Grandpa Gotta Work—What I Like And Don't Like So Far

in #life5 years ago

I'm in my second week of being by myself on my own route and I'm starting to see the things I like and don't like about this new job. Some of it I kind of knew going in, so those are just being reinforced, while others have taken a while to manifest. I thought I might share at least some of them with you all now.

disused-railway-line-3301718_1280.jpg

Things I Don't Like

I'll start with those so that this post can end on a positive note.

  • I don't like how my knees feel after kneeling about ten times. I really don't like how they feel after fifty times. Unfortunately, it's either get on my knees or virtually stand on my head, because most of the money and meters I need to read are below knee height.

  • Locks that don't open. These generally fall into two categories—a) the key doesn't fit, or b) the key fits, the lock turns, but the door, side, whatever, won't open. I've wasted a lot of my time and the company's time trying to get into locks that I either don't have keys for, or that for one reason are another, refuse to budge.

padlock-308589_1280.png

  • Trying to do more than one thing at a time. I am not currently, never have been, nor ever will I be, a multi-tasker. Some say they can. I can't. So, when I'm trying to get money out of the machine, but I also need to restock the prizes in it, and someone's losing money in another machine, or something else is going wrong—it's time to do one thing at a time. Let me collect the money first. I'll put it away and then go on to the next task.

  • Feeling pressed for time. This is mainly me since I don't have any idea how long any of this is supposed to take me. Yesterday, I was in a relatively nearby town with 11 stops to make, with a total of 52 machines to collect from. Today, I was over an hour away on the coast, with five stops and 30 machines to get money out of. Today I spent more time driving than I did collecting, but I ended up taking more or less the same amount of time both days.

pedestrians-1209316_1280.jpg

  • Working with people around. I've posted and commented many times that crowded places are not my forte. I do okay, but there are times where they can be overwhelming. I really need to concentrate on what I'm doing, and so if someone wants to ask me a question, or a child is watching my every move, it's easy to get distracted.

What's sad is, yesterday, I was alone in most of the places I worked. That didn't stop me from forgetting to back out of pinball counters. Instead of being a little analog meter on the inside of the machine, these you have to look up on the pinball's screen by pushing some buttons. It's not that hard to get in and out, but for some reason, I left three in a row in counter mode, which means no one could play pinball, unless they had a key to get in and back out of it, which, as far as I know, no one at the establishments has.

That meant back tracking to where the pinball machines were, and getting out of the counter. I did it a fourth time later in the day, got paranoid about it and returned to find that sure enough, I'd left that pinball machine in counter mode, too.

  • A lack of communication. This is pretty common in small businesses, where there's just enough people to get the pressing work done, but there's always more work than people, especially when problems arise. It could certainly be improved, and I think once it was, some of the other work occupying people would go away. I don't have any proposals yet, but I can see it's going to be an ongoing issue.

There are probably more, but those are the main things I don't like that are weighing on me at present.

Time to move on.

Things I Do Like

  • Setting my own schedule. Sort of. I'm really only shackled by when the businesses are open or will let me in. Like today, I could have been on the coast at 10 AM (or maybe even earlier) to get started there. I'd like to do that, because even though it was only 10:40 when I got there, people were already around. The place I went to first is a tourist attraction and so the sooner I can get in and out of there, the better. Between collecting all that I could, messing with stuff I couldn't get into, helping people with a machine that stole their money and adding plush toys to the crane games, I was there for over two hours.

  • Working alone. I've been my own guy for over 20 years, either as a company owner, an author, a student or blogger. So, it's nice to be able to work on my own. There is the downside, though, that when I run into trouble, I don't have someone readily available to walk me through it. However, once I get beyond this stage of not knowing where things are or how to get into things, it will be better.

