The hardest day is the first day back after a holiday....

in #life5 years ago

Image source

For the last two weeks I literally did nothing.  Talk about a couch potato!  That was me for two full weeks. It's not that I did not have work to do, but I did a complete shutdown. I switched off my brain, and my computer.  I re-invented scrabble during these last few weeks, and there is absolutely nothing on Netflix that I did not watch. 

I was lazy, and when I started feeling guilty about not doing anything, I literally got into my car and drove somewhere just to get away from the guilt.  

Today will be my first day back at school and I can promise you my mind is still not here, and I literally have to force myself to focus, but eventually I'm certain that I will get back into the swing of things. You see, I am a workaholic and a perfectionist. I am not a lazy person and I work hard, EVEN during my holidays, but this one was different. I decided before the holiday that these two weeks will be a complete shutdown. I did as little as possible for the longest period of time.  

Did this make me lazy? 


Oh yes, if I could get back into bed now, then I would do that in an instant, but I have to earn my paycheck so I don't have much of a choice here.  

It's not as if I don't love my job, but sometimes even the good things gets a bit too much.  We had endless issues with our platform before the school closed and the less I had to do with the programmers during the holiday the better. 

Did it do me good to just do NOTHING? 


For sure!  My mind had time to recuperate and even though I am still not in the mood for work, my mood is lighter and it doesn't feel as if I'm carrying a mountain on my shoulders anymore.  

Before the holiday,  everything - including my writing was taking a toll on me. I just needed a break for anything and everything.  I had to clear my mind and my soul, so that I could feel normal again. Now I am close to feeling normal again....but it will be a slow start and gradually I will get back to working my ten to twelve hours a day.

Such is life....      

 

Sort:  

A "blob out" won't stop the world from tuning, It will give you a break and a chance to recharge the batteries again.
I hope you enjoyed it

Well, it happens ;) If I have the chance to travel, though, that's the best way to disconnect from present reality - go somewhere new.

Hi @giantbear!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.197 which ranks you at #957 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 959).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 180 contributions, your post is ranked at #63.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85