Gone in 2880 minutes...

in #life5 years ago

weekend.png

It's 5pm Friday 11th January here and you know what that means...Yep, my weekend has arrived! Well, to be honest, I left work 2 hours ago as I had a few things to do so my weekend started two hours ago, but you get the point right?

It's the end of my first week back to work for the new year and to be honest I was a lot busier than I expected to be. I had several fairly complex meetings, on-boarded three great new clients and got the team set up for what's looking like being a really interesting year. Having said all of that, I'm glad it's over so now I can focus on more important things: The weekend.

My mother in-law had another round of chemotherapy on Thursday so it's likely she won't be feeling very well this weekend so we are on stand-by however still have a couple of things planned nonetheless; None of which take us too far away from home for obvious reasons. We've been looking at, and deliberating, some new plans and strategies to take us forward into 2019 and beyond lately although this weekend we will shelve all that and simply hang out together, walk on the beach and relax.

Oh, we have a 40th to attend on Saturday night but it's going to be a fairly casual thing so should be fun. It's being held at a lawn bowls club (seriously) and guests get to play lawn bowls, shoot pool and lark about I guess. I'm looking forward to cake and am sure I'll enjoy a beverage or two. 😇

There's 2880 minutes in two days, the time span of a traditional weekend and whilst we'll spend some of those minutes sleeping we'll also wring the best out of the weekend that we possibly can. Getting the best from it doesn't always mean having huge plans, going places or doing activities though; It sometimes means just being together, doing simple things and enjoying each other's company. We'll do a bit of both this weekend.

I hope you guys all have something great planned and get the most from the weekend also. I think it's important to get the best out of every day of course, I mean, days don't come back around right? But for me, after working weekends for some 16 years straight, the weekends are a little more special than weekdays. Get the most out of yours as I will be doing that with mine!

Enjoy.

Photo taken by me at the beach we walk on a few times a week.

Sort:  

Just getting my day started but reading this got me at least looking forward to my weekend although work transfers from professional to personal things but better than the week for sure! Time with the family is worth much more than the work week as is the highlight of my weekend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Glad you've got something to look forward to; That's always very important. Smash out your Friday and then fly into the weekend!

Posted using Partiko Android

I had never taken the count of minutes in a weekend hahaha ... have fun you and your wife ...
Here is Friday 2 am ... and I can not sleep ... :(

Ah yes, I've had a few sleepless nights myself. I love my sleep so I always get annoyed! Hope your Friday rocks and you have a great weekend though.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

And boy do those minutes fly by :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Have a nice weekend, Galen :) Though tell me, how is one supposed to enjoy the weekend when you post photos of your sunny bloody beach? Want to see what my surroundings look like?
49855604_2120404938005313_7922484991890554880_n.jpg

Brrr...Looks cold there.

Here's a picture I'm literally just took 5 minutes ago. We're at the beach...

Posted using Partiko Android

Blast you. Urgghhh, just go back to your home planet already, will ya? :P

Haha...Gotta love Australia. It's like this every day! Have a great weekend though HD. We might get to have a chat huh?

Posted using Partiko Android

I just have to get over there somehow. Hopefully before next winter :)))) I hate the f-ing cold. Thank you!
Yeah, for sure <3

Still Mid Sunday here as I write this out..

Got some American Football to pound sand with and eat some greasy grub yet. lol

Hope your mother in law finds comfort. Cannabis has been showing some positive results with curing cancer..

I watched Indianapolis and Kansas City game. KC kicked ass. Looking forward to the Superbowl.

Posted using Partiko Android

Birds by a billion!

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.408 which ranks you at #2213 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2212).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 356 contributions, your post is ranked at #164.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17