  • It's okay to fail. I don't know how much of that I'm really doing, but from what I've heard, the company acknowledges that mistakes will be made. I think that's as long as I stay within certain parameters of failure. Like, don't lose my keys, or close leave any machines open when I go, or don't let a bunch of money go missing, and don't wreck the van. As it is, I'd rather keep my mistakes to a minimum, but I'm making them and hopefully I'll learn from them.

van-3676_1280.jpg

  • Driving. I've always liked to do that to a certain degree. I'm sure even it will become routine and boring the more I do it, but for now, it's cool to leave the house and drive through some of the most beautiful areas of Western Oregon.

  • Some structure, but some change. I had that with the newspapers, and I think I have it with this job. I don't go to the same place every day, and as I may have hinted at above, I never know what I'm going to find when I get there. I like having a routine, but also having things vary enough to make it seem fresh. As long as that doesn't mean attempting to solve a bunch of problems. I'm kind of over that, though I actually enjoy it still, in very small doses.

  • It gets me out of the house. I haven't had much of cause for that the last 16 years, give or take. The 16 months I was away at school needs to be subtracted, but the idea is, if I can be, I'm a homebody. The work gets me out and about, and while it takes me away from STEEM, it also gives me some things to write about.

  • The paycheck. It's not what I was making before as a newspaper owner/publisher, but I feel it's an honest wage for an honest day's work. Plus, I'm getting paid a dollar more than I was told I would be at the start. Supposedly, a raise would come if I survived 90 days. I'm not sure if that means another raise is forthcoming or not. I think I'll just be happy and thankful for what they're paying me now and not get too far ahead of myself, since inevitably I get somewhat ahead of myself.

I think that gives you an idea of where I'm at with the pros and cons of my new job.

Tomorrow, unless something changes (which it can, has, and will again—I'm just not sure how I feel about it yet, or I would have included it on a list), I'll be going to another part of my route I've not yet visited. I know the towns, but that's it. I don't know when I'll be starting, either, but my guess is, I probably won't leave any sooner than 9:30 AM, but probably later. Because my boss gets busy in the mornings, I need to be prepared to remind him around 8 AM about giving me route information, if it doesn't magically appear before that.

All images—Pixabay

Sort:  

I know you probably are not thinking about it, but when winter comes, are you a winter driver? It seems to me the trips to the coast in winter may take a bit longer, does the van have chains or are you allowed to run on studded tires in Oregon?

It sounds like you are getting into the routine of things and those little reset issues will go away in time with muscle memory.

Hey, @bashadow.

I can't say I've done a lot of winter driving outside of locally, but yes, studded tires and or chains are allowed here. We don't get a lot of snow on this side, even in the coast range (but it happens), so that is something to consider. I'm not sure how frequent I'll be going to the coast during the winter time, though, as everything tends to slow down there, while it could pick up closer to home. I guess I'll find out in about four months or so. :)

I was just curious about it. I know that Oregon gets snow, some times a lot, my wife has a friend down there somewhere, and this winter she was talking about the snow a few times. Good to know that they allow studded tires if you do need to venture out.

Central and Eastern Oregon do get quite a bit more snow than we do in the valley. I probably should have mentioned that, too, it's just I don't spend a whole lot of time outside of the western part. For us to get snow, it generally means a cold front is coming down from the north and mixing with some precipitation from the west somewhere. Every once in a while we'll get one of those arctic blasts you folks will send our way, but not very often. :)

Excellent review @glenalbrethsen, your work is full of many impressions and yet I saw more advantages than disadvantages. I think this is not bad!

Just a quick note to say that I'm feeling the pros about equal to the cons, but there seems potential for some of the cons to be ironed out. Hopefully this is the case and you are on top of things soon enough.

Rest well and enjoy the scenary tomorrow.

Thanks, @abh12345.

Figuring out the locks and getting in and out of a place as early as I can will mitigate quite a bit of it. I'm just going to live with being a uni-tasker and the lack of communication is bigger than me. I'll just keep communicating and see what happens.

Howdy sir Glen! That's a great assessment of the job so far. In a little while the frustrating things will be much improved like I bet you won't be forgetting to make sure the counters are set right and you'll be better at fixing things and getting into things although it sounds like they need to fix the problem of not being able to get into them. What happens when you can't get in?

