My One And Only Successful Foray Into Business: How It Began

in #life6 years ago

It Was A Dark And Stormy Night...

It was in November of 1997 that with the help of a small loan from a neighbor I purchased what at the time was a monthly advertiser with a community calendar. All I received in the transaction was the right to publish under the name. There was no equipment, no computer files, no paper files, and no property.

Newspaper_Books and Photos.JPG
Books and developed photographs from my newspapering days. Each book contains a year's worth of newspapers.

That meant starting from scratch. It also meant locating a place to set up shop and doing a lot of preliminary work in order to get my very own publication out the door. My intent was to take this advertiser and revert it to a weekly newspaper, like it was several years prior to that. Never mind that the paper had fallen on hard times, had changed hands and then ran at no profit as a community service since.

I was going to make something out of it!

The Workload

I gave it my best shot. For the entire first two years, I did everything. I was publisher, editor, bookkeeper, reporter, layout person, ad salesman and designer, IT guy, receptionist, paper boy and chief bottle washer. In those days, Adobe had a product called PageMaker. It was a pretty good program, but limited compared to what the larger publications used. All I needed was something I could import images and text into so I could layout the newspaper. Then, after printing out sections of each page onto printer paper, I used a grid paper and a light table to piece things together.

In those days, I was easily pulling 80 hour weeks. The internet was dial up. The printer, a place 10 miles away in a neighboring town, didn't have a way to receive it digitally anyway, so I put the files on disk and drove it to the press. I had such a small press run, under 1,000 copies, I didn't have a set press time. They would run it whenever I showed up in between other runs they had. That might mean a wait. Sometimes this happened at 10 pm or midnight. There's a couple of nights I don't know how I got home unharmed since I'm sure I slept during parts of the drive for minutes at a time.

The Brink Of Failure

I'd like to say all of that hard work and determination paid off. The fact of the matter is, even though I had some display advertising, classifieds, subscriptions, and insert sales here and there, the size of my market area, a zip code with around 2,000 addresses and a town off the beaten path with a small but happening business district, just wasn't big enough.

By April of 2000, my grand experiment, my long awaited foray into entrepreneurship, was in jeopardy. I was making enough money to keep the business afloat, but without taking hardly any money out. For a while, my wife went to work at a grocery store part-time to make ends meet. She was hired on as a bagger and to round up the grocery carts and ended up by the time she quit six months later as the assistant to the produce manager, doing most of the work, which meant hauling around 50 lbs-plus boxes and crates of vegetables and fruits. My wife is 4'9" and generally weighs in the neighborhood of 135 lbs.

Needless to say, things weren't looking very good.

A Light And Rebirth

It was sometime in April that I tried one more time to convince a friend of mine, and a former employer, to take me on as a partner, and fold my newspaper in with his under one company. I had taken a run at it twice before, but each time, I was told very nicely no. I don't know why, nor do I know what finally changed, but after taking him to lunch (that might be it) and making my pitch, then following up on the meeting, my friend finally said yes.

It didn't take long after that for life to change completely.

Over the next 18 months, we would hire someone to pick up the papers and distribute them (he had previously hired an office manager who ran the office, answered the phones and did the bookwork), and then went about putting other people in place. At the height of the operation, we had (not counting ourselves) four full-time and two part-time employees, plus four contracted reporters spread across three weekly newspapers and were in the process of buying a fourth.

It was the best year and a half of my adult working life up to that point. I was making more money than I ever had, with the prospect of making more, my friend and I were having fun running the business and relying on others to do their jobs, and for a time, we seemed unstoppable.

And then it all started to unravel.

Newspaper_Loose Papers.JPG
Newspapers originally published from the 1920s through the 1980s.

Round Two

While going through the books of the fourth paper and doing other due diligence we kept coming up against roadblocks. The paper looked good, the community seemed to welcome it, and most importantly, it was in the largest county we'd operated in to date. That meant the potential of a revenue bonanza through publishing legal notices that would dwarf what we were doing with the other three newspapers. The problem was, the business was in debt, advertisers were deadbeats, and the staff wasn't getting paid. Plus, there was a competing newspaper (which was mainly window dressing and shared news) from a larger newspaper publisher.

In my mind, I thought we could make it work. We could leverage the revenue of the other three newspapers to stop the hemorrhaging of the fourth, while we worked on getting the legal notices. Once that happened, the problems would all be solved.

You see, the secret of our growth and success, and what played at least a roll in my final sales pitch, were the legal notices that our papers published. We were established as papers of general circulation in our counties, which made us eligible to print all kinds of notices for which we were well paid. We grew the number of notices because of low prices and the best customer service available. We intended to follow the model in this fourth newspaper and take over the legal notices in that county.

