So Long Windows

in #life5 years ago

It has been a long, meandering, and frustrating experience with Microsoft. The original days of Windows back in the earliest of the 90s was like a whole new world being opened. No longer were we forced to run DOS and we got the initial GUIs. Now 30 years later Microsoft has decided to remove support for the last good operating system they made, Win7. So in my consternation I have returned to an old friend, LINUX.

Off an on over the years I have had various distros that I have run of LINUX including Debian, Ubuntu, Red Hat, Qubes, and Tails. I am now going to try out

The reason I never switched was the availability of programs and my unfounded fear that I would miss various parts of working in Windows. Well the availability aspect is no more since there are a number of VMs and work arounds for running windows programs within Linux. My fear of missing Windows is just me being afraid of change.

WELL NO MORE!

Today I am making the switch. I have a 1Tb hard drive loaded with the iso and all I will have to do is swap my hard drives. My external hard drive hub means that I will be able to still access all of my files on my Windows drive. I am looking forward to this change and am anxious to be rid of Windows and Microsoft.

Here's hoping everything goes smoothly and with any luck I will be back up and online in a matter of an hour or 2.


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png


Sort:  

Frankly, I’ve been using UBUNTU since more than 10 years ago and I am quite satisfied with it. You have everything you need without so much effort now, and sometimes better than what Microsoft compatible software offer.
Good change.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi, @flemingfarm!

You just got a 0.06% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15