What have you been up to?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Good morning and good Friday to all you great people!

Spring has been a very busy time of the year for many of us, which makes staying in contact a bit harder. Always feeling like you gotta catch up on Steemit?

So what have you been up to?

@earthmother has also been preparing for spring. Being busy cleaning up after winter and taking care of her animals; chickens, ducks, cats, dogs, a rabbit and a pregnant goat.

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@earthmother/what-s-new-spring

@maverickinvictus is being a busy body, writing up a storm everyday, doing the 30 day writing challenge and more!
He has some really interesting things to say, great insights and I really enjoy his personal view on the subjects he writes about.

https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@maverickinvictus/may-30-days-writing-challenge-day-eleven-what-s-more-important-for-steemit-right-now-smart-media-tokens-or-hivemind

@nathankaye has been doing a wonderful job posting on the platform even though he is so busy with making beautiful and soul touching music. One of his latest posts, he wrote a song about hope:

This is about winning the fight against the black dog of depression.
I had to write a song about my stint with depression and how I summoned the warrior within me to accept it, to fight it and to overcome it.
So this song is about hope.

https://steemit.com/depression/@nathankaye/transcending-depression

We have @jan23com who has been busy as a bee, working with the The Hive Discord channel. A place where everyone comes together and help each other out and grow.

https://busy.org/@thehive/the-hive-open-invitation

@deragedvisions has been working with many people in order to give 2 photography contests weekly that is offered to everyone with all skill levels. He has been doing some great things including fundraising to put towards the more poor areas of the world.

https://steemit.com/derangedphotography/@derangedvisions/deranged-photography-contest-deep-dark-woods

@eaglespirit has been offering up tarot card readings for Steemit on Mondays and I believe she has offered to do personal readings. Check out her blogs for more information

For some reason my internet has decided to not work so well so the pages I would like to share are not popping up anymore :(

And for myself, I have been busy with my 3 kids, and while 2 of them go to school during the week, I babysit another toddler from time to time. We have been cleaning up after winter as well, cleaning the greenhouse and planning for the growing season. Been busy with spring cleaning... what am I talking about? I can't even get to spring cleaning with all the cleaning up I have after the kids on a daily basis. Never mind spring cleaning.

I have also been busy with baking. With the last week, I spent most of my time baking for a new customer with a tall order. As well as making a cake for another person. He won a gift certificate and chose a chocolate cake.

IMG_2857[1].JPG

He wanted me to do anything with it, so I chose to make him a moist almost brownie like chocolate cake with caramelized nuts in the middle, covered in a chocolate ganache. Pretty simple.

I have also baked for a girl's birthday, who wanted a shark cake.

IMG_2970[1].JPG
IMG_2967[1].JPG

A plain vanilla cake with a simple buttercream icing. I used my airbrush for the colors. Jello for the water and bloooood :p

She loved her cake. Said it's the best one yet compared to all the other cakes I have ever made ^_^ Sweet child.

And then I have been busy with working at my parents restaurant. It has been hard working there because of the mindset at times and I have been contemplating my existence there for certain reasons. Although yesterday has given me quite some encouragement. I walked out of the kitchen to put some things away and a table started clapping and gave a toast to me being the best cook! Even if it is just for that restaurant they meant, it meant the world to me. I felt very appreciated and honored as they are spending their hard earned money to eat the food I make them. It is a wonderful feeling :)

So off I go again into my busy world, wishing you all a great and wonderful busy filled day ^_^ XX

(will add banners when my internet is working better. Hoping this post goes out)

Sort:  

Cool Cakes. Lucky man and lucky daughter. Glad you got some recognition at the restaurant. Blessings.

It was a nice feeling, it has never happened to me before. Came out of nowhere so it was quite the surprise. I had given my thanks, went back in the kitchen and just stood there for a moment. Then I walked back out and then truly gave my thanks and told them how much it meant to me.
I am always second guessing myself in all I do, always thinking something could be better. And it's true. I must stop pointing out my mistakes and accept that what I did was my best.

