Sunday safari is legit

in #life5 years ago

It's safari Sunday today and you know what that means right? Yep, it means it's safari Sunday! Hmm, ok so that sounded better in my head but roll with it ok? Even the greatest writers falter at times, so cut me some slack. 😂

We're heading on an adventure today, to the Monarto Zoo to check out the locals...Well, they're not really true locals because these guys and girls don't come from Australia however they are here and so they're official Aussies! We've packed a picnic and are taking the one hour drive on the South Eastern Freeway to the zoo for the day.

The zoo has all sorts of animals including lions, zebra, hyenas, giraffe, white rhino, bison, blackbuck, cheetah, chimps and many others including my favourites...Meerkats! I borrowed these images from one of my brother's as Safari Sunday hasn't actually happened yet, you're reading this ahead of time and my photo's won't be as good anyway. These were taken on safari in Kenya although I'm pretty sure it wasn't a Sunday so it wasn't legit! 😉

Monarto has just completed a new lion experience exhibit which allows people to get right inside the lions area by way of a tunnel that pops up in the middle of their territory. The people are protected by a wide glass dome over their heads and have a 360 degree view of the lions. I think it would be more fun to see no safety dome there which would make for some lively photos... But that's just me. It's probably not a legit option unfortunately.

The waterhole area of the zoo is really cool because they have a huge boardwalk that takes people out into what essentially is a simulated African savannah waterhole. It's huge! All the animals roam around freely interacting if they like or just keeping to themselves. We'll spend a lot of time in this area. Also, visitors can get on buses and drive inside the area as well. Doing that for sure!

The last time I was at Monarto I had the chance to get up close to a white rhino and actually touch it which was a first for me. They feel as rough as you'd expect but also soft...Which sounds funny. I mean probably not soft, but alive. I always thought they would feel as hard as rock. They don't. It's sort of like the first time you hold a crocodile...They are remarkably soft.

We'll be stopping for a picnic in the zoo which should be cool. It's going to be a 28 degree day with no rain so it should be nice. I prepared all the stuff, I know, what a good husband and we have some treats also. It's actually my mother in-laws birthday so I have a little birthday cake to reveal for her, and us of course. I know, perfect son in-law right?.

Last night we went to her place and gave her the gifts we bought. She got a Nespresso coffee machine and we set that up then smashed out a few coffees in some new cups we also got her. We had cake too...Probably shouldn't have considering I have cake for today but what the hell.

My mother in-law is still trying to recover from cancer and so we can't do too much with her sometimes although we're trying to prioritise spending time with her and doing loads of things, when her strength permits, to make the most of the time I suppose.

So, safari Sunday is happening...Or has happened, if you're reading this late. I'm sure I'll have a photo or two which I might share if they come out ok.

I hope all of you guys are having a great weekend and are creating your own memories because after all, what else is there but that which we have right now? Might as well live it right?

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - @galenkp

P.s. If anyone wants to hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

Sort:  

Hope you're having fun out there :) Happy birthday to your mother in law, bythe way! I meant to tell you this morning, but forgot...

I think it would be more fun to see no safety dome there which would make for some lively photos

Yeah, but then when some schmuck decides to get too close to the animals and gets mauled, then the poor animal gets shot (unfairly), so best to keep that dome.

Sounds like a great experience! O imagine it is much better there as it probably more spacious than the zoos we have over here!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yep, world's largest open plains zoo. It's big.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75