My friend and partner, though, was not as bullish on the idea as I was. Or at least that's how I remember it. In hindsight, there was much more that could go wrong that might go right, and I don't blame him at all for not feeling comfortable with the acquisition. If anyone, I was to blame for ignoring the warning signs and believing we could overcome any obstacle.

To this day, I think we could have. The one obstacle that we couldn't overcome, though, was a dissolution of the partnership.

The Twilight Zone

It was in October of 2002 that my friend was wanting out. He'd mentioned to me a couple of times about dividing up the papers and going our separate ways. I talked to him about it and thought I had convinced him that we could make this work. His reason for the dissolution was because he felt like his life was to topsy turvy to make business decisions in a more deliberate and analytical way and he was afraid that it would somehow impact my personal situation adversely. To me, splitting up was the only negative.

Finally, around Halloween, he told me it was over. He couldn't do it anymore. After wanting to take the two closest newspapers to where we lived (they served the town we lived in and the next one over), he decided he would take the two that were farthest away, our third and fourth papers (they were easily an hour's drive in either direction). I would keep the building we'd bought together, most of the staff for the two newspapers (he was taking his brother-in-law, the ad salesman with him) and I would continue to pay him what I owed from the merger of our newspapers (his was valued way more than the one I brought in).

Dickens Had It Right

In that short period of time, I went from the worst of times, to the best of times, and then fell again. Granted, it wasn't as far down, but it was the end of any future growth (I couldn't bring on more papers by myself), the end of what I felt was a very dynamic and successful partnership (we really did complement each other well), and the beginning of the end of, to that time, the best friendship I'd ever had.

To this day, I'm convinced I still don't know the entire story. Perhaps I never will. When he finally made up his mind and told me it was over, it was like the wind had been knocked out of me. I'd never experienced that type of emotional reaction before. The only reason I have something to compare it to is because as a young man I fell off my bike and couldn't breathe or speak for what felt like minutes.

Newspaper_Oldest Newspaper.JPG
These frames contain a copy of the first newspaper printed of the ones I owned—published January 18, 1890.

It all felt a little surreal, all the way through the signing of papers and him saying his goodbyes. We will still see each other at church (up until he and his family moved away) for a while more, and we would still do some things together, but things would never be the same again.

Pick Yourself Up, Dust Yourself Off...

Unfortunately, as far as work and running a business was concerned, I didn't have any time to wallow in self-pity or whatever the emotions I had lingering. There were newspapers to get out, and they weren't going to publish themselves.

TO BE CONTINUED

divider_victorian_thinned.png

About This Post

This is the first post of two chronicling my experiences owning my own business. The idea comes from a few discussions @mazzle and I have had regarding his own business, and business in general. All images courtesy of Glen Anthony Albrethsen

Sort:  

Partnerships sound challenging and risky. Which is interesting since I’m about to walk into one. It’s a shame that he was your friend before the partnership. That would have made the split incredibly hard to handle.

I can totally relate to the highs and lows of business ownership however mine has never been massively profitable.

I often think that life is much easier as an employee. But also a lot less interesting.

Can’t wait for episode 2. This was a great read. I’m so glad that you got around to writing this. :)

I'm glad to hear that, since I'm basically writing it for you. :) Okay, maybe someone else might find it worth their while.

To a degree, life is easier. Especially if what you need to do is fairly easy. If you don't have to think much about what you're doing, then you can think about other things. And in some cases, I'm finding from folks here, you can be at work and on Steemit at the same time! Amazing!

I think there's more lows than most people know. Even employees, as you've found with yours. Most can't seem to get past their own needs and those that do, tend to move up into better paying jobs. I was fortunate to have two employees that could have ran the show on their own. They could step in and manage or fill any position. I was blessed, and very fortunate in that regard with the staff I eventually ended up with.

There is a certain dynamic with partnerships that make it an incredible experience all around, and then make it the worst. It would be nice to be consistently somewhere in between, but I didn't really have that kind of experience. I think I needed to be a little more patient, and not as decisive in some ways, as odd as that might sound. I think I pushed when I should have waited a bit more. Which is funny, because it was me who always seemed to be putting on the brakes.

Well, if you are walking into a partnership, try to get your true feelings out as well as getting theirs. There's nothing worse in my mind than making decisions based on people's stated opinions only to find out later that's not what they wanted to do. Or that they didn't know what would be best but didn't want to stick their neck out, thus leaving the other to take the blame.

Not a good situation. I wish you luck with that.

Massively successful is relative. I think we did quite well, but i think massively would mean I'd still be living off of what we made. Unfortunately, that only lasted about a year and a half after we went out of business, give or take a month or two. Sounds like a lot, but it's really not.

