Shooting a load

in #life5 years ago

Last weekend I made some ammunition for the purposes of load development which is a process I go through to create an accurate and consistent rifle round for various purposes. I did a video that you can watch further back in my blog if you're interested. Today I thought I'd expand on the concept of load development a little and whilst it can get quite technical I'll endeavour to make it understandable to those who may be interested. For those who may understand reloading and load development it may read a little basically, however I'm hoping it comes out somewhat understandable to those who know little, to nothing, about the process and how it works.

It may be necessary for me to define certain words or terminology in the course of this post which I will do of course however if anyone has any questions click the reply link and shoot it my way.

The term load refers to the amount of gunpowder inside the rifle cartridge and depending on the amount of powder the ammunition will shoot differently. I will not get into the technicalities of it as I'm not a ballistics expert however finding the right load is critical to accuracy and consistency; Two things a precision shooter will always chase. Muzzle velocity, which is the speed at which the projectile exits the muzzle, is also important so finding accuracy, consistency and a fast load is often what we seek. Oh, safety is also paramount of course.

Gunpowder...There are many different powders available, all of which have different qualities such as faster or slower burning for instance. It's a very technical thing of course, and even the shape and size of the individual granules of powder can make massive differences to the overall outcome. I won't go into it here as the post would be a very long one however to assist those like me who make their own ammunition, called reloading, it's important to know which powders to use in each application.

There is reference data available to assist in this process and so the first place to start is there. Different powders are used for different calibre's and projectile weights and there are literally thousands of combinations. For my purpose though I use ADI 2209 for my .243 (6mm) calibre and so refer to that data for correct minimum and maximum loads. Exceeding these specifications is possible at times. It can be deadly though, and so needs to be done with caution. I have done so on occasions, when in pursuit of the ideal round, but not often though.

So, developing the load is to find the best round for the job and it's done by adjusting gunpowder charge inside the ammunition through adding or taking away gunpowder. That's it in a nutshell. But how do we know what's good and bad? How do we end up determining the actual load to use? We go and shoot the rounds of course!

After determining the minimum and maximum suggested loads for my ammunition I went ahead and reloaded the rounds which would end up being shot in test firing process. I loaded them in increments of 0.3gr (grains). Just so you know, 1 grain weight is a very small measurement. It is in fact 0.00228571 of an ounce or 0.064798788502044 of a gram. It's small. Photographed to the right is three granules of gunpowder (2209) next to the tip of a standard ballpoint pen. It demonstrates how small an increment 0.3gr actually is.

I loaded starting at 40gr. So: 40, 40.3, 40.6, 40.9, 41.2, 41.5, 41.8 and 42 grains. I did not want to exceed 42gr at this stage just yet. I made 3 of each for a good representation of each load when being tested and the ability to see a clear average. Each batch is then numbered, in ascending grain-weight order, for later reference. So, I made eight batches of three rounds [each grain-weight] totalling 24 rounds in all. Considering I am looking for data it's important to ensure I could identify each batch once fired down range so they were clearly labelled with their corresponding batch number. Once done it was time to shoot so I headed out to a mates property for some testing.

The equipment needed to do this is the rifle the load is being worked up for, a bipod and rear shooting bag for stability, correct targets, paper, ruler and pen. The idea is to remove any negative-input the shooter may have on the shot so the data is as good as possible, that's why a stable shooting position is required.

We set up the targets, three of them, at 207m (679 feet/226 yards) and got started. The reason we use this range instead of the usual 100m range at which most guns are sighted (zeroed) at is that we want the bullet to have the chance to travel and expose any weakness, or strength, along the way. At 100m there's not enough time for that.

For example the flight time of my .243 rounds to 100m is only 0.12 seconds and 0.15 to 200m. For comparison flight time to 500m is 0.71 seconds and to 1000m is 1.92 seconds. Flight time at long range is why the turning of the earth (Coriolis effect) needs to be factored into the field firing solution (FFS)...This data is calculated by ballistics calculators and a lot of information is required to get it. I did a post about StrelokPro a while back which explains. heck that post out here if you are interested. It's a long one too!

