It's me dad, your son...

in #life5 years ago

I went to see my dad today and he had no idea who I was...It was unpleasant. I prompted him once on who I actually was however decided to simply let it go and play the role of whoever he thought I was considering he didn't catch on that I was his son. My dad lives in a nursing home and suffers from dementia so his memory is not so good. He has other complications and at almost 83 years old that's to be expected I suppose.

The visit left me feeling pretty flat though, and wondering if that is what I have to look forward to in my older age. Indeed, is that what we all have to look forward to?

"A graveyard of stones, memories, wilting flowers and pain
Some old and others fresh, new grass craving summers' rain
Derelict, memories passed, forgotten, faded, irrevocably lost
Worn stones, broken dreams, names hidden by creeping moss
Once loved, cherished, held closely yet time passed them by
Now gone, like light in their eyes, memories get old and die."

We will all get old and die one day, well, that's assuming we don't die prematurely, and whilst some may stay sharp of mind until the end, some will not. It's not a great prospect I suppose however that dark thought reflects back to me and punctuates my ethos that you can read at the end of my posts. Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default. It also gives credence to the live your best life and the be the best version of yourself as often as possible* ethos. Well, in my mind it does anyway, and so I do...As often as I can.

I left my dad this afternoon after spending almost an hour there. I recorded a couple videos of him saying hello and blowing kisses to his grandchildren, @smallsteps and my other brothers' 8 month old son, which I have now sent through; As they are both located a long way from here it's the least I can do. I suppose I do it in a bid to create memories for those two young kids and yet will those memories fade like the poem above says? Well, yes I assume so at some stage. It's the turning of the wheel of life right? I mean nothing lasts forever, nothing.

I think about my dad sometimes and look at the life he lead and whilst it could have been better, or maybe just different, he was happy. He has told me so many times. I take comfort in that and in that I have the ability to make, and retain, memories at the moment. And so I do. It's ironic that the things he cites as the best in his life are his children and yet now he cannot recall them effectively mostly, certainly not today.

The headstone you see in this image was taken by me in Cornwall last year. I was there retracing my ancestry on my mothers, father's side. I've gone back to 1451 and then lost the trail. This headstone is from the early 1700's and is located at a church gravesite, one of the oldest church sites in the area, and it holds many of the people that came before me, family members who broke ground and paved the path that leads to me...Gone now, but not forgotten.

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - @galenkp

P.s. If anyone wants to hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

Sort:  

That was a rough one to read, gonna step away from the computer for a bit on this one. Hits way to close to home here. Lost the women who raised me, my grandmother in her mid 80's, to Alzhiemers and my father 76 shows the signs.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm sorry to hear it. It's a terrible thing to lose one's loved ones and when their memories fade...Always makes now more important when a person understands how quickly things can change. That's why I live by the phrase design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default.

Posted using Partiko Android

Owch that's hard :< Both my grandmothers have dementia. The one I visit regularly (the other one lives on the other side of the country) I sometimes worry about as she kind of squints at me like "who the hell are you" before laughing and greeting me and making some excuse about how the room is dark or she doesn't have her glasses on, but so far it's okay.

The other one probably won't remember me again when we go visit her for her 100th birthday this year, but that's okay too.

Least you know you were the best things in his life :)

It's difficult on the family in these cases. Often the dementia sufferer is oblivious. Today wasn't a good day for dad. Maybe next week will be a little better but it will eventually take over completely, the memory loss I mean. Thanks for commenting.

Posted using Partiko Android

I remember the last days of my grandmother, she barely recognized us and she repeated what she says so many times. She got upset when we point that to her though.

Head, that's not a good situation. Sometimes dementia affects personality which is maybe why she got upset that you were pointing out her repetitiveness? My dad has been getting progressively worse for several years and today was probably one of his worst.

Thanks for commenting.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

That is rough my friend and can’t imagine how hard. I lost my dad unexpectedly when I was in my late twenties and feel awful as I was on that career grind and truly never spent time with him as an adult. Never got to see my daughter either. It is great you are able to be by his side and enjoy the life that was.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Try cbd oil

Sorry to hear that. I had to watch my Father suffer through many months of terminal cancer when I was 20. The last few in the hospital basically knocked out on morphine. His earlier requests to just take him out to a field and leave him with an easy out method still haunt me at times.

For me, once quality of life goes, it is time to move on to the next life. Sometimes they just need permission to leave us, sometimes they just aren't sure where to go.

I personally won't be in that position. Luckily in our state, we passed "right to die" laws that permit more honorable ways to go. They are however, generally limited to terminal health issues, mental health is still debatable. And then of course there can be difficulties finding a non-religious hospital that doesn't try to force their beliefs on medicines, even when the law permits. We don't generally allow our pets to suffer, why should we do any less for our loved ones?

A great read for those wanting to keep control of their lives (and deaths) is "Final Exit", among others..

Enjoy!
@ksteem

Thanks Mate. We don't have the same laws here but I agree with you about quality of life and moving on. Hopefully the policy makers see reason. I'll have a look at that book.

Hope your weekend is going well.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 7.38% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.422 which ranks you at #2130 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 28 places in the last three days (old rank 2102).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 323 contributions, your post is ranked at #114.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

purtroppo è cosi. anche io ho passato una cosa del genere e non è affatto bello! non si dovrebbe invecchiare mai, maledizione! grazie di cuore per questo post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11