The Sky is Falling, and it is Made of Paper

in #life5 years ago

Right, right, I should write something. Right about now. I’ve got nothing. All I can write about is now. And...go!

Some days just aren’t exciting, you know? Some days you wake up in the morning, eat a cookie for breakfast, and think this is one of those kinds of days.

IMG_20181129_142835.jpg

The laundry was growing stale in the washer, because I forgot to switch it. Five hundred dishes were washed the night before, but there still managed to be some in the sink. The dog was rummaging through the kitchen trash, leaving particles of greasy butter wrappers scattered around the dining room. Something dirty exploded in the living room. I sat down at the table with my cookie breakfast amid a pile of homeschooling supplies—books, pencils, and lots and lots of papers.

I am swimming in paper, I thought as I stared on, wide-eyed. The sky is falling, and it is made of paper.

I went outside. The sky was, in fact, not falling. My God, the day was perfect. It was like spring, dressed in her long skirt, was feeling like a nice dance and joyfully took to swirling that skirt in every direction. The blue sky smiled down on me. There was a whisper in the wind: There is no such thing as that kind of day – a day is what you make it.

IMG_20180403_224202.jpg

I nodded, but I wasn’t convinced. I’ve been lied to before. Spring has a way of showing up, and then leaving abruptly for a few days without any explanation. She isn’t trustworthy.

I went back inside. Clearly the sky wasn’t falling, but maybe the ceiling was. I crept cautiously into the dining room and looked at the table. It was no worse. I eyed the living room. The dirt was still there. Suddenly the French door blew fully open, and a warm smell rushed across the room. The wind ran through my hair like long, thin fingers.

Leave me alone—this is one of those days, spring. Can’t you take a hint?

A few dry leaves from last fall came scurrying into the room, swirling along for a moment before skittering to a stop. I walked to the porch and picked up the broom, giving them a push back out of doors.

Oh I see, I snorted. Very crafty. Fine, spring, have it your way.

IMG_20180513_183026975.jpg

I fetched the vacuum. I washed the dishes. I switched the laundry. I realized my bedroom needed a good once-over. An onion was molding underneath the dining room buffet. Toy cars were using the underside of the couch for a garage.

It was one of those sort of days—a spring cleaning sort of day.

Spring just won’t be thwarted.

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

I love it when mad people come here. Thank you :)

I love this. I could imagine me in your shoes, seeing what you saw as I was walking through. I might have had two cookies though, before I got out the door. Amazing what a good splash of sunshine can do.

I like the way you wrote this. :)

Love your sunny sky photo too.

Two cookies might have improved my mood from the beginning :)

Sunshine does do wonders. It even makes you clean a bunch of stuff. Crazy how that works.

Hi @ginnyannette, some days are just like this, everything is everywhere no matter how much one tries to keep it clean and tidy. OMG. Just got to keep going, no choice. Hope the cookie was yummy, some days are just like this one. Lovely writing for nothing in your head.

I just woke up and I am carefully evaluating the day. I think it might not be one of those days. :)

Those pesky onions get just about everywhere

Yeah they do. Pesky spherical things. That sentence just made me think of the Earth as an onion starting to mold, our galaxy being the buffet in a giant alien's dining room. Gasp. I wonder if it is spring yet there?

Perhaps the spring'ing is the raising of the shutters and summer is the opening of the glass doors to the outside :0)

Sounds plausible. Let's just hope for no spring cleaning. I'd hate for our molding onion Earth to spend a lot of time in an alien trash can.

You never know what joys can be found in a trash can, lol. Wait, that makes me sound like some kind of muck raker. I'm not!

I can't speak for the Scottish, but Americans throw away some great stuff! All my patio furniture came out of the trash :)

Let's hope aliens throw out great stuff with our precious onion.

Oh we do over here as well. I have many a repurposed thing!

You just remind me I have to do laundry!

Hurry, get it out of the washer! Before this warm weather turns it stinky!

I will be living your spring vicariously.

I'm sure before you know it your spring will come and make you clean things too. Actually, you have a lot of time on your hands indoors over the next week...

Yes, I better go buy groceries and bunker down. The snow is expected to start in the next hour. lol

Congratulations @ginnyannette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3500 comments. Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Haha! Howdy ginnyannette! so Spring is really there? And what exploded in the living room?
What was dirty that could have exploded? lol.

Spring is indeed here. There was a flock of robins in my yard this morning. And the pollen is horrendous.

It was a mixture of a dirty dog having shaken itself, and dirty shoes that had rapidly impacted the floor, resulting in dirt explosions.

My god, where do you live, a barn?? lol..no I'm just teasing, you have dogs and kids, enough said. lol. Does the pollen get to you, do you have allergies?

I might live in a barn - it houses two dogs and a hamster...

I had allergies a bit ago, but not so much now.

Well, I'm glad the allergies went away, do you build up immunity to them or what makes them go away?

I really dont know. It's one of those immune system mysteries.

oh ok well we can just add that to the already mountainous pile of mysteries that compose ginnyannette! lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72