Personal responsibility and self reliance

in #life5 years ago

We live in a pretty easy world these days; Press a button and just about everything is at our fingertips. Life is easy and everything's all good...Right? Wrong. Wrong on a brobdingnagian level! Just plain wrong man!

You see, things go wrong all the time. The delusion that life won't rise up and tear us a new asshole is one that many embrace however it happens daily around the world. OK, we can stick our head in the sand and choose not to see it happening, like most do, however things go monumentally wrong for people each and every day and most are not prepared for it.

Here's a few scenario's and questions for you:

  • An old guy slips on the concrete steps right in front of you falling and opening up the back of his skull...Blood gooshes everywhere and the man is obviously in trouble. What do you do? Call 911, or 000 if you are here in Aus, and call in the first responders obviously right? But what if your phone is dead and there's no one else around. What do you do? Let him bleed out? Walk away and pretend you never saw the incident?

  • Your child drowns in your back yard pool, you drag the limp body out and what?...Call the first responders, sit back and wait? Do you know basic revival techniques, the ones that could make the difference between life and death, or a life without brain damage?

  • Your smoke alarm goes off at 3am [assuming you have one] and you wake to a burning house, choking smoke, no vision...What do you do? Dial 911 or 000? Do you have a fire evacuation plan for the household. Do you have torches within easy reach, a go-bag with critical items inside. Do the kids know what to do?

One more?

  • You wake to a noise in the house, a noise you know is out of place...Someone is working their way upstairs...You can smell the stench of sweat and stale cigarette's, out of place in your pristine smoke free home...What do you do? Call 000 and hope they arrive before you get tied up, butt-raped and murdered?

Now I know some people may read this and scoff, "it won't happen to me"...But go check out the news propaganda services around the world...Abductions, home invasions, rapes, murders, mass-murders in fact, war, famine, vehicle accidents, road, bridge and building collapses, property fires, volcano's, earthquakes, twisters, hurricanes, wildfires, theft, terrorism, health emergencies, personal accidents...I think you get the idea. Shit happens right?

I'm a prepper. The long version is "a person who values personal responsibility and self reliance". Do I have a bunker filled with food, water, weapons, gas masks, medical supplies, diesel, a bug-out vehicle, plant propagation items, the ability to purify water, waste-disposal systems, communications...Not telling you. Do I have a network of other's equally proficient in survival techniques, mechanical skills, medical knowledge, security, offensive and defensive capability and the means to communicate with them...Also not telling you.

Do I have basic understanding of what to do in various emergencies? Yeah, happy to tell you I do. Do I know where the exits are at the mall, a building or event I attend? Yep. Do I scan a room when I enter to gain intel on who is in there and what threats they may pose? Bloody oath I do. That's called situational awareness and if you have none...Well, I don't know...Go get some I guess. Or not.

I'm fortunate enough to have had training in many of the areas above plus other's like navigation, outback [remote area] survival and the like. I've also spent the last 29 years building skills that may one day save my life, or the life of someone I love...Or you maybe. Do I feel confident when I walk around in life? Yes I do. Do I think I would be safe if, and when, a situation arose...No, not safe maybe, safer...But decisive? Yep for sure.

My point? Prepping, being a prepper, is not just a convenient word for those people who want to live in a disused missile silo isolated from the world...No, we should all be preppers. Household and personal security, a fire evacuation plan, a seatbelt cutter/glass breaker, up to date first aid kit in your vehicles and the ability to use them...Resuscitation skills, a degree of situational awareness...All of these things are prepping. You have kids? Which of these don't you do or have? Maybe you can't answer because your face [and theirs] is too deeply engrossed in a phone device. Shame on you. Who is going to act in an emergency of you can't or won't? The police? Good luck with that. I hope they turn up in time.

The sheeple [people] of the world are too reliant upon other's in my opinion. Someone will come to help you, save your ass. Someone like me, who has the skills and ability to take decisive action, would put themselves in harm's way to protect a stranger and make things right. Is that how it should be? Is that what being a modern-day human is all about? What if your emergency situation get's prioritised behind someone else's. What then?

Don't want to be a prepper? Fine, then be a victim and hope that a first responder or good samaritan comes past to tear that raper off you and choke him out, or chase that bag snatcher to retrieve your hand bag or commence resuscitation on your child, or you, at the beach or local pool. It's a choice that many make, to be equipped and able to act, or not. Living in the hope nothing ever goes bad must be a truly frightening life, but then those that do are probably oblivious of the real risks surrounding them I guess.

OK, here's a preppers tip for you. (A really simple one.)

Go and do a first aid course then get yourself a first aid kit for your home, another for each of your cars and make sure you keep them stocked with fresh products as they do not last forever.

You can have that one for free. It might save a life. And...If you do decide to get yourself some first aid gear...Congrats, you're now a prepper. Welcome to the club.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

im srce

Sort:  

More things to get off my checklist! BTW, I got those resqme items for the cars; small things but seem like a great pick up as a prepper!

Posted using Partiko iOS

They're a good bit of kit, small and so cheap. No excuse for everyone not to have one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great advice 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

A friend taught me CPR though not sure how I'd do if I actually had to use it...i don't think i m ready for most od the stiuations you described...

On a lighter note, does my burglar/rapist have to be sweaty and smell of cheap cigarettes? Maybe he had a shower right before he left home...he's trying to quit, you know...

Posted using Partiko Android

Criminals come in many forms I guess.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87