Stones in my whisky?

in #life5 years ago

Today I had a client meeting booked at one of the cities' more affluent shopping precinct's and me being me I was early to arrive - Being late isn't something I do very well. Anyway, whilst waiting for my client to arrive (he had let me know he'd be a little late) I wandered in to see what I could see.

I was drawn towards a gift and homewares shop, one of those shops that often carry items in juxtaposition to one another: Little cat poetry books, hand made oven mitts, silverware, wooden door stoppers, Belgian chocolate, gift cards and other various, and eclectically gathered, stuff. I figured I might find something interesting to buy for Faith as a surprise, random-for-nothing-in-particular gift. As it turned out I did.

Well, to be honest it was for me but let's not split hairs here.

I found this little box hiding next to a garden trowel, hand painted gum boots and the cushions you see in the background and they piqued my interest.

Now, I'm not a massive drinker, but I partake now and then and when I do it's a beer, gin and tonic, wine or a whisky usually, a glass or two of each. I prefer quality too, considering how rarely I consume alcohol.

So, I saw these whisky stones, taken from Scandanavian culture apparently. The idea is they are put into the freezer for a few hours then dropped into a glass of whisky which will then be cooled by the cold stones. Ingenious.

When I flipped over the box I read what seemed to be a legit explanation of the process, and origin of the idea, and I was sold! Well, $38 bucks seems a lot but oh what the hell, it was a gift for me Faith after all and I knew I'd appreciate it...I mean she'd appreciate it! ☺️

So off to the counter I went with my stones and was pleased to find out I was only required to pay $23.50 for them as there was a sale on. Score baby!

Feeling pleased with my purchase I headed off to my meeting in which we proceeded to talk about whisky and whisky stones for almost 40 minutes.

I'm looking forward to trying out my whisky stones which will be happening on Saturday when I drop them into my Pepsi Max. Yeah, I know, that's not whisky, but it'll have to do for now.

I hope you're all having a great Wednesday...Oh, only a few days now before I head off on holiday...I'm not supposed to be in holiday mode just yet but...I think I am...Shh! 😉

Design and create your ideal life don't live it by default 🇦🇺

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I've seen these many times, but never tried, I'm a bit hesitant towards it. Let us know your thought when you do a real-life-situation trial.

I will. I've heard they are very effective and obviously don't impart any flavour or dilute the target beverage any. My expectation is that they will be...
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Legit 😋

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m just wondering how well they keep the drink cold.

I'll find out Saturday. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 100.00% upvote from us for your 8650 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Whisky stones I learned something new thanks and I hope Faith I mean you like them🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

She I loved them!

Posted using Partiko Android

They are great things! I used to have a pair of them but lost them in a house move. Been meaning to get another

Glad to hear it...Going to be 33 degrees here Saturday, a typical spring day, so I think I'm going to enjoy all bloody 9 of them in my Pepsi and the icy cold beverage that will ensue. They are in the freezer...Well, freezing, I guess. ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

Heh heh, 33 would be a heatwave here. Enjoy!

Yeah, I know right? We were in the UK last June/July and they were getting 28-30 and there was a lot of whinging. We had 46 in January this year. Pretty hot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahah, thats what they do! Me, I take it and smile! After all, winter is awful here, may as well soak up that heat when we get it!

To be honest I don't really like the extreme heat we get here, but Aus is a pretty cool place to live so I'll put up with it. Gotta get may Aussie ass up your way sometime. Want to spend 2-3 weeks in Scotland. Heading to Finland next year again, so maybe the year after? Who knows.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

But what if the stones absorb the Pepsi flavor and then all your whiskey will taste like Pepsi from now on? That would be a travesty!

I don't think the absorb flavour. That could be a problem as you say. We'll see though. I'm looking forward to testing it out.

Posted using Partiko Android

I will be awaiting your report.

Posted using Partiko Android

Posting Saturday morning so look out for it.

Whisky stones are wonderful! I discovered them at some point in the past few years. It allows the whisky (or other drinks) to be kept cold without watering it down. A bit of water could still be added if desired but this keeps it under control.

To be honest I generally drink my whiscky without ice. I throw in a small amount of water to bring out the flavour of the Scotch a little more as you say. I remember when I first found out about doing that years ago. Transforms the drink.

Posted using Partiko Android

It really can change the taste. And it doesn't require very much water to do so. Some of the more peaty ones I add water to break up the smoke a bit.

I can't imagine that a stone would be as cooling as ice would be. But i suppose for a purist that doesn't want their drink watered down it would be the way to go!

Well, it seemed like a good idea at the time. I was planning on using them is my Pepsi that is already cooled to keep it that way for a little longer. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

The most expensive stones I ever bought.
I have a feeling that they don't do the job as good as ice. They don't hold the cold for long time.
Use a freezer chest with minus 36 C. The one you using for cangooroes,hehe.

Or it's just me and I should drink faster. But the whiskey is stronger, tho.

A shot of whisky only ever lasts a minute or so for me so yeah, they don't have to cool for too long..We'll see...I'm sure they'll work, or not.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15