Sand on my Bottom and Other Eccentricities

in #life6 years ago

image-2018-06-08 (1).jpg

“So I put mousetraps next to the flowerboxes,” my grandmother said to me on the phone. She had been telling me how wrens had been tearing up her flowers. This an eighty-eight year old woman that loves birds, but hates wrens and does not take life lying down. I respect that, and love her.

Some days have a theme to them. Today’s theme was one of problems and solutions—but one of them was consistently eccentric.

Fast forward a bit to me sitting in the water at the beach. I was having a lovely time when a wave crashed just beyond me. I pointed out to my son that it was pretty how it crashed—lots of sand came hurtling upward like a little explosion. There was a strong pushing and pulling of sand beneath me. Then I went to get up, and realized that wave had slammed a large wad of sand into my bikini bottom. No big deal, I’ll just shake it out. I feel like at this moment the ocean started to chuckle. All that sand was shoved into the lining, and it wasn’t going anywhere. Never in my 31 years have I had enough sand trapped in my bathing suit that it looked like I was sporting a massively dirty diaper. I spent about ten minutes sitting in the disguising waves trying to remove it, before I gave up. I was having a bit of a preschool flashback as I walked along the crowded beach, my dirty diaper hanging down behind me. It could have been worse—I’m sure the waves have stolen a few bikini tops, and I bet the ocean out-right laughed about that.

image-2018-06-08 (3).jpg

At the grocery store I forgot a few things and had to run back in, but then met someone I haven’t seen in years and resolved an old conflict. Back at home, one of my dogs suddenly developed a nasty looking sore on his elbow, but refused to leave a bandage on. Lacking the Cone of Shame, my husband invented this nifty little sleeve. Quite stylish I think. It may catch on.

image-2018-06-08.jpg

Today was just full of strange happenings. Even the children are a little odd today. At bedtime the toddler lay awake:
“You can’t go into other people’s houses,” she said with a strong two-year-old sort of conviction.
“Okay.”
“A cow says moo,” again, she was all business.
“Right.”
“Poop goes in the toilet,” so matter-of-fact.
“Very true.”

I’d better go to sleep, before anything else happens to add to the story.

If you made it this far and are concerned about the wrens, you can rest easy—none were injured. She did manage to send a clear message though. No vertebrates have appeared on her porch in a week.

Sort:  

What a clever way you put this post. I thought I was reading a fiction story only to realize it is your day story. Very funny. I have conversations with the children like that too...

Thank you.

Those zany conversations with toddlers are the best. I keep meaning to get one recorded, but they are so spontaneous.

I still feed rabbits even though they sometimes eat flowers - mousetraps for wrens? I wouldn't even go there...I know, but I never see animals as a nuisance...people? Yes, often, lol

I don't ever see animals as a nuisance either, but I suppose I might when I am 88 years old. I might have a very different perspective then. I think in her era people saw themselves much more separated from animals, whereas now we have a milder take on that. Personally, I get excited when the wrens start toting twigs onto my porch.

Yes, people can be quite a nuisance. :)

How could go past something with a title like that... he he... you make the most mundane seem extraordinary.

I feel the same about blackbirds. FXxkers. Love birds though...

Haha! I actually really like blackbirds. They always look at me with a devious expression, like they know my deepest thoughts. Or that they will peck my eyeball. Either way I respect them.

I think the nuisance creatures I dislike are mainly insects.

Path with no blackbird evidence.

20180609_150519.jpg

Garden path after blackbird party

20180609_150527.jpg

And thats all u have to say about that.

Wow, those guys have been busy. I wonder if your Australian blackbirds behave differently than our American ones.

Well they are migrants not natives. They do like to scratch in mulch. Drives me nuts. Only moved in two years ago... the birds that is. Someone here on STEEMIT told me perhaps it would help to remember I was in their habitat? I politely didn't reply. Sometimes it's best that way... but I DID want to scream that they were in MY habitat and I was here first!!!! Lol. Xx

I hope they migrate onward for you soon then. Ours a here year-round. They have caught onto the fact that we toss scraps out to the chickens, so they hang around looking at us with those sharp black eyes.

Yes, every once in a while us humans do manage to arrive in the habitat before another animal :)

Couldn't contain my giggling as I read this. Your day was very much like your toddler's conversation.....a salad.

That's a great description! A salad. :D

lol! very fun post @ginnyannette gave me a good chuckle thank you!
very clever dog leg patch too!

What a great post. Perfectly describes a day in the life. My favorite, “You can’t go into other people’s houses.” 😂 I think your hubs is onto something with that leg sleeve.

Unfortunately the dog sleeve just became a failure. I guess it isn't the next big thing after all. The dog figured out how to remove it after meditating on it all night.

Bummer! Back to drawing board for your guy.

PFFFFFFHAAAAAA!! Sorry... Just imaging you with your "sand diaper".... Maybe the sea was trying to give you an exfoliation!? 😂

That ocean was laughing, I tell you. We are all just a big joke to those waves :)

Congratulations @ginnyannette! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05