Back to the Gardens - August 12, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

in #life5 years ago

Big garden - south perimeter before crop August 2019.jpg
There’s really a fence in there…

I finally finished all the house drawings on Sunday, so Monday morning, a nice cool, low humidity morning, I was back out in the gardens. I’d decided to tackle the Big garden again.

I’d tried to walk in it on Sunday to harvest plantain and could not see where to go, the weeds are so bad. I need to be harvesting the Walla onions this week and can’t find them.

I thought I’d start at the south end and work north. But there was a problem. I could not see the south end for all the weeds around the perimeter outside the fence. So I went out and started there.

Big garden - south perimeter after crop August 2019.jpg
See? I told you….

It went surprisingly fast and I finished the 42’ south side by 9:30AM.

Big garden - east perimeter half done crop August 2019.jpg

Then I did 30’ down the east side. It got too hot for me at 11AM so I quit.

Big garden - echinacea, cleome, weedy onions crop August 2019.jpg
There’s onions in there, this side of the flowers….

Big garden - black-eyed Susans, liatris, Queen Anne's lace, hollyhocks, echinacea, cleome, yarrow crop August 2019.jpg
Big garden – Black-eyed Susans, liatris, Queen Anne’s lace, hollyhocks, echinacea, cleome, yarrow

Big garden - sunflowers crop August 2019.jpg
Big garden volunteer

I’ve never grown brown sunflowers, so this must have come from a neighbor’s garden.

Big garden - yellow butterfly on echinacea crop August 2019.jpg

I was trying to get a photo of one of the 2 Monarchs that were flying around the Big garden as I took pictures, but they are too wily for me. Maybe when I can walk inside the garden again…

Rugosa rose hips crop August 2019.jpg
Rugosa rose flowers and ripening hips

McIntosh - apple crop August 2019.jpg

We lost a lot of little apples to apple drop this year. There are still a few on the tree, but they are small and wizened from bugs.

New Herb garden - Row 2, tansy flowers crop August 2019.jpg
New Herb garden – Tansy flowering behind wormwood

It’s easily 8’ – 9’ in diameter and about 7’ high.

Construction - still waiting crop August 2019.jpg

Nothing new on construction. We can’t reach the foundation guy. He has his phone turned off and no message option. No idea when he’s to show up, we’d hoped yesterday… So still waiting.

In the meantime, my husband is using my new drawings to update his CAD drawings and create electrical plans, etc.

Dennis waiting for breakfast1 crop August 2019.jpg

And finally, a shot of Dennis the Girl, one of the barn cats, he got one morning as she waited for him to give her breakfast.

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

That's some great work on revealing the fence again! :D I hope you see the foundations guy soon.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75