Do they email you your route each morning? That would bug me, not knowing where I was going every day.

We have use an app for our scheduling and collecting. So, typically, I would know a few days in advance where I'm going, but since I'm new, and others have been doing portions of my route, the general manager needs to add me back in. So, hopefully, from here on out, I'll know what I'm doing a week or so in advance since I'm supposed to be getting ready for Thursday through Wednesday basically.

I go down tomorrow to the shop to resupply my van, which includes tags and bags for collections, prizes for the games, and an assortment of other things. So, I need to know in advance what I'm doing through Wednesday.

This week, I ran out of bags for collections, but fortunately, I was able to get more either from the general manager who had some in his truck and who lives up here, or one of the other workers who was coming through from farther north and was nice enough to drop some off on his way back south.

I imagine it will be like this for a while until I get the routine down. But there's going to be miscellaneous things thrown at me. Like tomorrow. On top of getting ready for the week, which would normally all I do on Thursday, thus making it a short day, I've got an appointment to get the brakes on the van I drive checked, so who knows how long that's going to take, and then I have to drive north to fill machines, then go collect some place that wasn't on the list for today but probably could have been (it's kind of on its own in between other places), and then potentially check on other spots so I don't need to do them all on Friday.

re: can't get in

So far, I've just left them after minutes of battling to get in. Sometimes it's just a matter of knowing how to finesse the lock, which I shouldn't have to do, but case in point. I was trying to get into one side of an air hockey table yesterday, and for the life of me, I couldn't get the thing to budge. It had two locks on either side of a rectangular shaped piece that helped form the outside of table. So, it wasn't even a proper door. I had no idea how it was supposed to open, and I couldn't get the barrel key lock to work at all. Finally, I tried the other side and discovered that the the piece swiveled down and out, like a drawbridge, and that the barrel key lock was just there for show. So, I went back to the other side and tried it a couple of times until finally the top left corner loosened up enough so I could get in there.

Today, though, went much quicker. I had mostly taverns, and for the most part, they had juke boxes and maybe some pull tables. Less wear and tear on the knees, and easier to get in and out of. Just a couple of issues. I really enjoyed it, and it's some pretty country to drive through.

So bars and taverns are your favorite? lol. That sounds funny. Well it sounds like your training could have been alot more thorough! I guess they're short of people though, that's why they needed you and obviously they have confidence in you.

But what happens with the ones you can't get into, you let them know and they send someone around to them eventually?
It doesn't sound like it's going to be boring!

It's funny, because I've been in more bars in the last few weeks than I have been in my entire life. I think I might have been in two or three before that, and they were all relating to advertising for the newspaper of some kind.

A lot of them are serving food, too, so like the one I was in today was much more family oriented, so I don't know. It's weird.

I think I could have stood to have more training, but hey, I'm the new guy! I had a confab with some co-workers today over keys to get into candy machines, so maybe I can finally start doing that.

I'm not sure what they do. I've told people I can't get into things and so far as I know nothing's happened. I'll keep bringing it up, and trying, and maybe I'll get something to wiggle just right and unstick.

Hasn't been boring yet. Frustrating at times, but I don't know of any job that doesn't have it's pesky problems.

Howdy tonight sir Glen! yes boring would be dreadful and I can't see this getting boring for awhile at least because things are always changing and happening with the machines too. I hope you got some good tips about getting into the machines because that just sounds crazy.

I wonder if most bars have changed? I haven't been in one for 35 years probably so I have no idea! lol.

I'm the last person to ask about that, but I would say that unless you're going there for the social scene, you can get alcohol pretty much anywhere, and so the bars, to adapt, and probably because of governmental regulations, have brought on food. I didn't even know this but our local Denny's has a bar right next to it. Not something you think of for a predominantly breakfast place, but there you go.

