I Want To Live Like A Beaver.

in #life6 years ago

1.jpg

At the end of last week I was given some pretty awful news. It took me on an emotional ride in to which my energy was drained from me with every thought and action that was placed.

It took me the full weekend to recuperate that energy but my heart still sinks when I think about it.

The day I got the call, I had to go into work. From that point I heard more dreadful news and things just spiralled. From one even to the next, I got so worked up that when my shift was over I wasn't able to go home.

Instead I went for walk. I walked up the talled hill and just listened to nature, being aware of all my surroundings. I worked on clearing my mind and exhaling, releasing all the bad that has happened.

In order to change my thoughts a I took a couple pictures.

IMG_2984[1].JPG

There is my little town. The photo is not nicely placed but if I kept to the right, the town would have been hidden by the trees. And I had to stay on the side to be safe from incoming traffic. The way the road was made, no one would have seen me coming down. That's my excuse for a poor picture.

I noticed a trail and decided to venture.

IMG_2985[1].JPG

I walked a bit down the path but I quickly turned around, remembering that bears have just woken up and I do not want to meet one face to face.

I was out walking for about an hour and a half. As I walked back home I noticed an old beaver spot. I walked up some and snooped around but I did not see any lodges. Just a lot of chewed up trees.

IMG_2995[1].JPGIMG_2993[1].JPG

It got me thinking more. About how family should be. Have you ever happened to look up how beavers live their lives?

They are hard working little rodents. They build their homes, they build dams. Everything they do is towards keeping their families safe and good.

When they have their young, their kits, other parental beavers also help raise them. As they grow older, the kits learn to do just as their parents do, work and build and repair.

Older offspring, which are around two years old, may also live in families and help their parents. In addition to helping build food caches and repairing the dam, two-year-olds will also help in feeding, grooming and guarding younger offspring.[48] Beavers also practice alloparental care, in which an older sibling may take over the parenting duties if the original parents die or are otherwise separated from them. Wiki

Isn't that incredible? I want to be just like that. I want to have a family that build towards something great, build for the family. Work with each other and help raise kids together. Share our wisdom, everyone's wisdom and let them pick and choose what will work for them.
Why can't it be like that with people? I struggle to see why people do not want something so great for themselves and for their children.

When I got home, my kids were in bed thankfully. It gave me the chance to talk to my husband about the things that were happening and even then, after the walk, it was hard to talk to him. I cried and was not able to find my words. I spent part of the evening by myself, feeling like I can't do anything. Powerless to help and that is so hard to accept. I still haven't accepted that. A battle I fight within myself.

Lately I am unable to take on any chaos. From facebook to family, it destroys me. How can people want to be so destructive? Can they be so selfishly absorbed that they lose sight of their own children and they have to pay the ultimate price? How is that ok?

And that got me thinking even more. I want to live like a beaver. Where everyone is one and the same. Special and beautiful in every way. Where everyone is a golden ray and the community is the sun. Together making the sun shine so bright. That is where I want to be.


source


Banner created by @charisma777

Sort:  

Much Love FS and I understand the turmoil that you felt. I have counseled people going through pain and my heart always breaks.

I love how you had written this.

And that got me thinking even more. I want to live like a beaver. Where everyone is one and the same. Special and beautiful in every way. Where everyone is a golden ray and the community is the sun. Together making the sun shine so bright. That is where I want to be.

Well if you are ever up to wanting to council one more person for just one time let me know. The battles are hard.

Everyone has the potential to be that sun ray. Everyone as a child already is. We just have to keep that going. Find it within ourselves and we will all be able to keep shining. And when we support that person shines even brighter. Just like in Steemit.

Thanks for coming by Mave, it means a lot. Thank you for the love :) XX

I struggle to see why people do not want something so great for themselves and for their children.

I deal with this every single day and it compeltly blows my mind how people don't want or just don't do better, especially for their children. I'm sorry to hear you are going through a tough time. You can dm on discord anytime you need to talk! Walking is always a wonderful way to help us feel better. Nature is so calming and beavers really do live what seems like a beautiful life.

Thank you very much. The support on here amazes me everytime. People are willing to talk, uplift and support. Love is so great on here and the respect! It's so very awesome - and awesome as in powerful.
I really hope that Steemit can spread more than just a platform. That it becomes the seed that people need planted within themselves and grows and spreads to other people. The positivity is immense!

Thank you for stopping by and feeling with your heart. I appreciate that very much xx.

