Scenes From The North Idaho Steemit Meetup

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Frozen Fingers, Fabulous Food, And Fantastic Company At Farragut State Park!


IMG_3786.JPG

Sunday was the North Idaho Steemit meetup at Farragut State Park organized by @jacobtothe. Whew, that was a mouthful! In attendance besides myself and my family, were @crowbarmama and her whole family, @scribblingramma, and of course the fete's organizer @jacobtothe. Now, a few words spring to mind when I think of descriptive thoughts to describe the event, freezing, fun, and newness.

The fun part outshines the other two descriptors, as we all enjoyed a big potluck lunch that warmed my freezing fingers. @crowbarmama made this smashing squash and lentil stew that I still drool a bit over when I reflect on it, and don't get me started on her frosting concoction that she whipped up to spread on some graham crackers. That lady is not only a chemist in the kitchen, she an artist!

IMG_3773.JPG

I also truly enjoyed @scribblingramma's magnificent potato salad, but in all honesty I enjoyed the company most of all. The entire crowbar family is fantastic, and it was a blast to watch my kids kick a soccer ball around the green grass of the park with their brood.

IMG_3772.JPG

The newness part is also a bit awesome, for even though I have lived about fifteen miles from Farragut State Park for almost twenty years, I had never been on the campground and day use side of the park. I have ridden horses on the horse side of the park plenty of times, and I have also enjoyed many a sledding trip to the park's fantastic sledding hill, but until Sunday, I had never actually seen the campground or lake part of the park.

IMG_3783 (2).JPG

That situation has been happily remedied, I mean just look at the gorgeous fall color scenery!

IMG_3800 (2).JPG

Another new thing was the apple deer. There was an apple tree by the day use area, and apparently the park's deer use it like a vending machine. I thought it was kinda hilarious to watch the deer pick up the apples and munch on them next to us while we stuffed our faces.

IMG_3792.JPG

Alas, the only negative was the freezing part, cause boy was it chilly! I requisitioned my husband for a brisk walk down to the boat launch as a means to warm up. I don't know what has happened to me, but I just don't like the cold that much anymore. When I was a kid I used to never wear a coat, and I mean never, it wasn't uncommon to see me playing snow football in freezing cold weather in only a t-shirt and jeans. Now, when it drops below fifty I am a Kat-sicle. My two kids love to run up, grab my hands, and tease me about how I am too cold to be alive. Aren't they just loves? I like to think they are just being sweet and warming up my frozen digits, but I know the truth...

IMG_3805 (2).JPG

How I ended my day, toasty in my backyard!

Cold aside, we all enjoyed our time with our fellow Steemians a ton, and are super grateful to @jacobtothe for organizing the shin dig.


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's still shivering slightly iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Sounds like it was great day. I wonder how many more snow less days you have. We have had to get out our gloves and scarves out already here. But still only light sweaters beyond that.

It really was a blast!

We're in sweatshirt weather here too, and this next week is supposed to be unseasonably warm, but honestly, any time it can go snow around here, lol!

I don't know if I remember telling you, but I lived in Calgary. I know what you mean by it can snow at any time:)

I was disappointed to miss it, but I had other things going on this weekend. It would've been cool to personally meet some of the other Inland Northwest Steemians! :)

Do I ever understand having other things going on:). I am so sorry you couldn't make it too, it's always nice to meet fellow Steemians, but there will be other meetups for sure!

I feel the same! Having spent my whole life in Michigan, just within the past few years I can no longer tolerate the cold. I mean the cold just feels colder, am I right LOL. Sounds like an awesome time!

Heh, the cold totally does feel colder OGP! You are so right, it has nothing to do with us, lol lol! And I can't even imagine a Michigan winter, the wind coming off those lakes must feel like liquid nitrogen hitting an exposed index finger, brrr!!

I'm with you and OGP...Cold=Yuck. I think it IS colder than it used to be. Then again, the rain is wetter too.
Looks like a fun time. So much fun to hang out with fellow Steemer's. SOME day maybe I can make it over that way when you have a shindig. Though a bit of a drive. I still have friends in P.F. and Peck. Can someone say road trip ( :

Ahh dd, you, OGP, and I are in the Steemian's Who Detest Frigid Atmospheric Conditions Club, ha ha!

Hmm, I also think the rain might be wetter and the wind might be windier, perhaps we are all evolving into super, extra-sensitive to the elements folk or something?

I would so, so, so love it if you got to go on a road trip of salutations! P.F. is literally right down the road from us, I would bring you cupcakes and a shirt that says Home Skillet on it as a welcome gift:)

He hee, I'm fairly certain I would be president of the newly formed S.W.D.F.A.C.C. (Pronounced: Ess dubya Dee FackaCaah). Though there's certainly room for you two as dueling V.P.'s ( :
If'nwhen I ever get over that way, I shall give you a jingle. After all, a T-shirt and cupcakes, who could say no to THAT rahrah jollyrah. Cheerstoya, -His Royal Panmanship (w/no penmanship)

Thanks so much for coming!

Thank you so much awesome sir for putting it all together:)

Beautiful land scape

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @generikat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added
Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09