The Colors Of A River

in #life5 years ago

Not quite two weeks ago, I shared a couple of images from a recent trip to a town I lived nearby over 40 years ago. I thought I would share some more images, focusing on the river.

Going With The Flow

This is the South Fork of the Santiam River. Just outside of Sweet Home, at a gravel area euphemistically called a park, I went to the embankment and took some pictures. The leaf happened to be swirling around at the time, apparently waiting for me to to immortalize it.

I like how the color of the river here is a darker blue, compared to the silver or darker gray that is appears elsewhere.

A Bridge Not So Far

P1013708.jpg
In the other post, I provided an image of this same bridge from the road as it crosses the river and begins its ascent up the hill. Here, is from the side, with a pillar holding it up. I find this to be a marvel of architecture and engineering that such a small support in comparison to the entire bridge and then the vehicles that would pass over it could bear all the weight.

On A Personal Note

An uncle of mine (the only brother of my father), once dove into the water along here. In so doing, he broke his neck. Fortunately, he not only lived to tell about it, but managed not to wind up paralyzed or otherwise physically impaired.

Reflections Of A River

P1013710.jpg
What does a river reflect upon? In this case, autumn colors. You kind of have to squint to see it, but in between the green, orange and yellow, there's some purple, too. A river doesn't really discriminate, does it? It's willing to reflect everything.

In The Grotto

P1013714.jpg
Okay, so it's not really a grotto, but I found it interesting nonetheless. While much of the water of a river rushes by to whatever it's destination may be, there are areas where pools form, or where the water passes slower. This was one such area.

I didn't realize it until after I could see the image at a larger resolution that it looks like the water was, well, made into a watercolor. That's exactly how the image came out, with the consistency of the water itself and the natural light.

ABOUT THIS POST

The images are courtesy of Glen Anthony Albrethsen taken with an Olympus E-3 DSLR camera and a Zuiko zoom lens.

Sort:  

I've been enjoying your series of fall colors. The river still looks almost warm, but I know it's not. It looks like you could go swimming, but you wouldn't.

That grotto looks like a nice place to hang out if you were rafting down the river. Just relax and enjoy the peaceful sound of cars on the bridge. Ha ha.

Hey, @themanwithnoname.

It would be a great spot to stop while rafting, if you could actually get to it that way. I think the river's been too low for that. Aside from diving in from the spot I took the photo, there's not much of way to get there.

Which is too bad, because it would be awfully peaceful. :)

Yeah. I don't think that water is ever warm, even during the summer. It would definitely wake you up, though, if you were nodding off or something. :)

Well, I'm glad you're enjoying it. It's kind of an unintentional series, but I figured I should use as many of the photos as I took as I can.

howdy sir Glen! very cool fall pictures, water is always nice scenery!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I love jumping, I mean diving... But not from very high places, as I know how dangerous it can be. A small judgement error and it can be our last jump ever.

I am glad nothing bad happened to your uncle.

Thanks for sharing these great photos.

Well, thank you, @trincowski.

The interesting about this is, my dad's parents didn't live in the area very long, so there wasn't much more than maybe one summer for him to actually do this there. The other thing is, it happened several years before I was even born, so I would have never met him had the dive been fatal.

I think the farthest I've dived is off a low diving board, and that maybe a couple of times. I'm not that fond of swimming, anyway (though I probably should be, to get some exercise).

It wasn't for lack of courage I didn't try to dive from high places... but because when I was younger, I saw two people diving from high places... and suffering a lot because of it. The first burnt his back by splashing on the water in the wrong position. The other one was sent in an ambulance and people around were saying she would probably be paralysed. :-(

The reflections on the water are amazing in all the pics. Yikes your uncle is a miracle then. When I was a child they always warned me about not breaking my neck. I never knew anyone who actually did it though.

I guess as long as the spinal cord isn't injured, you can even recover from breaking your neck. :) I don't know all of the details. I just remember being told the barebones story once. He dove him, he broke his neck. This is where it happened. We could have been driving home over the bridge at the time. I'm not sure if it was meant to scare me out of doing it, but it might have actually worked that way. Diving isn't my thing. :)

I've always found it interesting just how something that is basically clear can have so much color in it, depending on what it's reflecting either from above it or below it. It's quite the chameleon.

I love water. I bought some pumps and stuff to build indoor fountains. Still thinking of how I want to set up. I have a large room set aside for the project. Maybe less monsters and my inspiration will return lol
Wonder if they enhanced the story a bit for effect? I have often suspected that from my folks.

Oh, I guess it's possible. I've never heard the story straight from my uncle, but then, I haven't had all that much contact with him over the years, either, and generally, it was at a family reunion or some other kind of large gathering, where the opportunity to just talk didn't last long.

However, since I really don't remember much in the way of embellishments, my guess is, they really didn't talk it up, and even though I never dove off into the river there (or anywhere else), it didn't stop me from jumping ramps with mine or a borrowed bike and getting hurt. Had I been naturally inclined to dive in, I probably would have. :)

STEEM Monster addiction is real, I guess. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06