Working In The Early Garden In The Northwest USA

in #life6 years ago

If You Live In The North And Have No Porch......Borrow One For An Early Start

 Got most of my seedlings potted after this picture. I have four more to go, then I will be caught up on seedlings from the house that are ready to go out. There are many reasons for using pots on a porch. One is obvious if you live in the Northwest, we have short seasons. Our nights still get into the 40s at night here. Tropicals, I also cover with plastic, like the Banana plant in the photo. I need the night temperatures in the 60s and the days in the 80s for this cold hardy Banana Tree. 

Another reason for using pots is if you are renting and expect to buy soon, you may not want to plant in the ground. Others living small, like in an RV Park, may want to garden on their deck or patio. Pots work great for this. So whatever the reason, if you want an early start, use pots on a porch in the North. I am already harvesting lettuce and bell peppers for awesome salads that the kids love. Fresh from our own garden.

  Shalom Shalom 

Gail Marla Silva @floridagypsy  



Sort:  

Wow i really want to have a garden plant in the pot!

It really works great and I probably grow at least 50 % of what I eat, plus I make my medicinals from my herb garden.

Time for planting! :)

In my head it is time @wilsonblue5. I would never make it till June. I always find a way each year.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Someones gonna break a mean sweat!

Well, it is looking better and better @tonygreene113. I love my garden.

Have you heard about hydroponics? You might like it. Also, your bio says about you blogging bout religion. I wanna read that. Followed you.

@abrahamcera, Since I do not stay on the main homestead often, hydroponics might not work for me. I have a small RV set up and usually just a patio to garden on. My faith is not separate from my life, so I share often.

Hello, Excellent initiative for the planting friend and todor be pleased with our garden.

Thanks @yosicrespo. I just can't wait till June.

Tiempo de plantas!!!!

Thank you for the post

Thanks for sharing this wonderful post @ofili2 kryptonia id

Please Stop - @ofili1

You just said "thanks for sharing" and in your your last 100 comments you used 85 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 3 times. You've received 0 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 76.80% and Bot: 6.90%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Congratulations! You received a 10% upvote from @kryptoniabot.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

  1. Run a task on Kryptonia.
    *For those who want to join the growing community, get your free account here: Kryptonia Account
  2. Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post for 100% vote.
  3. Steemit reputation score above 25.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89