Turn that frown upside down

in #life5 years ago

I had a full on day today at work; It was out-of-control-busy which for me, a super-organised slightly ocd person, doesn't sit very well. My general approach to my work is to be proactive and today, right from the outset, I was the complete opposite. Reactive.

Here's a picture of me at my desk today around 10am. I look somewhat glum don't I? In truth that's not really my actual face and head but it's a very good likeness...Almost identical to my actual face and melon-shaped noggin!

So, quite obviously I need a pick me up. I mean who wants to get around looking like this all day right? Fortunately there was help at hand in the form of a 7 minute video that arrived earlier in the morning from my brother in Finland. The video? Well, it's of @smallsteps of course.

I love getting videos and pictures from my niece. She's very cute and super-smart which balances nicely with her mischievous and cheeky nature. She does some funny things. In today's video she was jumping, doing tricks and showing me some of her walks; The echidna and dinosaur walk featured prominently. I watched the video about 5 times over the day laughing out loud at her antics.

It's amazing how @smallsteps has the power to make me feel happy. She's just such a happy little kid usually, a lovely little person. I love the way she finds fun and wonder at every turn whether she's jumping on the bed, dino-walking or even adding and subtracting with her dad she finds happiness easily, looks for new experiences and embraces change.

See this image? Yep, that's me at work this afternoon and you'd have to be blind not to see that I'm feeling much better. All because of the video of @smallsteps my brother sent me this morning. It's an amazing transformation. OK, that's not actually my face...I shouldn't need to explain this again.

I got happy...But did I find productivity? Well yeah of course! You see attitude is everything in my opinion and a slight shift in attitude, assisted by the video of my niece, was all I needed to get the ball rolling. It's often as simple as that when it comes to turning attitude around; A small trigger that gets things moving in the right direction.

A person can achieve great things with the right attitude and can bring about huge change in their own, and other people's, lives on a day to day basis. The right attitude moves one forward positively and the wrong? Well, it's negative and destroying. The choice is always up to the individual when it comes to the application of one or the other. @smallsteps showed me that today in her video without even knowing it. It was her winning attitude and her willingness to explore, to seek new things, try new things...All without the fear of failing. Now that's the right attitude.

Sort:  

Good job and enjoy your nice, they truly make our life less heavy

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, children have a way of breaking through don't they? Thanks for commenting.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Dude, you do realize you look like a psycho in the second one, right? Right?

See, that's why I hate this 'turn that frown upside down' saying. There's literally no guarantee it will be a smile. It can easily mean a manic killing spree.

Yeah I thought the same. The thing is I know I'm not...Psycho I mean...Well, I think I'm sure...Pretty sure...Maybe I'm not...Or, then again maybe I am.

Nice suit though huh? 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice suit though huh?

Oh totally, I've always said that if I ever get murdered in a manic killing spree, I would like the killer to be wearing a dashing suit. Wouldn't want to be killed by some sports jersey, that would just be demeaning.

Ah, the old pin-stripe...A little too stockbroker for my tastes. What's the CD? The Bee Gee's?

It's from American Physio. I haven't seen it, but I understand he has some unconventional treatment techniques.

Heard of it, but haven't seen it. I like that actor though, Christian Bale.

My thoughts exactly. Worked for Agent 47. Why not me? 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Why not me?

You know, that's how most bad ideas start ;)

Hmm...Probably. 😋

Posted using Partiko Android

I often find the same thing as Inlook forward to my daughter’s video call when she gets out of school every day! It is better than the afternoon coffe I drink to get me motivated to finish the day strong and find my way home after a long day!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Kids huh? They know how to press the right buttons...Still good to have that arvo coffee though. 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

I think if you can’t smile at small you have a colder and deader heart than mine 😆 yay for feeling better!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Feeling better is better than feeling not better. (I think Yoda said that, or maybe it was Confucius? Or neither.) 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.437 which ranks you at #2196 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2194).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 354 contributions, your post is ranked at #62.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81