In The Kitchen With Kat

in #life5 years ago

Wake Me Up, Baobob You Go Go!


IMG_4243.JPG

Most mornings I arise with the force of an energy drink addled kangaroo bouncing through the Outback. This morning however, I felt about as lethargic as a corpulent adolescent moose after an alfalfa bender. My motivation was at an all time no. Granted, it has been gray, misty, rainy, and just above snow temperature-wise on the weather front. Plus, everyone around me is ill or is becoming so, poor things, so I got to thinking that my joie de vive just needed a pick me up of sorts.

IMG_4233 (2).JPG

I have a bag of this in my cupboard of ingredients most odd. baobob powder is not a common food in North Idaho, as we are a little more than a hop, skip, and a jump from Southeastern Africa. However, I am always interested in trying new foods, especially whole foods that are good for you. Supposedly baobob is a SUPER food. I just liked the idea that it has a lot of vitamin C, antioxidants, and iron for C absorption. Someone as busy and nutrient depleting as I am can always use a dose of goodness in my diet.

IMG_4234 (2).JPG

Not a lot of research has been done on the awesomeness of baobob. The folks of Africa have been using the fruit for generations for fevers, and healing other ailments of the like, and I figure that bit of anecdotal evidence speaks volumes for the usefulness of the fruit.

IMG_4235 (2).JPG

My own food philosophy revolves around consuming a variety of things in moderation. You'll never catch this Kat overdosing on the latest trendy food, although it might be kinda fun to wear clothes made out of kale. Sorry, thought diversion there, I just love the texture of that crinkly green. Argh, moving on. Anyway, baobob intrigued me mainly due to the fact that it is supposed to be excellent for you and for the fruit's citrusy taste.

IMG_4236 (2).JPG

Let's face it, some things that are good for you taste about as good as mummified spinach fruit leather or something. The first time I stirred some baobob powder into my cinnamon apple tea, I was pleasantly surprised by the somewhere between orange and grapefruit taste tang that resulted. I also notice that I tend to feel a bit better, perkier when I consume about a tablespoon of the stuff a few times a week.

IMG_4237 (2).JPG

So, this morning when I was feeling all slothargic, I popped out of bed, got out a glass, plopped a tablespoon of baobob powder, a pinch of that amazing Himalayan pink salt, a smidgen of stevia extract, and added a cup of water to the mix. Upon whisking it super well, I added some ice to my little wellness tonic, and voila, I can report that I am feeling a little more perk in my derp. That's a good thing as I have to run the library with my peeps today.

IMG_4240 (2).JPG

I've also thought about experiencing with baobob oil in my homemade cosmetics. Anything with that much vitamin C has to be beyond excellent in the skin care department. Heck, maybe I'll make a human sized dusting box, fill it with the powder, and roll around in it like my chickens do in their dusting box. Definitely thinking outside the box there. Who knows, maybe coating your body's largest organ with healthy dust will become a thang

IMG_4242 (2).JPG

Hmm....I am a little bit pesky tonight. Honestly, it has a lot to do with running the library. A swarm of pre and post pubescent humanoids kept us on our toes this afternoon, and I got to be a computer time dictator via a time management client software, kick some of the seagulls out of the back of the library, and deal with a ten year old bovine fecal matter salesman who thought I would bend the rules for him.

Think I better go sip some baobob tonic....



And as pretty much always, all of the images in this post were take on the author's baobob free and not descended from a tree iPhone.


Want To Read More @generikat Posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Speaking as a long time bovine fecal matter salesman we prefer the term artist to salesman. BS is our country's highest art form you know.

Ah. I suppose I will defer to a master of said art form😉

May you continue to lay it on thick Oh Great One!

Well I am a believer in greens. That is why I eat sushi. It has that green algae wrap called nori. See I am all about those greens ;)

BTW if the baobob ever fails, I hear Maker's Mark works pretty good...just sayin. Kind of like the Baldwin sisters "recipe" on the Waltons. Be well, Kat.

Ahh, a tonic of the special kind. LOL! I'll keep the restorative power of a good ol spiked toddy in mind OGP, you know, just in case of babob failure and such...

And nori is yummy! Good call on the greens!

This food look some healthy . I hope you like eat this food . I love eat coffe and tea . Thanks for sharing @generikat

Ah! Yes, I love coffee and tea! Although, I tend to drink more tea than coffee, but they both are enjoyed around these parts.

Thanks for stopping by!:)

Friend, how are you? your eyes are as green as the green of the healthy so give your body to lift an energy drink and healthy, he will thank you, how is this Chaos?

Chaos is currently lounging in his basket on top of our fridge. He also rode the Christmas tree around for half the day (our tree spins), and attacked at least a couple of people's toes. His life is pretty great, lol!

And I am doing fantastic! Today is my son's birthday, and I have made pies, fruit salad, picked up pizzas, and wrapped presents. I am exhausted and the party hasn't even started! Hope you are doing well my friend!

wow hahahahaha Chaos is quite restless, happy birthday for your son, I hope you rest early on how exhausting to prepare a birthday party

Hello friend, a pleasure to say hello, an energizing drink to start the day is the maximum, you had a tousled day in the library so enjoy your drink put on your best smile and welcome a new day

Oh my dear friend, I do so like how you say things, I really did have a tousled day at the library, and that drink was super useful for a bit of energy:) Thanks for stopping by and I hope that all is well in your part of the world!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77