Rescuing Little Monster Under The Hood!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

You can't see it just yet but it's in there! Tonight as I was heading out to get some dinner I had ordered at a restaurant I found a little kitten under the hood. My mother had informed me of a little kitten meowing through the evening near my car but hadn't spotted it yet.

Seems like the little fella is lost from its pack and found it's way to my house. Here in India, there are tons of cats and dogs that are domesticated but are not necessarily indoor/house cats. They are looked after but have the freedom to roam around. Sometimes the little ones do get lost. There are plenty of strays here in this country as well. People feed them sometimes when they come by.

Anyways, I decided to open the bonnet to investigate and found him right underneath it. But my left hand was holding up the bonnet and the right had my phone with the light turned on and I couldn't catch it. My mother rushed to grab him but he sneaked past her and hid inside an area in the engine bay which was nearly impossible to get to.

You can barely see it's legs in the picture below.

WhatsApp Image 2018-06-14 at 11.05.39 PM (1).jpeg

I tried my best to get it out but it wouldn't come out. I felt it would be best to leave the bonnet open and wait. Hence, I left to the restaurant before it closed as it was already 10.30PM which is very late in my city. Most places are shut by then. When I returned he was still there and my attempts to get him out failed.

Fearing that he could be trapped I informed the service manager for my vehicle at the dealership to send his mechs over first thing in the morning as it was nearly impossible to get him out without opening up the area where he was located.

I also informed my friend @varunpinto to see if they knew any mechanic at this hour and also to find out if someone needed a kitten as I wanted to find a permanent home for it when we took it out. But it was scared and also stubborn and it wouldn't budge.

It was nearly mid-night and I went back out again. But, now I saw that it had come out and was sitting on the car's battery like it was sitting on a throne! I slowly went to catch it but it hid itself behind the engine and even as I caught it by its legs it wasn't possible to take it out as it was grabbing onto something. I left it as I didn't want to hurt it by forcing it out.

Over the years we've had many kittens do this. Especially in the rainy season as they seek shelter under the car even as there's an entire house! To be honest it's a pain in the ass when it occurs. There was a kitten that once took a ride to the local market sitting near the engine or wheel arches and jumped out when the car stopped. Fortunately my mother saw it jump out, caught it and brought it back home in the car.

Mostly they learn to run away from the car when it's fired up but the young ones take time to learn. But this wasn't our kitten and it doesn't know the house rules i.e, stay away from cars! We've only had one casualty so far in 20 years but I prefer there not be any. Hence, my mom @geetharao and I decided to wait it out some more expecting it to come out.

It was just past mid-night and my mother who's an expert with cats managed to catch the kitten and brought it inside. She was ready to catch it, and had a small box ready for the kitten to sleep inside. She fed the kitten and it finished a small plate of food as it was starving since evening.

Our neighbour's cat frequents our house all the time as he loves trying to play with me. We don't have any cats of our own at the moment but my mom feeds every single one that visits us daily.

I'm sort of allergic to cats, some breeds more than others for some weird reason but I always let this guy into my room for a stroll. Anyways, he followed my mother and perched himself on the washing machine and watched over the little kitten for an hour or so.

It's 3.30AM as I write this down. I couldn't get any sleep and I went to check on them for a bit. The little fella needed some love and after some petting is sleeping quietly.

My mom and I have done plenty of rescuing around our house over the years. This was interesting nonetheless.

Overall, it was quite an interesting night and we have a new kitten around the house until we find it a permanent home or it'll just grow up around the neighbourhood and drop by for breakfast, lunch or dinner as the rest of the cats we've got here.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Let's Watch This Fun Video From International Steem Meetup #1—Malaysia
  2. Why You Should Vote For @firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  3. Steem.Chat Contest #30

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Nice rescue!!! You wouldn't believe how often that happens where the animal gets stuck and dies in there...

I used to work as an auto technician and I've seen cars come in for service where there were dead animals such as cats in the engine bay... Very sad.

But this one had a happy ending!!! :)

OMG,that's scary! Can't the auto designs be modified to avoid such situations!

Basically impossible. Need to always have a design to have space in areas to repair...

That kitten is fortunate unlike in @squishysquid's post.

You are allergic to cats yet you continue to help them. It just shows how kind you are. I guess it rings true when they say animals can sense a kind spirit and that is what you and your mom are. I remember a friend of mine who never had a dog before. When he decided to have one, he acquired allergy to dogs. Yet, he and his family owns I believe 7 dogs now.

I can't get cats too close to my face as some people do. I'm quite fine around short hair stray breeds but the long haired pedigree types can give me a lot of trouble. It can go as far as wheezing/asthma starting with cough, sneezing, itchy throat and stuff. It was worse when I was a teenager. Better now. But I like having them around and enjoy their company when I see them at the house.

What an interesting midnight occupation !:D
And so sweet of you to rescue and give shelter to a homeless cat.
So kind of you and your mom ! :)

I am worried if something happens. It's good that you give attention otherwise she can be died because of car engine heat. Cats are very naughty creature. They always try to test their ability to go inside and deep of hole. I think she is not aware of car that it might take her life.

Finally you 3rd sense works and you rescue cute cat. You mim also played main role by inform you about cat sound and fed her food.

In South I find cats are more familiar with human and even I saw people fed them fish/chicken because of this they gained their size.

In North cats are not much familiar with human but they still manage to thief milk and food but current situation is they are trying to become familiar with human because now people protect everything very carefully so it's hard for them to thief.

Nice blog bro @firepower.

Good for you. that is awesome. I love animals and would have done the same. I am grateful you took the time to make sure it was ok.

Your mother is very kind and nice. I don't like cats 🐱, maybe cos of their colours or their flexible body that expands like rubber, I can't even allow it in my room like you do and it's still the cause of your late Sleeping

Indeed a very lucky cat!

Cute little kitty. Glad you found him before he would get harmed.

very lucky animal

Nice deed sir.You have saved the kitten's life.Many of such animals losses their life in some circumstances where they get stuck in somewhere and cannot rescue from the object where they has been stuck.I am really very happy by your deed,that you have politely saved the animals life,you in true sense love and respect animal as we all should do.Thanks for sharing the experience with us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73