Yes, this partnership is with someone who I only recently met so there’s definitely a few risks involved. As far as I am concerned though, I’ve got very little to lose in the arrangement. My business isn’t making any money so it’s either take a risk here or throw in the towel and become an employee once again.

At least you walked away and could rest for a while before deciding on your next move. That’s fortunate so you should feel at least a little happy with that outcome. It could certainly have been a lot worse.

Really looking forward to the next instalment. Don’t make me wait too long. :D

Walking away isn't exactly how it feels. It's more like a rug yanked out from under me and then being rolled out on a stretcher kind of feel. Then, I'm still deciding my next move, 5.5 years later. I mean, I've made some moves, but none of them have really panned out in any major way, other than to provide me some experience.

Anyway, you're right. It could always be worse. I could still owe a bunch of money for some reason, or I could have tried to hang on for another few months burning through my personal savings hoping something would change. So, in that sense, I did have a choice and I did walk away, I guess. Not much of a choice, though, and barely the lesser of two evils.

Okay, so this is with the gym business then. What's the partner bring to the table? Was this the person who was looking at buying it? It's been a while since we've ran into each other here so I'm not up to speed. :)

Hi glenalbrethsen,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congrats on the curie. :)

Thank you. This apparently started ten minutes or so after I shut down the computer. I've had some of these now, and since I've started using GINAbot, I've been waiting for the opportunity to watch/hear the curation trail votes come in, but I'm always asleep when it happens. Makes it more like Christmas morning, I guess. :)

You're post made me feel like when I'm watching something on tv, and at the really good part, I find out it's a "to be continued" thing! UGH!!

Because this is not about me however, I will say that I was feeling your pain during this post. Going into business with a friend is a tricky thing, and I'm so sorry that you were left this way. It's akin to your spouse walking out on you and you never really no why.

Not that I know you that well Glen, but you seem to have things figured out most of the time, so I'm very curious to read part 2. When might I expect it? Because now, I'm completely emotionally invested, and yes, it is about me a little bit :)

Well, this one took longer to pound out than I was hoping, and then I ended up with more text than I expected, so I decided I'd better split it into two posts before it became a monster.

re: business with friends

Yeah. I don't think I would do a partnership under any circumstances again. If I did, it would have to be short lived. I've tried to do some things with another friend. They didn't pan out, but we're still friends, so I'm happy about that.

I think there was a need for better communication, and I really think there was some pressure coming from his wife for some reason, but that's just a feeling I had. We had a really good thing and he just walked away from it.

Oh, well. That's been 16 years ago almost. I don't think about it really. Writing this brought a lot of it back, of course.

As far as when the next one might be, I'm not entirely sure. I will try for Friday evening, like this one. I'm hoping it won't take so long.

I had a feeling his wife maybe had something to do with it too @glenalbrethsen; or at least a feeling that it's what you were thinking.

Writing about things really does bring all that emotional stuff back up to the surface, doesn't it?! That you for revisiting it all for us.

No rush; take your time and do it when it works for you. I just got caught up in the moment haha and really was making a joke 😅

No, it's okay. I've been promising mazzle for months now I would write about this, since he was having his own bouts with a business. I just kind of sat down and this came out today, so while I'd been thinking about it for a while, it wasn't specifically planned for it to happen now. But now that this part is out, there's no reason to let it prolong other than to stagger it a little bit.

Hey, it's okay for things to be about you. You can have that, joke or not. I think we all should have things be about us every now and then. After that, it's back to it being about everybody else, but hey, we get a moment in the spotlight. :)

Well, as I said, I'm not sure, but there would seem to be decisions made when we would wrap up in the evening that would be unmade the next morning. A lot of it wasn't such a big deal, but I would wonder why. Still wondering why. But in reality, I don't think she was that into the business as long as there was plenty of money to do all she'd like to do. Anyway, I like her and can't blame her for having a vested interest. I would have just liked to be clued into things.

I expected to feel more, really, but it didn't happen. The second part ends less than six years ago, though, and I know in a recent conversation I had with someone who hadn't heard the tale that it was a little rawer still. Maybe if I talk it all out it will go away. I seriously don't think about it that much. There was a lot of baggage with the business that I'm glad to be done with. I just don't like how it all went down, with me having the least say.

How's that for a teaser? :)

but there would seem to be decisions made when we would wrap up in the evening that would be unmade the next morning.

That does sound like the wife intervening and he was probably too embarrassed to say it. Tough spot he was in too I'm assuming, and I would also think that he has some baggage from it as well. If he was the kind of friend that you described, I can't imagine any of it was easy for him either.

Damn wives. They get in the way some times :)

I think if you spill it all out here though, it will probably "go away". I always feel like when you write it all down, it's just out of your system.