OK, so I'm set up ready to shoot in a very stable, prone shooting position. Beside me is my spotter with a high-powered spotting scope (50x magnification) so he can see the fall of each bullet on the target. My spotter has paper and pen and has drawn up a copy of each target I'm shooting at (all exactly the same) so he can record the fall of shot after I fire each one. I'll shoot each string of shots and then allow the rifle barrel to cool as we discuss them.

So, this is what's called a ladder test although technically it's not a true ladder test. It's similar I guess. I'm shooting for elevation is what it means essentially, not necessarily looking for amazing groupings. Every gun, even those of the same make, model and calibre will shoot differently, even if they have come off the same production line side by side. So, what I'm looking for here is a load for my gun right? So, I'm looking for the round that is consistent, in elevation and grouping but at this stage elevation is the key.

Most guns, and ammunition, will throw out what's called a flier which is why we shoot three rounds to gain an average. Unfortunately the conditions were not perfect for our test on the day with a reasonably unpredictable wind coming from 7 o'clock swinging to 8 o'clock, so over my left shoulder and behind me, although it was still satisfactory and we proceeded.

Chasing elevation is what's important, essentially rounds falling as close to a horizontal plane as possible. Those that go high or low indicate poor rounds...Those falling close to that horizontal plane are better. Simple.

The images below show my targets.

This is all three together at 207m as mentioned above. The grey circle you see is 30mm in diameter (1.18 inches) so reasonably small at that range. I shot them in left to right order.

Where I do things a little differently is in the order I shoot the rounds. Rather than shooting each batch of three, say all three 40gr rounds in a row, I shoot one of each of them in order of lowest to highest grain-weight and all at the same target.

So below (the left most target) you are looking at 8 rounds in grain-weight order: 40, 40.3, 40.6, 40.9, 41.2, 41.5, 41.8 and 42 grains. The second (middle) target is the same again and the last (right) target is also the same sequence of shots. My spotter records each shot, where it landed in respect of the grey circle, on the sheet in front of him like plotting a map I guess. Each shot is numbered #1 through #8 on that map for reference later.

As you can see the first and last targets are better groups with the middle being the worst. That's because the wind picked up. (Not that I'm a shit shot.) This is why three rounds for each load are shot. It means we can eliminate the worst if required. In this case we used it to simply confirm the fall of shot as each number of round from each batch actually landed roughly in the same zone on the middle (windy) target as in the other two targets. The group is just bigger is all.

Here's the left target close up. See they are all quite nicely placed along a horizontal line? The one of the extreme left and the extreme right are fliers as mentioned above but are still on a good horizontal plane. Each were numbered #1 - #8 and we moved on.

Here's the right side target, the sequence of rounds I shot. See the one low between the little black dot and the great circle? That's a flier as is the one at the top that stands out by itself. We knew that not every batch of three rounds would shoot well and as expected the ladder test identified very clearly the best and worst. Once the shots were fired we started collating the data and comparing, in this case, the right and left targets and where each shot landed. We look for each #1 bullet hole across the targets, each #2, #3 and so on (these numbers correspond to the grain-weight of each three round batch, remember?

The idea is to find a couple loads that are better than the rest. We found two of them and will conduct further testing on them to more accurately define which one is the winner and will be declared the load for that rifle and projectile-weight combination.

We decided batch #4 at 40.9gr and batch #8 at 42gr performed the best and so they will get tested again. I'm also going to load a 42.5gr batch to see how that goes. I am doing that to see if I can find a load with greater muzzle velocity as speed improves trajectory and the delivery of energy into the target which, if it happens to be something I intend to kill, makes it more humane. This is important for my culling work. In a competition many look for a lighter (slower) round to reduce recoil. My rifle is set up to handle recoil though and it's comfortable to shoot even with a very hot load.

If you recall, there are maximum and minimum loads suggested and as the amount of gunpowder is increased so does the pressures exerted on the case and rifle. Too much and...Well, that could end badly. With each test firing I check for pressure signs which show around the primer. None of my rounds showed any signs of excess pressure hence my decision to increase the load a little more in search of muzzle velocity.

