Five Years Slipped Through the Fingers

in #life6 years ago

Time. It is a hard thing for me to grasp; sand slipping through the fingers. Five years ago today I know exactly where I was, to the minute. It is a strange feeling reconciling the present and the past—one is a separate dimension that lives in my memory.

image-2018-07-08 (1).jpg

The omnipresent ones; past, present and future.

Turning five years old is special. It is a time when real adolescent comprehension seems to kick in, going from toddler thoughts to child thoughts. We have decided to nix birthday parties in place of birthday experiences. For instance, the experience of playing all day on the beach, until the sun gets low. Then, heading to a live oak sheltered patch of sand to build a fire with enough boy scout dinners on the grate to shield it from view. The experience of patience for slow cooking as the smell of thyme and rosemary seeps out of the aluminum foil packs of meat and vegetables. The experience includes sharpening a palmetto stalk into a marshmallow stake, and hearing silly ghost stories by lantern light.

image-2018-07-08 (3).jpg

But back to time—back to five years ago. Five years ago at this moment I was sitting on my bedroom floor, semi-conscious. My conscious thoughts were in a deep fog. The midwives call it “the trance”. The conscious mind prefers not to tolerate high amounts of pain, and back labor makes the spine feel broken. Thousands of years of birth seems to have brought on the invention of some handy tricks by the hormones for coping with pain. So there I sat in the trance on the floor, because if I’m in pain I have to be on the floor. Like a wild animal that seeks a secluded corner while in bad health, the instinct is still strong in some of us humans. When giving birth, the body needs to be grounded with the earth it descended from.

There is a red seam down the top of my scalp from the sun burning where my hair is parted. Little shell pieces stick to me in odd places, but I won’t be showering anytime soon, so I may as well accept them. The salt has stiffened my hair so that a tie is optional—a helpful little camping trick. But the food is good, and the crickets are chirping. Stars are appearing between the branches. The air is full of giggles coming from a tent that will be so covered over by sandy little feet that sleeping without the tent may not be a huge downgrade. It is a birthday experience though, so it’s okay.

image-2018-07-08 (2).jpg

Birthdays are so special—special days when mothers remember. Unfortunately, in birth the “trance” does pass. The trance abandoned me when it was time. It left me alone with my pain. The pain of a mal-positioned baby pressing those waves of contractions into my spine is not a pain that I can relive. It is too intense to exist in that memory/other dimension—only foggy things live there. One wave crashing on the shore sends a human bystander flying in the direction of the wave’s will. It is only a bit of wind put into water, but it is ridiculously strong. That is how I think of contractions too.

Birthday cupcakes have been eaten, dinners are gone, palmetto-marshmallow stakes sit idle, lantern light casts only a small gold glow into the blackness, and children are heavy-eyed. Not much to do, other than sleep. Into muggy, sandy tents we go to sleep with our bathing suits still on. A slot is opened from the rain cover, and there just outside of the tent mesh is a few bright stars for proper nightlights. The lovely inactivity of sleep is welcome to fall over us—another dimension all itself.

I labored long and hard all these hours that I am spending only typing now. Nothing worthwhile comes without hard work, so says my American upbringing. I worked hard as hell, and just after dawn I got my boy. I am grateful I did all that hard work, and I’m grateful I’m not doing it now.

Crazy, slippery time. What a beautiful thing five years is.

Sort:  

howdy @ginnyannette! wow. very powerful images. and some painful images. I've never heard of the trance but I'm grateful for it. I don't know what palmeto stalks are or even what Boy Scout meals are. I don't know much do I? lol.
time indeed..in a little while you'll be writing about 10 years old.
great job girl!

I thought you Texans would have palmettos. I guess they are just a Florida thing then. I love them.

Food + aluminum foil wrapping = boy scout dinner. I'm not sure if my family coined that term, or if it is an actual boy scout thing.

I enjoy writing and thinking about birth. It's an intense, amazing thing.

yes Ma'am thinking about birth would be very strong for a female, especially one who has gone through it! they probably have palmettos down along the coast where it's freakish and inhumanly humid like Florida.
I still don't know what they are though, a reed or weed or tree?

freakish and inhumanly humid like Florida.

