so much since a young age, keep it up!

It wasn't easy and I didn't give up. Thank you for stopping by. :)

One advise said, "If you feel that you're at peace and in peace, then that's where you belong." The second advise was, "If you're in a difficult and painful situation, then its for you." Which one is right? I don't know. Maybe both are right. The point here is how we decide on things base on reasons not on feelings. Its the mind over body. You can fall in love in anything but you have to decide which to fall in love with for a reason.

Check out my previous article on the service that I offer on fiverr which is basically where I manage a portfolio of cryptocurrency for you for 1 year. I personally transformed 500 dollars into over 2 million and I want to help others make the same returns with my 3 years of experience trading cryptocurrency. The link to the service is here if youre interested https://www.fiverr.com/bwalker099/manage-or-create-your-cryptocurrency-portfolio-for-huge-profits

Very good information

Thanks for the post mate. Your article helped me travel a bit to my childhood days and memories. I had a serious craze on cycling in my very young age and it gradually changed towards my bike. For me traveling anywhere in my bike is the real comfort zone.

We almost had similar childhood experience. 😂 😂 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85