Caterpillars in a Salad, and Other Caterpillar Complications steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

“Just ask that little girl sitting on the window,” the boy said with a laugh as he stood on a chair at the bathroom sink. A toothbrush was in his hand, nearly dripping green paste off the side of it as he procrastinated. I squinted my eyes at him, my eyebrows knitting together in an expression of concern used especially for when goosebumps are climbing up my back.

“What girl?”

Everyone has read those click-bait articles entitled something like “Ten Stories of Kids Saying Really Freaky Stuff.” I felt myself living one of those stories, and I wasn’t happy about it.

20190227_155212.jpg

Another windowsill creeper.

“That one,” the boy laughed, nonchalantly tossing an arm in the direction of the wide windowsill. I turned fully to look at it and let out a sigh of relief.

“The black stone one with the candle sitting on her?”

“Mmm-hmm,” the boy nodded, toothpaste half dribbling out of his mouth.

“That, son, is not a girl. That is Buddha.”

It has been a tense day, so of course we needed to close it up with a ghost sighting scare in my bathroom. The tenseness of today had absolutely nothing to do with ghosts though. It had to do with caterpillars.

For the Love of...Everything

I am a tender-hearted person. I catch and release spiders in my house, and it is a ridiculous business. It usually involves me screaming five to ten times, plus a climatic shriek once I remove the cover from the cup while I am releasing it into the wild. I hate doing it, but I just feel sorry for the ugly little beasts.

IMG_20180715_221800.jpg

Mammal, bird, amphibian, reptile...insect. I love them all.

I also say a silent prayer for roadkill. I’ve been doing it for years. Feral cats, raccoons, armadillos, and the likes had the magic flicker of life inside them, and therefore seem worthy of last rites. I say it silently, because I generally try not to look like a complete weirdo. We all harbor some freakish tendencies…right? (I know you do. I can feel it there, coming to the forefront of your mind. You just twitched.)

My husband has had to put down a few of our chickens over the years. I tell him I don’t want to know where, or how, or when. I don’t want to hear anything about it. I love those little feathered maniacs. I love a lot of things. I also love caterpillars, and therein began today’s drama.

Poor Little Fellows

So the boy discovered that the monarchs lay their eggs on our many milkweed plants. He had been checking the milkweed every day, and low and behold four little caterpillars—small and soft and defenseless—were found and brought into captivity. Lucky for them my son is a very devoted caretaker. He cleans their little caterpillar turds and provides fresh milkweed constantly. Unluckily for them, he is also five.

20190409_092625.jpg

The plastic salad container they are now calling home has been shuffled, dropped, bent, and otherwise mangled inadvertently by wild five-year-old hands. Caterpillars cling, I mutter,they are fine. Then there is the constant handling. I don’t know how they still have all their antennas, and no one has been partially smashed. They are hardy little beasts, I mutter to myself reassuringly.

There has been two lost caterpillar scares. One was near the vicinity of my dining room table. I sat there for a moment spacing out, because I had an image of the soft little defenseless caterpillar ending up in my salad and…shiver. The second was in the boy’s bedroom, near about 500 Hotwheels cars. The caterpillar narrowly escaped being toy car roadkill, and me having to say a sad prayer for him.

Last night one of them played dead. It was a sad time. The vibrant colored little thing just wouldn’t budge any of his sixteen freaky little caterpillar legs. “Poor little fellow,” I muttered under my breath, the mood somber.

“Where do I put him?” The boy asked in a chipper way. I half wondered if he was thinking to make a trip to the chicken coop with his special treat. I squinted, suddenly thinking of that salad again and… “Let’s just deal with it in the morning,” I said quickly, shaking it from mind. As luck would have it, the caterpillar was rejuvenated by morning, and saved from burial by chicken beak.

20190409_092729.jpg

Now they have doubled in size and I am increasingly invested in their future. Will they make it through the manhandling boy-handling and actually make a cocoon? Will they be inadvertently squished in some sort of freak caterpillar accident? Or worse still, will they escape and end up in my salad bowl? Shiver. I don’t know, but I’m just a little bit worried.

For Fuck’s Sake, Self. It’s a Caterpillar.

I really shouldn’t care. I’m just not that good at not caring. I need practice. I need to get some pointers from some callous jerks.