Perhaps this week we can meet up on Discord and I can go over your astrology chart. Should be interesting. Lets hook up soon and agree on a time.

Yep, just send me a message and let me know when it works out for you ^_^

Not sure whose mouth is bigger? lol
Thank you the mention :)

Well She took the bottom jaw off to eat it so I would say hers is now the biggest mouth :p

Wowsers! That shark cake is super creative!

You’re such a generous person with the way you share your love, admiration and gratitude.
Again you honour me with your compliments in such an esteemed list of wonderful people (my tag is @nathankaye - looks like autocorrect might’ve put a space between Nathan and Kaye, but that’s not my account). Thank you so much.

Keep sharing those gorgeous vibes and creative cakes!!! Nom nom.
Blessings

Woops! My apologies. Fixed it :)

I just think it's important to let people know that I am still thinking about them when I am very busy and not having a chance to get to them. As well I think it's a great way to share what people are up to in hopes that more people can connect ^_^

Thank you for your kind compliments and stopping by. I know that you have a very busy life and I appreciate that you too the time to visit. xx

Oh! No need to apologise @foxyspirit!
You’re a divine connector being!
Blessings
In joy
Nathan
NK

That shark cake is awesome!!!

Thanks your putting some of the interesting Steemians you follow in this post. No I am not biased because I am here hahahahha.

Thanks my friend.

Sometimes it's good to give you guys some light every now and then :p

Sharing is caring and I care so I share :p
Ya that sounded pretty corny. I need a little humour in my evening.

Hahsahha it is funny and makes sense Foxy hahha

Thank you for the mention! Glad that your post finally loaded and posted!
I think there were a few glitches on steem today.
That is an epic shark cake! but my heart still loves chocolate!!! LOL
Have a great day awesome Lady!! xoxox

I have been craving chocolate ever since I made that cake!

Mwwwaaahhhhhh welcome to the dark side!! Lolol

whoa that shark cake is Sickkkkk! that means great! LOL great work and thanks for the mention. I do a Medicine Card (healing and oracle) reading which is different than tarot, and initiated #medicinecardmonday --- yay! :)

Oh I'm sorry for mixing the two. I did not realize that they were different. Thank you for clearing that up for me. And also putting the tag! I was having a hard time there.
Im going to have to check out the differences in the cards. I am only now getting to know a bit about them.
Glad you like my shark cake :p It was a hit! The girl was happy and thats why I do what I do :)

Hey, no worries! :) Hope all is well. I appreciate the mention very much. i also suggested to max that we all chip in with all our skills for his wedding. you make the cake, undy is security, luna brings frog legs, i will help cook, dawn will take photos, etc. muahahahah
there are 100s of different cards, i call it medicine monday because it is related to what i offer the Universe. sooo
i am a reiki master teacher and that is a healer. and i kind of explain this in my medicine card monday posts as to my intention and go into it with a few paragraphs. therein lies the difference. i can do a tarot but most people want the healing cards and i use a few diff decks to do the reading.
i'm not sure if you are a card reader, but you may know that its all about the intuition that is presented with the image on the card.
yeah OMG you are so talented. happy monday!! :)

I like that Idea! I've had frog legs before and it does taste like chicken, but I still can't eat it for what it is lol.
Also @dawnsheree seems like she could bring on quite the party! Something to look into lol.
For some reason I cannot remember the beginning of your posts. I know I read them. Lot's going on and my memory is taking a hit. I keep forgetting to call for an appointment at the dentist for my son, I am forgetting to make another appointment for physio for my ankle. There is something else too.... shit...Anyways. Everyday life for me. But ya I would like to message you about something. Chat there. :)
And thank you again! XX

yeah its kinda gross but don't tell froggy we said that ... muahahaha

yeah total partayyyyyy for sure :)

okay gotcha and we have talked and we are set!! woop

I love the cakes. You are so creative. They both look delicious. Thanks for the update.

Have a great day. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29