Phew, ok so that's a whole lot of mumbo jumbo to most people and I'd be really surprised if anyone is even still reading this post. I guess that through the odd post about the intricacies of reloading, and other's I've done on the skill of shooting itself, someone may look upon the hobby of shooting with a different opinion. Shooters tend to receive a little bit of flack sometimes, some of it is even deserved, however many of us are just normal people with a hobby. Quite obviously it's a hobby that requires a great deal of skill, patience and some technical ability...It's not all just shooting cans and road signs...In fact for many it's never been about that.

My load development continues and I'll be making the follow up rounds on Saturday ready for next Thursday's follow up testing. Once that is done I will also true the data in my ballistics app StrelokPro. This means I shoot the rifle out to long range, say 300m, 650m and 900m and record, in the app, the actual amount of elevation input [in MRAD] I've dialled on my scope to impact the targets. That ensures the data is trued. This will also give me muzzle velocity being achieved.

So, as you can see it's a fairly complicated process and this stuff takes a long time to know and master. I've done this many times for different calibre's and guns like my .308, 6.5mm Creedmoor, 22.250 and 7mm as well. This process needs to be done all over again if a change of projectile is made, change of cartridge brand etc. Yeah, I know...It's complex. Anyway, I'm almost there with my .243 and you'll be happy to know this post is...Now (almost) over.

The rifle on the same day as the test pictured below. (Spotlight fitted to right of scope as I was out culling when I took this on Thursday night.)

Tikka CTR Stainless steel (.243)
Custom carbon fibre stock (bedded)
Little bastard muzzle brake
Atlas bipod
Kahles 624i (6-24x56) scope (SKMR3 reticle)
Accuracy 1st scope level
Vortex back up bubble level
Nitecore MH40GTR spotlight

Here's me watching a target on Thursday night. In that green circle I have drawn is a kangaroo tempting fate on the wrong side of the fence. He had just crossed it and I'd been watching him to see if he had any friends. He didn't and so I did my job. The range is 199m exactly. Ranged on my Bushnell Elite 1 Mile ARC ConX laser rangefinder.

Sort:  

Well that’s the most boring post I have ever read!!! No, man your information is on point (pun intended). I’ve been out of the army for over a decade so I’m a little rusty. We never reloaded ourselves of course, but I was a cavalry scout (recon) so our life was shooting and many of us were sniper qualified, I am not but I picked up a lot from those guys. One thing I learned if I am consistently shooting horizontal it’s my trigger pull and if I’m shooting verticality my breathing. I’m awful with a scope, I hate it. I’m better at 300m with iron sights. However since we had so many snipers if I was hitting the target they didn’t care. Living the dream... living the dream dude.

Recon? That's cool man...✅

You're very correct about the trigger-pull/breathing thing of course. Shooting is a real skill. I'm not sniper-trained either however what I do with long range shooting is essentially the same as a sniper would do I suppose. Of course there's more to it than just shooting for a sniper. I have had some training though...

To be honest I focus on accuracy and not precision. Hitting the target, I mean. Some want to see clover-leaf shaped groupings and that may matter in certain situations but for me it's about smacking a steel gong at anything up to and including 1 mile. But realistically as long as I have the skill to accurately hit a 10 inch gong at 1000m at above 90% accuracy (which I do) then I reckon I'm ok. No sniper for sure, but good enough for the zombie apocalypse nonetheless. 😊

When culling I'm only really ever going to take a shot at a maximum of 400m though as I have to head-shoot everything. A kangaroo has a head of up to about the size of a large orange or so and accuracy is important for a clean, humane kill. We are not allowed to shoot humanoid shaped targets here so I round gongs is about it however an impact is an impact right? My best shot on an animal is 1387m on a wild goat but that was a chest shot, not head. .308 with a 168gr HPBT Sierra Matchking projie.

I wish I was a better shooter to be honest but in reality I'm as good as I need to be...Better probably, and I know that I could get behind a long gun and send rounds out with deadly accuracy out a long way. I understand the science of it, know how to call the wind with +/- 1 mile/h accuracy and also know how to calculate dope and FFS in my head in case my app goes down. I'm not a bench rest gentleman shooter, I'm practical and so have the appropriate skills. Everything I do with shooting is about being able to take it downrange and have a real-world application. Rifles or handguns.