Oh well. At least there isn’t a ghost in my bathroom. As far as I know…

Sort:  

I say prayers for roadkill too! I hope the poor little caterpillars survive and don't end up haunting your bathroom!

Haha! Now that would be creepy. I can see little caterpillar ghosts creeping up the toothbrushes. Shiver

haha! howdy ginnyannette! wow what a flippin softie! You capture and release spiders! What about venomous ones like Black Widows? I didn't think anyone was that kind hearted but I stand corrected! lol.

I have never had the displeasure of coming across a venomous creature other than a scorpion. I just took him across the street to the woods and released him. I knew he wouldn't bother anyone over there.

wow that takes the prize! you actually transported a freakin scorpion instead of killing it. That's amazing. hey chickens like those things you could have done them a favor and given them a treat!

I didn't think of that. I didn't want to risk him escaping and being in my yard I suppose.

Yes Ma'am well that's good thinking too. Don't need one of the kids to get stung, they say it hurts like hell.

Ah... .what childhood fun !

I was going to say about the sticks too. I only know because my sister use to buy the butterfly boxes where they send you caterpillars and they live and then make their cocoons inside a closed box that had some sort of clear cellophane? windows on all 4 sides so you could watch. You put several sticks propped up inside and eventually the cocoons would hang from them. I don't know if they are territorial and will refuse to hang side by side. 😄 🐛

I don't exactly say a prayer for roadkill, but I do quietly say "I'm sorry" when I go by them. I do say a prayer any time rescue units or firetrucks cross my path with sirens blaring, knowing they are flying to help someone who is in peril.

I hope your caterpillars make it to butterflies and get a happy release !

I do the same thing with firetrucks and ambulances!

Good news, we've got one cacoon so far. That little knuckle-head put it on the roof of the box instead of the stick, lol.

Thank you! I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

I guess it didn't over think it like I did. LOL !!!

I thought it would pick the natural surface of the stick, but he was just fine with plastic. Hopefully it sticks well to the slick plastic.

I worry about our Monarch population. I hope they all survive. Let's ask that Buddha girl to watch over them!

We lost one yesterday. It was very sad. I don't know what happened, he just bit the dust mysteriously. On a positive note, we have one cocoon and two in progress. I plan to get up every few hours through the night to watch the process.

That is sad. I hope all the others do well! It will be fun to watch.

That is sad. I hope
All the others do well! It
Will be fun to watch.

                 - melinda010100


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Keeping fingers crossed!

That is sad. I hope all the others do well! It will be fun to watch.

Okay, where do you live again? Need to make a note, insects, weird critters and ghosts all in one blog! Nope! Not my thing. 😱

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am in north Florida. We definitely have our share of critters, but scariest are the retiree drivers. My husband saw one driving on the wrong side of the road last night.

I saw a similar one about four or five years ago in the garden on the cabbage I guess. I remember how happy I was to see one so beautiful. My dad was angry as that one was not there to visit us but to eat the cabbage 😀
Nice writing again!

Ha, gardeners have to develop a hardened heart to them. It is a strange thing how I like caterpillars, have no problem with them climbing on me, but when they are on my edible plants I get the creeps. Pulling them off makes me want to gag. I think it is the salad bowl idea.

Hopefully the little fellow lived to see another cabbage :)

Hahaha, I don't know, haven't seen them in the garden ever since :)

Your dad takes his cabbage very seriously ;)

Not only the cabbage 😁
A couple of years ago we were harvesting currant when I spotted a snail ilon one of the stems. Obviously the first thing I did was to take out my mobile phone from my pocket and start taking photos. He got mad, ha said I should throw it away, far away because it's eating the green leaves, instead of making it a photo model 😁
Jokes aside, sometimes these little creatures can make your life miserable and destroy everything you've worked for.

Aw, poor little snail.

I know it, I've lost an entire patch of plants because I didn't check for caterpillars for 48 hrs. sigh

It's fabulous for children be this close to nature. You will want to have a small branch where the Monarch caterpillars can hang from when they build their chrysalis.

I was wondering about that. We have one small stick propped up in there, but I don't know how particular they are. I suppose they won't really have the option of being particular.

pfffffffffffffhaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahaha You suddenly imagined yourself in one of those ghost stories... The drama, the excitement, the horror... THE GHOST! "The ghost of the past green toothpaste"... in a theater near ya! :D

Ha! Hopefully not too near me ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07