How to Sway Anyone to Your Own Way of Thinking

in #life5 years ago (edited)

In 2012 while a final year student at the university, my graduation became strongly doubtful. With a few days to the end of the academic session, the professor who was supervising my project work accused me of plagiarism. It was a allegation that could earn me an extra year. I was confused.


I Wrote A Letter

At last, I decided to write a letter to my project supervisor. It was a lengthy but deliberate letter. In the remarkable letter, which is still in my library to this day, I told my supervisor that he was right to have thought that my work was indeed plagiarized.


Thereafter, I presented reasons why he should reconsider his assumptions and agree with me that my work was original. I then supplied some evidence to support my claims.


Predictably, after reading the letter, my supervisor approved my work without making any corrections. That same year, two of my colleagues had extra year because the professor accused them of similar offences.


What Did I do Differently?

It was beyond writing a letter. I followed a universal principle which governs the art of dealing with people, convincing them to see things from your point of view. Here we go:

  • Identify With the Opposing View
    Begin your conversation by first acknowledging the views of your opponent. Make your opponent look intelligent and smart by identifying with their opinions. Tell them they have every right and reason to hold the opposing opinion. This will immediately prepare the heart of your opponent to hear your side of the story.

  • Present Your Own Side of the Story
    Passionately tell your opponent your own side of the story while supporting your story with any available evidence. Also, show your opponent how his/her views conflict with yours and why you should be believed.

  • Tell Your Opponent that You'll Be Alright

Let your opponent know that whether he/she chooses to believe you or not, you'll be alright. Let him/her know that you're ready to address issues not emotions, that you respect his/her opinions whether you are believed or not.


PS: The lessons above are drawn from my personal experiences and may not be true at all times. However, I hope that you draw some inspirations from this article.

FURTHER READING

How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie.


Image sourced from Google

SUPPORT CORNER

Kindly follow the peerless vocabulary lessons delivered by @majes.tytyty and get rewarded with some upvotes for your participation.


Are you a minnow and you're already thinking of giving up on Steemit? Please don't quit. Kindly follow @Steemitcentral and use the steemitcentral tag in your posts to get some upvotes.

IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg


I am @gandhibaba, the young man who goes about carrying his magical pen, not his gun, in his pockets.

Gandhi banner (925px, 25fps).gif

Gif courtesy of @artzanolino


Thanks for visiting my blog. I appreciate your precious time.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15