Phone battery went bad overnight and broke my phone

in #life6 years ago

Thankfully it didn't explode!!



IMG_20181012_115746720.jpg

This is my old phone that has been sitting plugged in next to my computer and running a few minor miners for some months now. Yesterday I had picked it up and checked a couple of metrics and noticed that it was not in this shape. It felt normal thickness and the screen was fine. This morning I picked it up to find that over night the battery has gone bad and expanded/off gassed which expanded my phone. The screen is lifted a 1/4 inch from the phone body and cracked all over. The back of the phone it pushed out and expanded.

I unplugged it and turned it off as soon as I noticed it since I don't want the battery to possibly explode. I have a squaretrade policy on it still so I now that I have the motivation I will be going through the process of submitting a claim.


IMG_20181012_115718769.jpg

In a possibly fortuitous manner, this could end up being a good thing for me. My current phone which is the same exact model that used to be my wife's, is having an issue with the battery life and has been causing me a bit of frustration lately. Which judging by this phone's current issue it does make sense that I would be noticing effects of battery lifespan on my current phone. If I can get this broken one repaired then that will be a brand new battery and screen which will allow me to switch back to that phone. I hope squaretrade holds up their side, they have on prior claims so I shouldn't have much trouble, but I will find out soon.

Seriously this gave me a bit of a scare because batteries catastrophically failing is not unheard of, witness the Notes from a couple years back. I'm just glad I caught this now.

Check out my:

Whaleshares blog | Steemit blog | Scorum blog


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

Feel free to join our Discord server to find out more about our BTS token FFFarm.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting and sharing!




Sign up for Dlike with the above image link!


Learn how to join the Bytball WCG Distribution!

Sort:  

Looks like a lithium bloat you had.

Better set some throttling on your phones and place them on a window sill or metal plate to transfer some heat to if they're mining.

Lithium batteries really really don't like it warm when continuously charging/working.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17