NYC passport agency: I was pleasantly surprised at the service.

in #life5 years ago

Over the years of living overseas and also being American has resulted in me frequently needing to interact with the Department of State primarily regarding my passport. I do not expect a great deal from these people because they are federal employees and you are completely at their will because they hold all the power.

o.jpg

That being said, i approached the NYC passport agency with trepidation. I was extremely well-behaved in the lobby as I went through the motions in security, and then made certain to have all of my papers ready to go expecting to be bossed around by everyone I encountered along the way. I don't know what it is about positions of governmental authority that convinces everyone to act like an overlord every step of the way but it does seem to be universal..... until yesterday.

The New York City Passport Agency on Hudson Street (the main office if i am not mistaken) may have been as effortless as it was because of the fact that it was the day before Thanksgiving and therefore almost completely devoid of customers. This may have lead to everyone being a good mood because they knew they were going to get the following day off of work as well.

usa--new-jersey--jersey-city--close-up-of-woman-s-hand-holding-open-passport-156854964-59ea92670d327a0010bd656b.jpg

I was nervous, as was evidenced by the fact that I went the correct way through the cattle-line despite the fact that i could have taken the shortcut to the front since no one was there only to be pleasantly greeted by an extremely friendly gentleman behind the glass.

All my papers were in line and he politely requested them on-by-one. He seemed to be impressed with the fact that I was already precisely aware of the exact requirements for renewing a passport, had an appointment despite the fact that it was completely unnecessary, and printed in a legible manor on my application forms. I have been abused overseas by government officials so many times that I come prepared!

I went out of my way to tell the guy behind the glass how much I appreciated the fact that he was nice and how it was completely expected and I hope that if he wants that he will get transferred to South East Asia in the not-too-distant future.

He said "have a great thanksgiving!" as i was leaving. I don't think it was just this guy either. The attitude of everyone else I encountered was pretty dern good. I think somewhere along the line someone came along and encouraged friendly behavior in this office and for that, on this holiday, I am extremely thankful.

814bcab6eb21e095c2b39caa14a0c4f57188c76dbc89bde82c3aa08882683b01.jpg

Sort:  

Sometimes I make a point of being extra friendly. I have to think, their job wading through bureaucracy isn’t fun, so I try to be a little more patient. It’s like how the other day I was marveling what a tough job it must be to be stuck in a kitchen as a chef. A lot of us take for granted the freedom our job affords, while some are stuck behind a dreary desk. Maybe that’s why they might be a little less than friendly.

My parents used to make me work in the family store and I was a terrible cashier. A customer I refused to serve because she was rude, tried to get my mother to fire me! If only she would!!

So everytime I deal with friendly staff, I’m always impressed by their great attitude. A smile goes a long way.

I could have said the same a few years but in recent years my local home affairs had the brilliant idea of making people wait for passports and Id cards in the same queue!

oh no. i can't imagine how bad it would be if the DMV (department of motor vehicles) handled passports. :(

Yep, I'm happy a passport lasts 10 years though.

What a great outline and I'm happy to hear you had a great experience. My Mother is a resident of the US and has never really pursued getting her Citizenship, but every 10 years she has to renew and in the last two visits her experience have been as good as yours. Happy Thanksgiving!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I'm glad to know that it ended up well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good to hear that people are being friendly and grateful above usual behavior.and you had pretty good time there.
keep flourishing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97