I think that's me in general though you know? I like feeling prepared. I know some medical stuff, how to navigate, how to forage, make shelter, find water, escape and evasion tactics, to climb (rope) and a raft of simple outdoor adventure and general safety and survival stuff appropriate for urban and outback applications. I'm no Bear Grylls, but I'm handy I guess. It's a hobby...Pulling triggers is boring to me without having that core reason to do it. Knowing how to stalk while hunting for instance, how to track, listen to the wilderness, read the shift in the weather or general surroundings. I've spent a long time learning this stuff...As I said, it's a hobby. I suppose this is why I don't get into gaming like steemmonsters and all of that shit...Firstly I'm 49 (tomorrow) and secondly my life is one big game and I love it too much to shift focus.

Reloading is part of that as well and whilst I'm probably no expert on any of it I'm more asset than liability. Boy got skills. 😉 But boy getting old as fuck. 🤪

I wish I could hang with people like you some more and absorb some of your skills. You must have some stories @balticbadger and whilst Steemit is good some probably aren't blockchain-suitable.

Thanks for commenting as always. Long reply bro, I'm sorry.

Posted using Partiko Android

Damn it I commented on the post and not for the reply, deleted it to post it here and now it's gone!

At well I'll write it again!

Happy Birthday! I hope you're relaxing and your wife is spoiling you today!

I sure do get lots of stories and I have thought about sharing it on steemit but I don't feel right about it and I think is not fair to by buddies who were there with me. I did what a poem I wrote a whole pack but that was too much for me.

Anyway, your knowledge of shooting far surpasses mine. I am so out of practice and I don't know much about loads or windage anymore. The skill required to hit targets at 400m is insane and a goat at over 1km!!! Amazing dude!

Thanks for the comment really enjoyed reading it!

Have a great birthday!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hate when comments go AWOL! 😠 Thanks for rewriting though. 🙂

I know what you mean about your stories. I think some may be appropriate but no one would understand unless they were there and so best leave them as those special times with your unit and bros. Of course, talking about stuff can help...If that's a concern/problem also. Ya know?

I'd love to shoot with you sometime. My knowledge is ok and I'm a pretty good shooter on my day but there's always much to learn. We could send some rounds downrange and talk shit...A good day in my estimation. ✅

Sunday is my arrival on the planet day and we are going for a drive to the river for a picnic, about 90 minutes away. It'll be good to stretch the legs on the Landcruiser, blow the cobwebs out, and to see some wide open spaces again. We're taking my mum in-law for the drive too. Should be a decent day.

We've got some nice salads, sausages, cold cuts and chicken planned plus a cheese platter with olives, an eggplant dip and crackers as well. A beverage or two...Should be a good one.

Have yourselves a great weekend also.

Posted using Partiko Android

That would be an amazing day! I would love to give that scope a try, even though I wouldn't hit anything haha shit if just be happy to see a kangaroo in the wild crazy!

I'd sure love to swap some stories on the range! And in your shop of course. When I go to the down under I'm certainly looking you up! Hopefully within the next decade 😂

Sounds like the perfect birthday to me! We are going to a childrens flea market tomorrow (Sunday), so it will be full throttle stress lol but I'll cheers one of my bake sale coffees I'll get there to ya bud!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Seriously technical skills you have acquired from many years of experience. Impressive. A true master of the art of shooting I would venture.

Would be intense to fit a camera somehow to the shot view.

Thanks mate...I'm far from master, let's go with "OK for a scrubber!" 😊

There's an adaptor that takes the iPhone and fits over the scope so one can photograph or video what the shooter sees. I've wanted to get one but there's always so much to buy that I haven't been able to justify it yet. It's a few hundred dollars. Maybe one day.

Posted using Partiko Android

I mean.... with the amount of time you take for one shot I would venture some people would enjoy your classic Aussie talk bout your firearm whilst you pull the trigger. And some shots I’m sure you yourself are like, “Damn if only I could see that again”... so hey man could pay itself back with steem in a month or so lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I shoot quick sometimes. No time for Aussie accent commentary. 😂

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 45000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got a 5.99% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80