Little things may be big: Finding presence.

in #life5 years ago

I was thinking about that human trait of wanting what someone else has; Coveting someone else's possessions, situation, location or anything at all. We all do it and it's probably quite common I suppose. It's not necessarily a bad thing generally, if held in check and not used as a reason or justification for failing to engage with one's own life.

Last night whilst walking on the beach my wife and were talking about holidays and how badly we wanted to get back to the UK and EU. We only just arrived home in late July and here we are 4 months later wanting to go again. We miss @smallsteps, our niece, and her parents and, of course, that holiday feeling of new sights and sounds, people, foods, experiences and the overall feeling of wellbeing that comes from vacationing. But there we were in a beautiful setting, sun low on the horizon providing a beautiful show, my loved one holding hands with me as we walked...Wishing we were elsewhere! Well, we probably weren't exactly wishing we were elsewhere but you get my point right?

I think it's ok to want to be somewhere else, to plan holidays, events and activities, however I also believe in being 100 percent present in every aspect of life and to be content with what surrounds me. My wife and I focus on that a lot. We try and engage with the moment rather than wish it away in preference for something that may seem more interesting, enjoyable or rewarding. We work hard to have the ability to experience things in life, to have the time, health and financial ability I mean. It takes effort so why waste that effort by not engaging and being completely present in that moment?

It was interesting to see so many people at the beach yesterday with their faces firmly fixed on their phones whilst the sunset played out right in front of them. Sure, that's their choice and maybe it's their way of engaging with life, and I'm not judging them however I can't do it. I need to be engaged and within the moment, the current moment, not some perceived one that may or may not happen. I also like to be present in conversations and interactions I have with people rather than be preoccupied elsewhere and only half-engaged. I think the people who choose to interact with me deserve that courtesy.

Many people spend their lives wishing, hoping and pining for something whilst their immediate-surroundings or situation goes unnoticed. Again, we all do it, or have done, at some stage in life.

For me...Well, yes I do it too I guess but not at the expense of the life I have in the here and now. To do so would be to wasteful and life is far too precious to waste. Wanting what other people have whether it's their material items, their position within the community, their partner, location or anything at all is a typical human trait and one that is probably impossible to stop. It can provide inspiration and motivation though so it's not all bad as long as it doesn't become obsession and turn into something more sinister.

Right now I want to be in Europe with my family, visiting @smallsteps, @tarazkp and @momone and experiencing new places and people, spending quality time with family and crushing life...But I can't be. I'm here in Australia working, dealing with life-issues, paying bills, taxes and generally just grinding to keep it all together. That's why I engage, because if I didn't what exactly would I have right now? Now is what we have, it's really the only thing we have and can rely upon and so I embrace it. It's for that reason I value the small things that occur in my life like the walk on the beach last night.

Here's a quote that lines up with how I think when it comes to my life, to presence and life-engagement. It sums it up perfectly. One never knows which moment is our last generally, and so every moment should be valuable.

“Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realise they were the big things.” —Robert Brault

Note

The two images are:

  • A Dartmoor pony foal. My wife was intent upon patting it. (Dartmoor, UK)
  • An image from last night during our walk at the beach (Semaphore South Australia)

Both of these moments are special to us now, and were at the time despite one being 10 minutes from home and the other being on the other side of the world. Both were as engaging even though they were small, seemingly unimportant in the grand scheme of things.

Sort:  

Nice post - there are always two sides to a coin (pays to looks at both).

I agree. Looking at both sides gives a greater opportunity for balance. Thanks for commenting.

I've never been able to get people who go to the beach and then stay on their phone...I usually use it for a few pictures, say it gets 20 mins and then back in the bag. I get that the phone can be interesting, like talking to someone you care about or reading something interesting, but often, you miss out on your own life doing that and it ain't really worth it, is it?

I have this fear that we won't remember our lives when we're old, it'll just be a blurry screen. We'll have no idea where the time went. It's frightening.

Posted using Partiko Android

often, you miss out on your own life doing that and it ain't really worth it, is it?

My point exactly. Life floats by some people like water under the bridge and unfortunately time, like water doesn't flow backwards.

I have this fear that we won't remember our lives when we're old, it'll just be a blurry screen. We'll have no idea where the time went. It's frightening.

My dad has dementia and recalls very little. Sometimes he doesn't know who I am. I understand your fear as I have the same fear. I'm not afraid of much in life but losing my memory is one of them.

Still, my dad is happy as he doesn't know different from his current reality. He is safe, cared for, fed and as healthy as he can be at almost 83. I hope I am as happy as he is if I ever reach that age.

Thanks for your comment. At least I know that if we ever get to meet we will be engaged and present in each other's company. It's all I ask from those I give my time to @honeydue.

It is pretty incredible that it is all pretty simple at the end of the day for many people to have access to much higher quality of life yet, we can't orginse ourselves on the scale to be able to do so. Perhaps in time, there will be the possibility to piss off the middle men rent seekers and take economic control, destroy debt cycles and live much more freely.

90% of what we make in this world we don't need but, if we don't make it, most people don't have a job. It is funny since they are all working so they don't have to work.

It is funny since they are all working so they don't have to work.

I hear you. I had a chat with 'R' about this not that long ago. We're like slaves to ourselves. Most of us anyway.

We need to enjoy the present moments that we have now in life other wise life will just pass us by.

Posted using Partiko Android

My thoughts exactly.

Posted using Partiko Android

What were they doing on their phones? My youngest and I are often guilty of playing Pokemon Go in most places XD We're not quite this bad though

I don't know what they were doing or what Pokemon Go is...But I do know there is a whole world around us outside of our phones and I try to engage with it as much as I can. Phones seem to be a necessary thing these days, I have one, however for me I try not to let it dictate how much real life I engage with. Everyone is different I guess.

Many people go to amazing places and stare at their phones like in the picture.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.299 which ranks you at #2550 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 251 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88