Pallets and Forts and Lost Dreams. Oh my...

in #life5 years ago

Yesterday I went out to collect pallets for a new project. Well, it's not exactly a new project. I've been meaning to do it for a while, but I haven't gathered enough wood, and it's a pretty big project.

Why pallet wood? Because it's free and I'd rather not pay a fuckton for low quality wood that a company likely illegally harvested anyway. And I'd really not like to pay a fuckton and a half for actually good wood. Good wood isn't even easy to source in my area anyway. Much easier to just collect some pallets, design appropriately, and get a hell of a lot of exercise breaking them down.

But, when I was talking to it with my mom, she told me about a time when I was younger and we filled the garage with pallets we were collecting to build a fort out back. I didn't even remember it. She told me a story about a visiting relative and how we ended up selling them all in a garage sale for $2 each.

Once I started to remember, I started to get a little annoyed. I might not have remembered collecting the pallets, because eventually they were just sold off because I didn't do what I wanted with them fast enough...and no one helped me, but I do remember the number of times that I wished I had a real fort as a kid. One made of wood. Preferably up in a tree, but not necessarily.

Okay...maybe I don't actually remember how many times, because it's too many times to count.

I did build forts and things...but they were out of blankets...and cardboard boxes...and when outside, palm fronds and twigs, weaving together the branches to create the walls.

Now that I think back...I may have had a bit of an obsession.

But I never had a real fort.

What I do have is two nagging parents that complain when I haven't done something, yet don't do anything to help. That's become sort of a habit over my life.

Making a garden? Maybe they might help a little when I'm starting it...well...my mom will, but probably not a super ton. Maybe a bit. Sometimes she helps a lot, especially when it's something she really wants too. But, once it's there, if plants die or weeds grow, suddenly it's because I didn't take care of it. Any project idea I have is completely my responsibility, even if they want it too, or will benefit from it. Meanwhile, any idea they have, I have to break my back helping them with it. I leveled their yard. I built them 2 swings. I built them a privacy fence, a new bathroom, a kitchen. I did of course have help with those projects, because for many of them I had no clue how to do them at the time, some of them having been under 18 even at the time I did them.

But I can't even really ask my parents for help with something.

It's so bad with my dad lately that I actually get angry when he asks if I need help with something, because I know he doesn't really want to help me. If we're cleaning out a room or something, he'll help, and be overbearing on what gets done and where, but that's about the extent of his services. For a while I thought he was incapable of using a shovel even.

Every pet I've ever buried I've buried myself.

But all that wood in the garage...was "a mess". Something I was responsible for. And yet, now, thinking back on it, I can't help but think how much more fun I would have had as a kid, playing in my new fort, if only my mom and dad had helped me build it. I guess I was supposed to build it myself...at 10 or 11 years old. I'm pretty sure I wasn't even 12 yet. Actually, I think I was only in like 3rd grade.

I wish I could have known that would have become a habit back then, where no one would help, but then blame me when it didn't get done. Maybe I could have acted like an inconsolable brat and actually maybe get a fort actually built.

abandonedbrokendaylight635096.jpg
Photo by Frans Van Heerden from Pexels

Sort:  

Congratulations @geekpowered! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 400 posts. Your next target is to reach 450 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got a 37.02% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @geekpowered! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17