LOL! My skin is never dry. Sweat removes toxins. Just think of all those dry, toxic cowboys in Texas ;)

Palmettos are like short, shrubby palms. Rattlesnakes like to snuggle under them, they have putrid tasting berries, and rough/thorny stalks. They are lovely.

hey those are definitely Texas plants you're describing, I KNOW we have those now that I hear about them! do you ever run into rattlesnakes out there?
there sure ARE alot of dry, toxic cowboys out here. well not right here, probably out West where it's a semi-arrid desert, low humidity.

The same as your toxic cowboys - I haven't run into any rattle snakes on my property, but they are out there somewhere :)

hey just gotta be on high alert everytime you go outside. especially with the youngins around.
God bless you guys!

Congratulations @ginnyannette! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Happy bday to the litttle one!!

Thank you. I just made him a monster truck cake, so he's happy :)

Oh, its true! I forgot he loves cars!

For much of my life my only thought about time was I needed more of it to get everything on my To Do list done. Then I found myself in the hospital having a heart valve replaced. They had to go in twice to get it right, but the cardiologists gave me a gift of time. That's when I took a good hard look at time and figured out that To Do lists aren't in God's grand scheme of things. Thanks for another reminder how precious time is.

I am caught in that to-do list era of my life. I do think of these things as eras - a predisposition that can be kept in check if we stay aware. It's a fight though, and some days I lose to the appeal of the list.

In one sense then those heart troubles must have been a blessing. I'm glad you are well and in possession of time. Agreed, getting things done is certainly not the meaning of life.

Happy Birthday to your little guy!! Interesting to hear you had back labor from a posterior facing baby. Did your sister ever have that? Just wondering if it is a coincidence or another family thing. I had 2 back labors, and Aunt Linda had one. One of mine never turned on her own and it was horrible getting her turned. It is much better to think of as a memory than to be in the throes of it. I love the birthday party you had for the little guy and I love Boy Scout dinners too!

I had only the one back labor, fortunately. My sister and Mom did not, so I think mine had a lot to do with bad posture. I spent a lot of time slouching into the back of my couch the second half of my pregnancy. My son never flipped, he was born posterior. My daughter was born in the caul, and way easier. In regard to it being a family thing, I do have the rounded shoulders of my dad's side, and possibly you and Aunt Linda do too, which makes slouching easy, and the Domino effect.

The pain does fade from memory - hormones might have something to do with that. Those jerks ;)

You are probably correct and it is just a coincidence that happened to all of us. I do not know if I have those shoulders. You will have to let me know when we meet again in Florida someday. My mom did not have a posterior birth either. In the caul is in the amniotic sac right? I never had that either. My water broke early on in all my labors. I have heard it is easier labor when it does not break but I have never had the experience.
The hormone jerks, spot on!

Read your comment on @malloryblythe's post and a quick bit about astrology. I love her writing and if you're both feeling you feel at home in one another's words, I wanted to read too.
Giving birth, you had to be on the ground, I had to be in water. Strange to think about if you're the crab and me the scorpion ;)

Thanks for coming by! Funny how birth works out. I planned to give birth in the water the first time, and in labor wanted nothing to do with it. Same the second time, but the midwife suggested the tub, and I don't talk in labor so I couldn't refuse :D

I think saying that you are a scorpion is so much cooler than a crab. I feel like I'd advertise my sign all the time if it wasn't associated with grouchy isolation. Hey - you can sting stuff. That's pretty neat.

No SHIT SHERLOCK! I changed so much in 5 years. Time is crazy.
Anyway, how are you? Any more birthday cupcakes? I wish it was my birthday everyday ^^

I have one cupcake left, but it's three days old and has one bite taken out of it. I could mail it to you if you like.

I checked your blog a little bit back to investigate your disappearance, but there was no sign of present day you. I wondered what you were up to.

It will be my birthday soon. I don't think I want it everyday though - I'd be the oldest women alive and I've just never wanted to be a record breaker.

Hello @ginnyannette, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01