Yep. Nice nice teaser. You and headchange outta get together :)

I definitely got the conflicted vibe from him. There was so much more that could have been said that wasn't. You don't always clam up because you want to. You do it out of loyalty to someone else. Anyway, as I said, I don't know what went on at home. I also know he genuinely thought he was going to drag me down with him. There was something about him and success that didn't quite jive. Like he was more afraid of it than failure. I don't know. Something like that.

It may very well help it to go away. I haven't really written it before, though I've told some of it, but mostly to my wife. So, maybe it's time for it to all go. And of course, this is just my side, with memory fading and not trying to get into most of the gory details, or highlighting all the good times, for that matter.

Like he was more afraid of it than failure. I don't know. Something like that.

That's interesting. Some people are like that. It's easier to quit, then it is to succeed or fail.

So, maybe it's time for it to all go.

Sounds like it to me :) I'm looking forward to it, whenever it comes out.

howdy there again @glenalbrethsen! wow this was a very interesting post because I was wondering what the situation was with the newspaper business. It's very strange that he never really told you why he wanted to stop the operation when it seemed like you could continue to grow it inspite of some challenges.

Maybe one of these days I'll find out. We correspond by email from time to time, but he's in a totally different place, meaning, thoughts, philosophies, beliefs, and to an extent, demeanor, than he was back then. He's changed a lot. So maybe it's just as well I don't know. I might find out more than I want to know. :)

Well, now you know the first part of it. The second part will be coming shortly (maybe Friday evening). It's not the most fun of topics for me to touch upon, but I made it through this part in pretty good shape, so hopefully the emotions will stay down and I'll be able to pound it out.

then why do it? I mean if it's a painful subject?

I'm not sure that they're painful as much as they're dredging up the past that I've been moving on from. The events in this post took place at the end of 2002, so, that's nearly 16 years ago. I try not to look back too much other than to learn from the past and apply it to the present and the future.

However, mazzle was interested in knowing about what I experienced as a business owner since he himself was/is/will be a business owner, and it's been a few months since that initial conversation got started, so it's probably about time I did it.

Plus, I guess it might interest someone else who is looking into owning a business or a partnership of some kind to provide some insight and perspective from one who went through both.

Also, it gives me a topic that I'm well versed in to write about. That's always good. And it's personal, so there's going to be some emotion attached to it. Those who might read it tend to like to be drawn in, and knowing that it represents actual events has an impact.

The last thing, I would say is, you never know when curie is going to come knocking. :)

howdy today @glenalbrethsen! yeah how do I get in with Curie? I mean I've joined the discord but didn't know what to do after that? I've asked people and they just say go join. but I did join and not sure if I'm official or not, curie sure hasn't come visiting.

Yes sir the business thing being your personal story is very involving I think. We started and ran two successful businesses and I did write a post about our real estate company, got like 12 cents.

It depends on what you want. Joining the discord channel doesn't necessarily equate to the curation trail. It can give you access to what's being said in their various rooms, and you can become someone they'll accept links to posts from (not sure but at some point they start paying for that), and then there's actually being employed by them, however that works.

As far as I'm concerned, I've had very little direct contact with anyone associated with curie, and only when the curator decided to comment on one of my posts after submitting it for approval. That's happened three times now, but the other three I just ended up getting upvoted.

As far as their rules are concerned, they have some requirements, and while some of it specific, there's also some interpretation and subjectivity involved. Here's a link to the latest update I've found concerning their rules. Then, it's post something they'll curate and wait for it to happen, or you could drop your own post link on Discord if you want. I've seen plenty of people do that.

ok thanks, did you mean to put in a link with their rules?

Yes, I did. Sorry. Here's the link from March. I just went through the more recent posts and did not find a newer rules update, so I believe this is what they're currently operating under. :)

Very well written. Now I understand why you can write this good and also why you like to do so.

Atm I don't really have something to add or ask. And although my first reaction was to make a joke, a bad joke of course, I decided it might be better to be serious just for once.

So I'm curious for part 2 and hope it will have a happy ending!

Well, thanks for stopping by. It's always nice to have a comment or two from you. :)

I'd say running the newspaper helped my editing and researching skills and acumen more than my writing ability, since I didn't do as much of it later as I would have liked. I certainly did for the first two and half years or so, but after that, other people were writing most of the time. I did like covering sports, though. That was fun.

I'm afraid that Part 2 doesn't end so happy. Hopefully, though, it will still be intriguing and worth your time, but the way things ended is the reason why I'm even here on Steemit trying to make a go of it. :)

Free Upvotes
cooltext292615989443333.png
ENJOY !

Отличная статья. Мне очень понравилось. Удачи Вам и Любви
Excellent article. I really liked it. Good luck to you and Love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25