Quick! I need another Band-Aid.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

A strange orange smear is on my thigh. The bottoms of my feet are almost chafed. My lips are stinging. It’s the heat. It makes you a little crazy, but just a little.

20190407_215103.jpg

It is that awkward time of year, before you give in to the heat. You are still a fighter. It is the fighting that makes it so hard. You have to give in, and release control—just give it all up to the heat. By June you will be sitting in your air conditioning because you have accepted the heat. It is here until October. Nothing to be done. But, it is April, so instead you are not sitting in the air conditioning, and you are letting that heat inside your body.

Heat is anger and desire. Frustration and over-stimulation. It is rage, or orgasm. It is extremes—it is a little bit crazy.

20190407_214633.jpg

I walked around my house this morning, in circles, just pacing. Laundry had managed to pile up, and various things throughout the house were in disorder, but I felt no constructive thoughts toward it all. Just irritation. The tot was walking around the living room with fire in her eyes. First she wanted to read, then she didn’t. She paced about her toys too, angrily muttering things in toddler language. The heat had both of us.

The nasty part is that generally you don't realize when the heat has you, you just think that everything in the world is an asshole. Or, depending on the moment, incredibly, wonderfully attractive. This was more of an asshole kind of moment though.

20190407_214921.jpg

My neighbor called me because she suddenly needed a babysitter—I suspect the heat got her. I didn’t ask questions. My friend who lives in a small apartment called me and asked if I wanted to buy some chickens with her. Obviously, she was intimately acquainted with the heat. I didn’t ask questions. My husband emerged from his office, shirtless, and eyed me like I was a crazy person while I power-vacuumed the living room. I don’t know what was going on, but I suspect it was the heat. I didn’t ask questions.

The normally lazy dogs were standing at the windows, snarling like vicious beasts at every person that passed on the street. There was a squirrel scampering around in a haphazard way on the side of the house, until he settled at the gutter and chattered away, clearly experiencing the squirrel version of road-rage. The walls were closing in, and they were hot. I panicked. There is only one thing to do in those circumstances: go to the beach.

The children and I piled into the car. They immediately began arguing about whether or not a rooster is a male chicken. I was too irritable to pick sides. Then it was whether a hen is a female chicken. I was still too irritable to pick sides.

20190407_214944.jpg

I blasted past the yachts cruising the inlet, away from the grandpas in the corvettes, around the man driving five under the speed limit with his surf boards hanging out the back. We touched already hot feet onto hot sand, arguing as we went. Then, I dipped one toe into cold water. It was as though steam had risen at that moment. I could practically hear the sizzle of a hot pan set underneath the tap.

I let out a slow breath. Everything is going to be fine. The thing is, the ocean is just a very make-shift Band-Aid. It is like a pirate guzzling rum before getting surgery for that new glass eye—it doesn’t really do much, it just takes the edge off. With the irrational heat still inside, the children and I decided to find the coquina caves, barefoot.

20190407_214804.jpg

A bit of rock climbing on slippery algae with next to no clothing is a crash course in body control. “One foot at a time,” my voice said, over and over to the children. “Feel it out.”

Feel it out. That is what heat is all about. Feel the emotions, linger in them. React to them. Be irrational. The heat inspires soap operas. And husband’s to be shirtless when a wife gets home. Maybe the heat isn’t so bad.

My hair is stiff from salt still, like seaweed washed up on the beach, all wild and tangled. I’m sitting here with the ceiling fan going full blast, and just a bit of an evening breeze blowing in. It is too hot to roll the bed-sheets down. I am hot.

Quick! I need another Band-Aid.

Sort:  

At least you have your beach escape! Send a bit of that heat to me! They are predicting rain mixed with snow midweek.

Sent! I am blowing it northward as we speak :)

Arrrrgghhhhhhhh.... I have heat here too, and no beach band-aid.... sob sob!

A nice cool shower should do the trick then. I mean temporarily, since there is no cure in our climates :)

That sounds awful! We only get a little bit of hot weather, and it's not even hot compared to what other people have to live through.

This is me dramatizing the situation. I actually really like the heat, although it is a funny transition at the end of spring while rebuilding a tolerance to the heat and not turning on the AC because one day it is hot, the next cool. There is a domino effect though, where one person gets grouchy from it, and slowly all the rest fall grouchy too :)

I get very grouchy when it's hot. Back in the old days I could just stay inside and not move, but now I have to go out and work in it. That's when I get cranky!

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe you could plan a nice cold reward for after the work. That might fight back the crankiness :)

"Heat is anger" - yeah! Basically that!

It is cooler today. Phew. We needed a break from the wild emotions ;)

There is still so much snow here, I wish I could send some over. Or just throw you in the snow bank. Last summer it was that hot and it never gets that hot here. I can't imagine having to deal with that right now. Fill the tub with cool water and just sit in it. You guys are getting toasted by the sun! :O

Tomorrow it is 85 degrees, and I think we might be finally giving in and turning on the air conditioning. We shall see how grouchy we all are.

I'd gladly be thrown in your snow bank :)

turn it on turn it on! Don't wait till you melt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27