You can leave like that. I believe that you and only you can make the change you seek. Maybe others will follow, maybe not but you have to make the move.

Sorry about your day turning out poorly. It is one of those things that just happens and we have no control over.

In my part of the world, child rearing is a job for not just immediate family members but also extended family members as well as neighbours. Aunts, uncles, cousins, nephews, parents, grand parents, all pool together to bring up the children. So there is never a lack of parental advice, eyes, caution and protection. That is the Nigerian way.

I wish you all the best and may tomorrow's sun shine brighter and give you more light and illumination. Stay safe @foxyspirit

Beautiful! That is so wonderful that it works that way. Brings a smile to my face to read this ^_^ How perfect that is and how great it is for the children, for the family!
Even though today is a rainy day here, I feel that sun shining through a little more than yesterday :)
Thanks @warpedpoetic. That is something I needed to see. Much respect to you my friend. xx

You are welcome @foxyspirit. I am glad for the sun and I am happy my comment brought out the rays. Be safe.

Wow that's pretty powerful. Sounds like you are a bit of an empath. I am, maybe too much at times, Other peoples stuff I can physically feel.
Nature often brings me back to a place of peace within myself.
Sending you thoughts of tranquility and comfort, hopefully your tomorrow will bring you more joy.

Nature is the most powerful being. It is alive, it grows, it heals, it is self cleaning, it feeds, it brings peace and calmness and it can also destroy and create havoc. Being in tuned with nature is very important. I am glad to see that you connect with it too.
Thank you for your support, reading all these replies is definitely bringing in more joy. We all need a hand sometimes and thank you for doing just that :) Lot's of respect to you good friend :)

WHen things get hard and times are tough, I often venture outside as well. To take in the surroundings and find some peace in things that I can not change. I then try to take that perspective into my life. There are things that happen in life, that as much as we want to control them, we cant. I hope things turn around for you and you get to have that beaver mentality. Just so you know, you can, its just up to you to make it so. In the mean time, keep your head held high and let the negative roll off your back! Much love sent your way.

Thank you for encouragement and kind words. I like that you do the same and take in the surroundings. Peace in the things that I can not change, ever so difficult but it is a must.

My head will be held higher and higher each day till I read where I need to be. Thank you for the love and sending you some back :)

Much love foxy🌹❤🌹 this world is a very complicated place to call home. I want to commend your choice to be with nature and to contemplate beaver. With all the self-soothing options in the world available you chose well how to cope. Chin up! It will all be ok. So much is out of our hands. But, it's good to manage well that which is in our hands. HUGS 💙💚💙💚

Thank you @yogajill. Things will turn out to be ok in parts, and I am hoping that in due time it will be better than ok.
We do with what we can and what we have. For the most part, if I stay away from a lot of things, life is good and peaceful. I just want that for the outside world too. But as you said, it is out of our hands. Got to make the most of it though ^_^ Thank you for the hugs too! XX

You show wisdom by returning to nature and contemplating what Creator is trying to teach us. Bravo to you for listening. I don't know what was troubling you specifically, but do know that you have support all around. All you need to do is ask and you shall receive. May your heart find peace as you venture through this journey.

The support here is amazing and I am grateful for it all and for yours as well. I know that if I am feeling troubled and I need some uplifting, that there are people willing to help, and that goes for me as well. I will support in ways that I can.
Thank you @wwf for everything xx

Aww @foxyspirit, I'm not sure what's going on, but I'm sending you lots of love your way. I love the idea of living like a beaver, where everyone has everyone else's best interest at heart. Life should be like that, but it's often not. I guess you have to find your "damn" of beavers and concentrate on that <3

So true! It can be hard to find in this day and age but I have found a few where I live and many more through Steemit. There are what I must concentrate on. It helps as to not be that one branch of the tree that snaps.
Thank you for the love my friend and more is sent your way too. Take care and be safe ok ^_^ <3 <3 lots of love and respect and HUGS!!

Take care and be safe ok ^_^ <3 <3 lots of love and respect and HUGS!!

Sending you all of the same!!

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Your post got hive bombed:

I am liking this, 3 post, 3 bombs, and that means I remember to visit peoples post. I forget so often with all the voting and commenting. Yes beavers have a wonderful family life, not many animals have a family life like they do. It would be great if we as a world could learn from them.

It's great isn't it?

I don't know about a lot of animals but it would seem that elephants are the same way. And perhaps lions too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71