That Grouchy Old Friend of Mine

in #life6 years ago

I used to be a mermaid, when I was a kid. I would sit in the shallow water with my legs pressed together, bent at the knees, arms stretched behind me to lean on. It was the mermaid pose. Green-blue water would crash against my legs/fins and then move on, leaving behind sea foam bubbles. They’d all pop quickly, turning back into water. Today I sat in the mermaid pose, although I wasn’t trying to. Things have changed.

image-2018-06-07.jpg

Two little kids used my fins like a dock. Two little blond boats were attached by outstretched arms - their ropes that tied them off to me. The ocean smelled particularly salty today. Salty waves crashed against the boats, sending them swirling in different directions, giggling and trying not to capsize.

I sat there lost in thought, feeling a little melancholy for a moment. The sky was packed with dark clouds to the eastern horizon. There must have been as many dark clouds in the sky as there were brightly colored bathing suits on the beach. I was missing spring time, when the sky reflected light blue on wet sand and only a scattered number of locals paced the dry parts with me. Those were happy adventures. But the season just had to change, everything had to move forward. Blasted changed.

image-2018-06-07 (2).jpg

Mermaids can’t be melancholy though. It is impossible. Sitting in the water amid all the churning makes it very difficult to be stressed. The wind and the waves sing and crash, pushing in and out, churning back and forth, until unconsciously the mermaid starts to pick up the rhythm. Below her the sand follows the water’s shifty movements, making her foundation unstable. The ocean does not like stability; it’s too stagnant. The message seems to be whispered on the wind, this too shall pass. The sea foam swirls around for an instant, and then it’s gone, to return again. The message starts to make sense.

image-2018-06-07 (1).jpg

Inconvenient, annoying, sometimes heart wrenching, but necessary is that grouchy old friend of mine, Change.

Sort:  

Attachment and connection, ebb and flow, detachment and disconnection, ebb and flow.....change. Change definitely could be a little gentler. and kinder :)

Your photos are beautiful. Nice shots!!

Yes, gentler would certainly improve it's reputation.

Those pictures are from my crappy phone camera. Just goes to show you can't take a bad picture of the beach.

Beautiful use of water imagery to symbolize change, and always, that calm, reassuring voice. Lovely...

Thank you. The ocean and I really love each other. Or I really love it - I'm not sure the ocean loves anybody.

great job @ginnyannette with the descriptive writing and the wonderful photos! super nice.

Well... I was a savage when I was a kid... running without shoes, climbing trees, rolling down the hills, jumping fences, covering myself in dirt... a savage! Even at the beach... a savage! Now I'm a retired savage ahahah

You can ask my mom, she might not call me a mermaid as a child either...

Another beautiful piece. I love the photos too. You are so fortunate to live in such a place. You know, most often I roll with changes pretty well, unless they are tragic in some way. Yet, I could identify strongly with your point here because one change I detest is when the season changes to winter. Dark, gloomy, cold is not my friend. The hope of milder winters ahead is getting me through these days.

We are fortunate to live near the beach. Silly, I didn't realize it until the last couple years. I wish many mild winter in your future.

Thank you! I hope your wishes come true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79