Is Karma Real?

in #life6 years ago

image.png

So the short definition for Karma is (from Merriam-Webster Dictionary):

1: often capitalized : the force generated by a person's actions held in Hinduism and Buddhism to perpetuate transmigration and in its ethical consequences to determine the nature of the person's next existence
2 : a characteristic emanation, aura, or spirit that infuses or vitalizes someone or something

I guess everyone has heard about Karma, I often hear the phrase "Karma is a Bitch" which means that karma will get you, sometimes this would get me confused as I couldn't exactly see what a female dog had to do with Karma but I was wrong about the phrase.

So yes, karma is you paying for something you did in the past, be it in this life or in a previous incarnation of your soul, if you believe in that. Better said if I'm reading it right your present luck depends on how you lived out your past life.

Well if this is true I believe I must have been Attila the Hun and probably a few other guys along those lines, I mean luck is something that I seem to repel in a frightfully forceful way.

I remember once I was in college the city was at carnival time and of course this being a Latin country there were gambling facilities at the fairground, there was one game that was called ruleta, which was just a round wood platform with holes hollowed out all over it, black and white, you used to shoot a marble if it fell in a black hole the player won if it fell in a white one he lost. Well I went out with a friend, I had 28 Lempira he had 5 (a Lempira then was about $0.5) so I started playing at a one Lempira table against one guy, he made exactly 28 blacks, so I was penniless.

I went looking for my friend and found him with over 500 Lempiras he had put his 5 Lempiras on the first shot and the guy hit a white after that he just kept winning. That is invariably my luck at gambling I nearly always lose, even at pool at which I am quite good, I always play against people who keep pocketing balls out of pure luck, zero ability.

Once I was winning with the 15 ball, it was about 5 inches from the pocket and the cue ball was about 6 inches from the 15 so I pocketed the 15 and I won, but about 3 seconds later that 15 bounced out of the pocket, I don't have an idea why, it was impossible but it happened so it became part of the possible, of course I lost.

The company I worked for used to have parties were they would give out great prizes, I never won one, but at one party the Manager decided that a few people were too lucky so he bought gifts for everyone, there were trips, flat screen TV's cash prizes, you got a number and they would start calling out numbers with a gift. The crappiest prize was a waffle maker, well that's what I got, and I don't even like waffles.

If I need money and I want to sell some Steem, it is a given that that week the price of Steem and SBD will go down, this is something that happens every time.

The sad part is that I am a gambler, and I am pretty skilled at cards, pool, dominoes, checkers, hell I even used to play chess for money, but I always get dealed bad cards, scratch the cue ball when it is not even possible, I practically never get it right.

But also I have noticed, as I pointed out in another post, that when I am nearly at the end of the line something happens and gets me out of trouble (money trouble that is) so maybe I wasn't Attila but someone else who was mean but not actually evil.

Actually I don't believe in reincarnation, I don't rule it out though and with the bad luck I have I think that there is a chance that reincarnation just might be real.

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook not so good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Karma is not a balance of payments. Karma is the process of drawing experiences from which to learn to create balance. ;)

I really wasn't trying to come out with a satisfactory definition of Karma, I guess to have an in depth analysis on that we would need a master in that style of philosophy, I just read, try to connect a few points and then express what I think, and with my bad luck what I think is probably wrong.

I understand. Karma is not really so complicated and no academic training is required. Just noticing how when we are out of balance we will tend to meet our own reflection is often enough. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gduran from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85