Oh, interesting about the bar next to Denny's. If you need to sober up before you drive home or drive on down the road you can do some of that at Denny's, that makes sense.

ps- oh I forgot to mention that my knees hurt too. I was in the floor maintenance business for about 25 years so I was on them a heck of a lot. I started taking hyaluronic acid supplements and they really help. They actually help the body rebuild cartilage and synovial fluid.

I could really tell the difference once I started taking them.

25 years on your knees?!? And I'm complaining after a few weeks worth. That hyaluronic acid sounds like a miracle worker. I take it you don't need a doctor prescription?

There must be different formulas? The one I'm looking at has to do with skin hydration.

What's sad is, if I've been moving about for extended periods, up down, leaning, etc., then get into the van and drive twenty minute or more, I can barely get out of the van because the muscles and joints all stiffened up. :)

That's the way I am after driving for 20 minutes or more even if I hadn't been active before hand. lol.
Yes, the hyaluronic acid has tons of studies about it and it's just a natural supplement. https://www.purityproducts.com/ probably has the best one that I know of.

If I remember right theirs has collogen added too so it's an anti-aging supplement for your skin too. I think their Ultimate H.A. Formula is the one to get. I think the science is really sound on improving joints, the cartilage and synovial fluids. Should be able to see the clinical study referrences on their site.

So, are you no longer taking it? And do you look like you're forty? :) I'll check out the link. I think my wife would benefit from it, too, and I believe I would.

!ENGAGE 100

Thank you sir Glen! For keeping in touch and for the tokens. Yes, I'm still taking it but I switched to a cheaper brand so I'm not sure it's working as well with that one.
The stuff isn't expensive anyway through Purity and I believe it's like a miracle supplement. When I first started taking it after about a week my knees were already not hurting after kneeling down so it was amazing. And it's supposed to keep improving for awhile and then it's supposed to make you look younger too in time because of the collagen.

I love anti-aging products and this is one that really works. So I will probably go back to the Purity brand when I run out of this other. The other brand is Vitacost from Vitacost.com, that's where I buy any supplements or nutritional products that I want to try, we also buy sugar replacements like Xylitol from them, they have dang near everything you could imagine and the prices are usually unbeatable. I think you wife would love it too.

Here are your ENGAGE tokens!

To view or trade ENGAGE go to steem-engine.com.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Hey, @helpiecake and @vibesforlife. Thank you. Very much appreciated. :)

I think you are settling into the job nicely. Give yourself a bit more time. Nobody can be perfect after a couple of weeks at his job. The knee, now that sucks. :-)

Well, I'm a recovering perfectionist (it's been 25 years or so that I learned my lesson, but hey, it still lingers), but still, it's nice to know how you're doing. Some feedback would be nice. It doesn't need to be a performance evaluation. The office manager has said I'm doing well with collections, but I'm not sure if she would tell me if I were doing terrible with them. She does ask questions about things but doesn't really say why.

So, anyway. I can tell I'm better at some things than I was a few weeks ago, so yeah, it's going to take time. I just know, since I've had the experience before, that it doesn't take much for them to let you go if that's what they decide they want to do.

I am sure you are doing a great job Glen. You will find out pretty quickly if you are not. And if they let you go, it is their lost. Steem will be glad to have you back, anytime - not that you have been atually away. 😊

Well, I know I have a lot of knowledge and expertise that goes beyond what I'm doing, so I think my potential to be a good employee now is much better than when I was in my twenties. So, I agree. I just need to keep the mistakes to a minimum along with their severity. Making the right call about what to do in certain situations is probably the hardest thing because they don't happen often. There could be a lot of different factors involved, including the preference or desires of those involved.

I have my own boss, but that boss probably listens to the owners or managers of the places I service machines, and I can get in trouble if some perceives I'm not doing my job. That's something I need to try to keep from happening. Thankfully, there's only one person who I think fits that description. He's been okay so far, but he seems to be wound just a little too tight. Very particular, at least when it comes to the games.

re: away

It feels like it, though. I have a short time generally in the morning, and a little more maybe in the evening, when I'm too tired and probably would rather go to bed. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10